We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Castle Arms Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Bedale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My friend and I visited this pub for lunch on 4th July - having been there many times before it changed hands in January 2014. Menu was varied but we decided on a salmon and turismo salad. Oh when it came, which was after a long wait and only 3 ladies in the bar having sandwiches it was awful, just appeared to be lettuce, 2 small tomatoes, a very thin slice of salmon and a bit of turismo. This is not what we expect in a salad. We complained to the owners wife and she said it was what we had ordered. She offered to send the chef but he never appeared. She brought the menu out and said a salad is lettuce thats what we ordered and thats what we got! The landlord then came and he again reiterated we got what we asked for! We said we didn't feel we should pay and he said we had tdo. We hardly eat a thing because the lettuce was awful.
We walked to the bar and the waitress was there waiting for the money. I said do you want paying for that, she said yes and I said are you prepared to take money off 2 pensioners who couldn't eat the meal provided. We paid, reluctantly and she held the door, we said we weren't coming again and she said "I hope you don't come again" Very different from the previous owners.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank J0an26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, Owner at The Castle Arms Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We are sorry you did not enjoy your meal but feel it is necessary to correct several aspects of your review. The dish ordered was a salmon and crayfish salad which as per the description on the menu was served with peppers, tomatoes and salad leaves. It is a dish that has been enjoyed by customers on many occasions without a single complaint. As is our policy we checked that everything was ok within minutes of you receiving your meals and you said everything was fine. It was only when your plates were collected at the end of your meal, having eaten everything other than some of the salad leaves, that you decided to complain stating that there was too much salad and that it was 'not to your taste' at which point you imediately asked for a refund. Our view was then, and remains, that the meal you received was exactly as described on the menu and that there were no valid grounds for a refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    54
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
193
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Excellent ensuite accommodation representing great value for money. Bedrooms in a separate block at the rear so no noise from the pub. Everything very clean. Breakfast cooked to order. Evening meals are good pub food served in the restaurant or bar. Very happy with our stay and the owners made us very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTTT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, Owner at The Castle Arms Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for posting a review and for your positive comments. We are particularly pleased that you feel we offer value for money as we recognise how important this is in this day and age. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had been several times before when the previous owners had the place so were keen to see was it still as good? The answer was absolutely yes. Ian and Lisa and the lovely Max (doggy) lay on a 5 star welcome backed up by a professional but discreet service. The rooms have been refreshed and are a welcome place to rest at the end of a long day out in beautiful countryside. The food was always fresh and of great quality, beautifully presented and the menus are being updated and refreshed so I would say have improved for the better..............Breakfast was wonderful and keeps you going through the day. The best thing though for me was the welcome our dog received...........this couple are new to hospitality but you would not know it from the wonderful service. I am sure the Castle will go from strength to strength under them and their team............we'll be back:)

Room Tip: All rooms are in a courtyard setting ours was No 1, but we have tried several and have loved them al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, Owner at The Castle Arms Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for such a positive review. We are trying hard to create somewhere special at The Castle Arms Inn and your kind words and positive feedback very encouraging. We hope to see you again soon when we hope we can match or even exceed your last visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Just back from a lovely stay at Castle Arms,we stayed there as we were attending a wedding at nearby Hilltop Farm. I can't speak highly enough about how much we enjoyed our stay, Ian & Lisa were so friendly & welcoming,the food & drink were excellent & the accommodation was spotless & more than adequate,would definitely book again if back in area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 764markh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, Owner at The Castle Arms Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review and your positive comments We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and hope to see you again should you be in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Fantastic little pub, very cosy and great ambiance. Ian (landlord) great fella. Nice real ale, fantastic food menu - lovely breakfast. Reasonable price. Great village, friendly locals. Surrounding area is stunning. Simple rooms, very clean and in general the whole place was "perfect". Thanks Ian and best wishes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, Owner at The Castle Arms Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our lovely village and that our food, accommodation and real ale met your expectations. Our aim is to make everyone's stay perfect so it is always satisfying to learn we have achieved our objective. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We (wife and two friends) were looking to go away for the weekend somewhere north of Sutton-In-Ashfield, I was entrusted to find somewhere & book it (they must be trusting!!) Through my search I came across the "Castle Arms" in Snape, phoned them and yes they had a double & a twin room vacant (both en-suite) for the dates we required. We duly arrived at the picture postcard hamlet that is Snape, (need to go back and explore the immediate area, a castle, and a large arboreteum need further investigation. Our stay was welcoming, the rooms were excellent, the food also very good (the black pudding on the breakfast was the tastiest I've ever had). The cask beers were "well-up-to-scratch" The rooms were a few yards from the pub, across a gorgeous courtyard/outdoor area. We all cannot fault anything about the stay (other than it was too short! Many thanks to Ian & Lisa.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffh859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, Owner at The Castle Arms Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank your for your review and all the positive feedback. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay here so much and that our rooms, food and drink were so much to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Castle Arms Inn and the lovely village of Snape soon, perhaps for a longer stay next time!

Ian, Lisa and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

My husband, daughter and I booked in for a 3 night break over Whit week. Ian and Lisa were so welcoming, food was delicious and room was lovely. Loved the little courtyard between the rooms and the pub, pity the sun didn't shine so we could have sat out. Perfect location for visiting the lovely places in Yorkshire. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALETowlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, Owner at The Castle Arms Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are really pleased that your family enjoyed your stay at The Castle Arms Inn. Our goal is to create somewhere special that our guests want to return to time and again so it is very pleasing to hear that you plan to visit us again, hopefully next time the sun will shine for you and you will get to make the most of our lovely courtyard!

Ian, Lisa and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedale
3.2 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
4.5 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Greyhound Inn
Greyhound Inn
#4 of 14 in Bedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Three Coopers
The Three Coopers
#5 of 14 in Bedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Arms Inn

Property: The Castle Arms Inn
Address: Snape, Bedale DL8 2TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle Arms Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century character inn located in the picturesque vilage of Snape, near Bedale, North Yorkshire. Nine stylish, high quality, self-contained en-suite rooms situated in a converted barn across a cobbled courtyard at the rear of the pub. Cosy, traditional bar and tap room area with real open fires, flagged floors and beams serving a range of real ales and extensive wine list. Intimate, candle-lit restaurant serving a mixture of high quality food ranging from pub classics to more contemporary dishes. Extensive outside areas including secluded and secure courtyard area. A warm welcome awaits all our guests, including the four-legged variety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Castle Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Arms Inn Bedale, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing