We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always feels like a home from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crakehall Watermill
Ranked #8 of 14 Bedale B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 12, 2013

When you're travelling around, what you need is somewhere homely and peaceful to stay, Alison and Lionel provide this and some. My colleague and I arrived to a pot of tea, most welcome after a long day. The rooms are bright and airy and I have to say I had the best nights sleep under a cosy duvet. The smell of home made bread baking just adds to the delight. A lovely breakfast sets you up for another day. Thank you once again for your hospitality, looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonB674, Manager at Crakehall Watermill, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It is always a great pleasure to welcome you and your colleague to stay and we are delighted that you find it comfortable and relaxing staying with us. We know how important a good night's sleep is, either when you have a busy week travelling for work as you do when you come to stay or if guests are having a few precious days away to relax and recharge their batteries. Glad you enjoy waking to the smell of our freshly baked bread too - one of life's simple pleasures that we enjoy too!
We look forward to welcoming you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 61 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights with Alison and Lionel in their beautiful Yorkshire cottage. We are a family of 4 and had a twin room for the teenagers and a double for us. The rooms are lovely - gorgeous decor, crisp linen, comfy beds and wonderfully warm. Breakfast was sublime, freshly cooked, tasty and perfectly presented. We had tea and cake in the guest lounge each afternoon - curled up in front of the log burner. We used Crakehall as a base to visit Durham and the Yorkshire Dales. They are only 5/10 mins from the A1. There are lots of pubs nearby for tasty suppers. Alison and Lionel made us feel so welcome - we hope we can revisit soon.

Room Tip: All three lovely with private bathrooms and their own unique character
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonB674, Manager at Crakehall Watermill, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your generous review. We were delighted to meet you and your family and so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you to stay again. Plenty more places to explore, long walks - whatever the weather - making the rewards of tea and cake all the more enjoyable!, local pubs and restaurants to discover, and of course simply relaxing by the fire to recharge your batteries. Thanks again for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days at the end of September and had a wonderful time. The cottage is spacious, clean and beautifully designed. The bedrooms are large and the beds are really comfortable. Each bedroom has an en-suite so no queues for the bathrooms. We were hoping it would be colder so that we could make use of the wood burner but surprisingly for Yorkshire it was lovely. I would happily recommend this cottage and will be returning as soon as I can.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ah0ney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonB674, Manager at Crakehall Watermill, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our newly converted cottage, Miller's Retreat - our first on Trip Advisor! - and for your very positive comments. So glad you enjoyed your holiday here & that you liked the style, comforts and space. We smiled that the weather was so good you didn't get a chance to try the woodburner! Hope you can come and try it soon! The guests currently staying are enjoying it this week - the underfloor heating is working a treat but there is something special about lighting the stove after a day out then flopping down to watch the flames, with a mug of tea or glass of something and just relaxing - we tried it recently to check it out and can recommend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A wonderful experience right from the moment we set foot through the door. Alison and Lionel did everything they could to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The accommodation was luxurious and immaculately presented. Perfect in every way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed at this wonderful B&B on the night of my Birthday. I'd known this place since I was "knee-high to a grasshopper" and I couldn't believe what a wonderful B&B it has been turned into. Alison and Lionel really do make you feel welcome and everything about the place is truly exceptional.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warringtonian1673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Crakehall Watermill is in a quiet, lovely village, and comprises bed & breakfast in the original house, lovely gardens, a working watermill, and a small selection of holiday cottages - all with beautiful views and lots of good walking. We stayed for two nights in the main house - an oasis of peace and calm, and a very attractive room in which to enjoy home-made cakes and tea on arrival. We had two rooms - neither of which could be faulted. Both were large, warm, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The bathrooms were similarly attractive and spacious. The huge beds were comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. Best of all, though, was the attitude of the owners, Alison and Lionel, who are the hosts from heaven. They could not have made more of an effort to ensure we felt welcome and valued. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Alison and Lionel couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, they even ran us into nearby Bedale to the wedding we were attending. Rooms were lovely and food great in a beautiful location. Their cottages also looked to be of the same standard. A thoroughly relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vamos_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bedale hotels
0 mi away
Hillside Bed and Breakfast
Hillside Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Carthorpe
18 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
135 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Three Coopers
The Three Coopers
#3 of 14 in Bedale
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Castle Arms Inn
The Castle Arms Inn
#1 of 14 in Bedale
335 reviews
1.8 mi away
Greyhound Inn
Greyhound Inn
#6 of 14 in Bedale
79 reviews
1.9 mi away
Waggon and Horses
Waggon and Horses
#13 of 14 in Bedale
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crakehall Watermill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crakehall Watermill

Address: | Little Crakehall, Bedale DL8 1HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bedale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bedale
Hotel Class:4 star — Crakehall Watermill 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 high quality self-catering holiday cottages in the Yorkshire Dales sleeping 2, 4 and 6 guests. Watermill Croft, single storey former stables, sleeps 2 guests; Watermill Cottage, single storey, sleeps 4 guests and 1 well behaved dog is welcome, Miller's Retreat, 2 storey with 3 en-suite bedrooms sleeps 6 guests. Near to the market towns of Bedale, Leyburn & Masham. Peaceful location in the grounds of the historic Crakehall Watermill where stoneground wholemeal flour can still be produced and on the edge of the pretty village of Crakehall with village green, cricket field, church, dining pub, petrol station and small shop. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crakehall Watermill Bedale, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing