We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub”
Review of The Green Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Green Dragon
Ranked #11 of 14 Bedale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Very friendly place all round. decent music, rooms are fine and a good breakfast in the morning.
Bedale is a very friendly location. To top it off the barman was called Mike Hunt. hahaha absoloute class!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanSherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedaledragon, Owner at The Green Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your review!

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Green Dragon.

Look forward to meeting you again in the not too distant future.

Martin & Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 93 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed for one night at the green dragon whilst visiting friends. Had a great night, rooms were clean and comfy, prices very reasonable and great entertainment.
Also the breakfast was epic !!

Will definitely be staying there next time we visit our friends.
Host Mike made us very welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Last weekend my wife and I stayed at The Green Dragon in Bedale, Nth Yorkshire. We had been warned before we arrived that it might not be very good as some reviewers had panned it. We were therfore very surprised to find the rooms clean, comfortable if basic, and tea and coffee supplied. The room was ensuite and had a TV. For the price we paid it was excellant. Best of all were the staff - they could not have been more friendly. A great bunch who welcomed us in best Yorkshire fashion.
Yes, there is some noise from the bar if, like us, you are on the first floor, but we had been warned to expect this at booking time. It did not bother my wife and I as we were out late anyway.
Altogether a good hotel for the money and we would recommend it to anyone. We will be staying there in the future.

Room Tip: If you are an early to bed type, ask for the second floor to get far away from the bar noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidSSAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedaledragon, Owner at The Green Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of the Green Dragon.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us & that you will be returning.

Look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Martin & Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on sat 16th feb 2013. rooms are very reasonably priced and as the saying goes you get what you pay for. had a really enjoyable day in the market town lovely food at the old swan in and great night in the green dragon pub itself. staff very friendly and accomodating and although you pay extra for breakfast at £5 for a full english with coffee juice and toast and jam it is well worth it. great food and great service and highly recommended and will most definately be returning very very soon

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittykatlee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedaledragon, Owner at The Green Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Many thanks for your kind review.

We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us!

Hope to see you again soon.

Martin & Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

On a recent trip to Edinburgh from Devon, our party of 4 decided to spend a night at The Green Dragon in Bedale. The welcome was great with luggage taken to our rooms. Following a swift drink we went up to our rooms and found them to be ample. Good facilities in each room. Our only dissapointment was the fact that there is no food available in the evening, however, there is a nice restaurant just across the street. The bar itself is good with a nice warm open fire which adds to friendly atmosphere. The breakfast was excellent and served by pleasent staff. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed 1 night at this B&B, which was within walking distance to the Bedale Hall.
The staff were very pleasant and we were able to leave our luggage in the room very early in the afternoon. We had a top floor room which was very clean and tidy. Heating was not skimped on - we had to turn the radiators off! We ordered the cooked breakfast - which was extremely good value. Again the staff could not do enough to help.
If I'm ever in Bedale again I would not hesitate to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrjohnohagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Glad we didn't take any notice of the comments on trip advisor. We stayed in room 4 which was just what we needed. The fact that you can have a free cereal breakfast is a very good idea. I personally went for the cooked breakfast, which was well presented by a very frendly member of staff. All in all a pleasent stay for the price.

Room Tip: I should say the rooms at the back of the hotel would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedaledragon, Owner at The Green Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Tank you for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always nice to have positive feedback after the recent not so good reviews.

Thank you again & hopefully you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedale
1.9 mi away
The White Rose Hotel
The White Rose Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leeming Bar
200 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
134 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Three Coopers
The Three Coopers
#3 of 14 in Bedale
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Greyhound Inn
Greyhound Inn
#6 of 14 in Bedale
79 reviews
1.9 mi away
Waggon and Horses
Waggon and Horses
#13 of 14 in Bedale
44 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Castle Arms Inn
The Castle Arms Inn
#1 of 14 in Bedale
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Dragon

Address: 16 Market Place, Bedale DL8 1EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bedale
Price Range: $72 - $744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Green Dragon 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your The Green Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Dragon Hotel Bedale
The Green Dragon Bedale, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing