We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch at The Freemasons Arms, Nosterfield”

The Freemasons Arms of Nosterfield
Ranked #10 of 32 Restaurants in Bedale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Recently refurbished charming country pub serving everything from real ales to fine wines. Diners can choose from pub classics with a twist, daily specials and Chef's own signature dishes, exactingly cooked and served by a friendly front-of-house team. The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge and Prince Harry took time out from their high-profile visit to the Tour de France with a private lunch at The Freemasons Arms of Nosterfield. The pub was chosen to host the lunch, which was kept a closely guarded secret with only a handful of people knowing of the Royal appointment. The pub remained open throughout with regulars stunned by the arrival of the VIP guests. Chris Kinsell, owner of the Freemasons Arms, said: "It really was an honour to host the Duke and Duchess and the Prince on Saturday. I only took over the pub in February and since then we've been working to develop the unique character of the place and create a menu that combines pub classics with seasonal specials from our chef. But I never imagined welcoming Royal visitors and so we are all still elated that they chose to enjoy a well-earned break here on such a busy day for them. It was a great day for Yorkshire and for our country pub!".
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch at The Freemasons Arms, Nosterfield”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had a very enjoyable Sunday lunch at the Freemasons Arms, and recommend the food highly. The roast beef was excellent, as was the pork, and very tasty deserts too! The staff were welcoming and friendly We will definitely go again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie1096362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Owner at The Freemasons Arms of Nosterfield, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for writing a review and letting everyone know that you had a very enjoyable Sunday lunch at the Freemasons Arms of Nosterfield and that you would highly recommend the food. I'm really pleased that you had an enjoyable experience and that the team were welcoming and friendly. Also great to hear that you will definitely visit us again and we look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks again, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    32
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, East Yorks
1 review
“A fantastic village pub dining experience to round off a great day!!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We recently visited here after a day out at nearby Newby Hall in Ripon. What a charming little place, full of character and personality. My husband and I are huge fans of village pubs and we were not disappointed here. The Freemasons Arms is quite clearly a well liked local pub with plenty of Friday tea time drinkers in. Don't be put off by this however as everyone was so welcoming and friendly and it made for a wonderful atmosphere. The dining area is set slightly way from the bar area and boasts a comforting log burner, all adding up to make the perfect ambience. The menu choice was impressive and the food was stunning, such care taken over the presentation. The staff here are really polite, and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. A fantastic dining experience and we will definitely return one day - highly recommended!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Archie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Owner at The Freemasons Arms of Nosterfield, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. Its great news to hear that you found the atmosphere welcoming, also that the team were really polite and helpful, and the menu choice and food were impressive and stunning. We are passionate about what we are trying to achieve and it’s rewarding to hear that we are achieving both quality food and service. As mentioned in your review we are also trying to offer 'best of both', a friendly country pub where you can just have drinks and pass the time away, or where you can enjoy food from pub classics with a twist to Chef's own signature dishes. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Thank you for highly recommending us, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best stakes”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have visited this lovely pub on a few occasions with different friends or family and always had lovely food, on this particular occasion I choose the rib-eye stake, fantastic!! beautifully cooked, melt in the mouth stake. Can't wait for an excuse to visit again soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cazaroo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Owner at The Freemasons Arms of Nosterfield, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback. I know what you mean about the melt in the mouth steaks, I enjoyed one of our rib-eye steaks last night. It took weeks for us to decide on our new meat supplier when we bought the pub earlier this year and the quality of the meat is incredible. We also spent half a day at the suppliers last week and their attention to detail is excellent. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again soon. Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Last minute booking”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

After having to change dinner plans on Saturday night I suggested we try the Freemasons as we hadn't been in a couple of years and it was the right choice to make. I called the pub at 5.30 and managed to reserve a table for 7pm for four of us. The young lady on the phone was exceptionally polite and had a smiley voice, always a plus when booking over the phone.
On arrival the staff were friendly and helpful from the off, the food was beautiful with huge portions, I should have asked for a childs portion, it still would have been enough.
From someone who worked in hospitality for 22 years I can't recommend this place enough. Well done, we will be back

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Owner at The Freemasons Arms of Nosterfield, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your recommendation to visit The Freemasons Arms. It is pleasing to know that you found the team to be polite, friendly and helpful and that you really enjoyed your meal with us. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A welcome surprise”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband took me to The Freemasons for my birthday dinner after hearing good things about it since it had changed hands.

When we arrived, the place was very busy - always a good sign!

Our waitress was very friendly and very helpful, particularly when getting advice about what my coeliac husband could eat off the menu.

The food was very good. We both had starters and then opted for steak as the main. All courses were tasty and very enjoyable, particularly the Ferro Rocher cheesecake!

All in all a very surprising yet pleasant trip to a new local eaterie. For what we had the bill came in at just £100 which I thought was very reasonable. The only thing I'd suggest is that the owners/managers re-evaluate the wine menu. Although cheap, the list is limited and doesn't allow for a real treat. Expanding the list to incorporate a variety of budgets would certainly improve it and would encourage me even more to return sooner rather than later.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Owner at The Freemasons Arms of Nosterfield, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback which is much appreciated. We are currently working on a new wine list and have received recommendations from our wine merchants but would appreciate any suggestions that you would like to see included. Thank you again and I hope you visit us again soon. Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Freemasons Arms of Nosterfield also viewed

Bedale, North Yorkshire
Bedale, North Yorkshire
 
Bedale, North Yorkshire
Bedale, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Freemasons Arms of Nosterfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing