We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Castle Arms Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Bedale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Finally got round to writing on tripadviser as promised to Ian & Liz who made us very welcome, we had a lovely weekend at castle arms inn, we booked to go there because dogs were welcome. The place was spik & span, excellent food & drink and the locals also very welcoming as well, hence we have booked to stay again later in the year. Mark & Gilly Dorset

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilly21potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, Owner at The Castle Arms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your positive feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your first stay with us and will do everything in our power to ensure your next stay is just as enjoyable! Ian, Lisa and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 335 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

We only stayed one night in The Castle Arms but we will definitely go again. Ian and Lisa the new owners could not have been more welcoming to our two families and the three children that were with us! From answering the children's continuous questions about their bedrooms, the dogs, the food and the chickens, to special breakfast requests at an earlier time to normal ! Nothing is too much trouble for them. The food for both our evening meal and breakfast were superb, both in quality and value. The rooms are very clean and quirky (exposed stonework and beams) and have everything you need to make your stay enjoyable and relaxing. We were staying on our way to Catterick (15 mins away) but Snape looks a lovely village, there's a castle on the end of the road! Staying here your well placed for Bedale, Leyburn, Masham etc.... We will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A perfect retreat for a quiet secluded weekend. The 'New Owners' Ian and Lisa, were very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in Room No 9, up the stone steps, and enjoyed a very cosy, relaxing night, followed by a delicious home cooked breakfast. This was complimented by two beautiful meals during our stay. Highly recommended, will definitely make a return visit in the Summer as there is an abundance of stunning countryside to explore along with some of the prettiest villages to visit.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend Room No 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheMacs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Spent a really enjoyable night at the Castle Arms last Saturday. Ian and Lisa who now run the Castle Arms were extremely welcoming. Food was very good and our room was nice and cosy. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DazzleDinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

I just stayed one night in The Castle Arms but it had everything I wanted. Great food, great beer, a very Yorkshire welcome and a much needed quite sleep.
I can't wait to get back to Snape during the summer.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Aidan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Arrived just before 6pm on a gloomy Friday evening. Lovely welcome from new landlord Ian, a place by the log fire and a gin and tonic mixed to perfection all within 5 mins of arrival.Dogs really are welcome,our's had as good a time as we had and I noticed lots of similar comments in the visitor's book.The locals were very welcoming too which isn't always the case, with some impromptu music making on the pub piano.Lisa the new landlady was a delight.Our room was comfortable if a little dated.The food was good pub food and very reasonably priced.Excellent glass of house red or white(we tried both!)The walk out the back of the pub was wonderful and goes all the way to Bedale (lovely georgian market town).We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: I fancy room 9 next time up some stone steps and under the eaves. Very romantic looking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suedyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Lovely accommodation, clean , warm, well cared for.
separate accommodation building . Lovely evening meal
not expensive, went the extra mile to make our stay comfortable.
We definitely recommend this place for over night stop or a short break.
No good broadband here (openzone) and mobiles hit and miss
lovely breakfast .
we will be back

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morrisonsofyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedale
3.2 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
134 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Three Coopers
The Three Coopers
#3 of 14 in Bedale
91 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Woodman Inn
The Woodman Inn
#5 of 14 in Bedale
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#11 of 14 in Bedale
93 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Brompton
519 reviews
5.7 mi away
Greyhound Inn
Greyhound Inn
#6 of 14 in Bedale
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Arms Inn

Address: Snape, Bedale DL8 2TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bedale
Price Range: $95 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle Arms Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century character inn located in the picturesque vilage of Snape, near Bedale, North Yorkshire. Nine stylish, high quality, self-contained en-suite rooms situated in a converted barn across a cobbled courtyard at the rear of the pub. Cosy, traditional bar and tap room area with real open fires, flagged floors and beams serving a range of real ales and extensive wine list. Intimate, candle-lit restaurant serving a mixture of high quality food ranging from pub classics to more contemporary dishes. Extensive outside areas including secluded and secure courtyard area. A warm welcome awaits all our guests, including the four-legged variety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Castle Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Arms Inn Bedale, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing