We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent quality food, beautifully cooked!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fox and Hounds Inn

Fox and Hounds Inn
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Bedale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
East Boldon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent quality food, beautifully cooked!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

The standard of food and service here has been consistently excellent for years. This is endorsed by the fact that a lot of regular customers choose this place above all others in the area every time. We often tour with our caravan and use the Sunday lunch here as a yardstick in other parts of the country, but have never found another pub to equal it. When you enter there's the wonderful aroma of a proper home cooked Sunday lunch, and you're not disappointed. The starters are substantial but even after a generous main course we look forward to the imaginative, well executed desserts.
The only dilemma is whether to come here on a Sunday, or on a weekday when the choice of menu is more extensive, but equally delightful. If a favourite item is not on the menu that day, they will go out of their way to provide it. Nothing is too much trouble. Well worth travelling to visit - lucky locals already know how fortunate they are!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    21
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were staying in Snape and had heard about the Fox and Hounds just 3 miles away so thought we would try it one Sunday evening. They have just decorated throughout and this is a warm and cosy looking pub. We ordered our food and within 10-15 minutes it arrived and wow how lovely it looked. My husband had the curry, which came with a home made popadum, a separate dish of rice, another dish which included, grapes, apples, dried fruit, coconut, mango chutney and naan bread, he said it was the best curry he had tasted outside an Indian restaurant. I ordered the lamb shank, which was delicious and came with vegetables, battered spiced parsnip, new potatoes and chips, the meat just fell off the bone and melted in the mouth. We visited again later in the week and again the meals were just fantastic. The owners also sell home-made chutneys and jams, home-made meringues and cake to sell generally. All the staff are so very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. It must be good as it has won the Michelin best Pub of the Year since 2007 (I think, may be earlier). Don't miss out pay it a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shazzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Went for a family meal out, food was well presented and absolutely delicious. I ordered the warm chicken and bacon salad for starter which was very nice, and as soon as our starter plates were removed, our mains arrived of which I had the chicken breast with a cheese and white wine sauce, which came with sides of vegetables and potatoes. The atmosphere is very friendly and all the staff were welcoming and helpful. Over all lovely meal out.

Helpful?
Thank Ruth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't judge this book by its cover!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

This restaurant may not be a looker (not my taste in decor or presentation) but that doesn't matter. The food and service were impeccable. I don't need to say any more.
Thanks for a great evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LansonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic - But Don't Tell Everyone !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Had a gorgeous meal at the Fox and Hounds for our anniversary, food cooked to perfection, excellent value, attentive and friendly staff, superb. Will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wedgwood123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox and Hounds Inn also viewed

Bedale, North Yorkshire
Bedale, North Yorkshire
 
Bedale, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Fox and Hounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing