We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely afternoon with family”
Review of High Parks Tearoom

High Parks Tearoom
Ranked #3 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Bedale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our tearoom is a traditional dales experience with home bakery, homemade soups, afternoon teas, savouries, and full hot as well as cold meals. We offer traditional Yorkshire breakfast, have daily specials and a brunch menu on Sundays. We are proud to use local ingredients wherever possible, including Taylors of Harrogate teas and coffees, Brymor ice cream and clotted cream as well as Cockburn's of Bedale. The tearoom offers a beautiful panoramic view over the dale, a terrace for those sunny days, indoor and outdoor areas for kids to play rain or shine, as well as a coffee loft for a quiet place to chat and relax.
Ripon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon with family”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Just back from a lovely 3 hrs with our children and grandchildren at the tearooms. The yorkshire all day breakfasts were lovely as were the kids meals (judging by the clear plates). The grandchildren 3yrs and 5yrs loved both indoor and outdoor activity areas. After reading some of the previous reviews I was a little apprehensive about the service but the table staff were polite and accomodating, service was perhaps a little slow by todays standards, but, if like us you dont rush through life and appreciate the young ones enjoying themselves you will probably like High Park. If you are in a rush hey there is always Mcdonnalds.
Prices about right for this type of tearoom as all kids activities are free.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank green199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    31
    15
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor overpriced food and service!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is the first time I have ever written a review but felt compelled to after a very disappointing visit to the tea rooms today. We have been a couple of times in the past and always felt fairly satisified.......but today was a different matter! We visited with our grandchildren after the eldest asked if we could go, as he loves playing in the little shops. The service was poor and the quality of the food very poor given the cost!! My sandwich was dry and looked like it been hanging around for ages. Our soup was cold,as was my husbands coffee. There was hardly anyone in when we first arrived so I cannot imagine why everything was so cold and took so long to arrive? It appears there was only one lady cooking in the kitchen but there were 4 or 5 girls waiting on the tables. We had to wait ages to pay as one girl was "entering this" (what appeared to be several orders) in to the till. What should have been a lovely morning out with our grandchildren was spoilt by poor service and over the top costs for food. On the plus side, the setting is lovely and the facilities for children are great but I cant help feeling they are at risk of losing a lot of customers by not keeping on top of the catering side of the business.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Really lovely tea rooms in a fab setting, great if you have kids, lots for them to do inside and out. Visit here quite a lot, The menu is lovely but everything is massively over priced and the staff could do with learning how to smile and communicate. Often left standing at the counter whilst staff just bustle round in the kitchen looking at you. Not helpful with menu variation such as:
" please could my little one just have a sausage sandwich" " we dont do sausage sandwiches" !!??
or.."
"I am not sure we could do sausage, Beans and Mash without the Mash? id have to check with the chef"!
A cup of Tea will knock you back £2.25!
Doesnt stop me going, just always ask for tap water with the meal, and obviously DO NOT stray from the menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, England.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Food with a view”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very good freshly cooked food, in extremely pleasant surroundings, with a magnificent view across Wensleydale, through the floor to ceiling windows. There are two parts to the restaurant, one which caters purely for adults and an adjoining, separate adult and childrens area with imaginative entertainment for the children. Service needs to be improved, and I did register my annoyance/dissatisfaction, which was accepted with good grace and a very profound apology by the Manageress.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scarypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fab place to meet if you have kids.”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A wonderful tea rooms that has a separate room to keep kids entertained. The food is usually very good. All cakes are homemade and you can buy some lovely gifts. It also has some beautiful views. The service isn't always top quality though. We go regularly to meet up for a coffee with our children as they are very child friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EvelynArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Parks Tearoom also viewed

Bedale, North Yorkshire
 
Bedale, North Yorkshire
Bedale, North Yorkshire
 

Been to High Parks Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing