We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Mill Close Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mill Close Farm
Ranked #9 of 14 Bedale B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a very rural B&B but easy to find with a satnav. The location is beautiful with a long drive up the farm past crops and highland cattle to arrive at a very attractive house. We saw plenty of wildlife including our first fox. We were met by Patricia and given a welcome cup of tea and home-made baking before being shown upstairs to a room with views of the countryside. There was fresh fruit in our room and some delicious fudge. The bathroom had a spa bath which was very relaxing. The first night Patricia recommended the Friars Head Akebar for dinner and the next day sent us to Fountains Abbey which was well worth a visit. Breakfast both days was superb. We were very impressed with everything about the Mill Close Farm B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 64 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed here on 14th september 2012 for 3 nights with my husband and my father-in-law. The beds were comfy, the spa bath was bubbly, the location was quiet and the surroundings were beautiful. Trisha is a great hostess so much so that we plan to go back later in the year. Fell in love with the highland cattle, the black sheep and elly the dog. Food was fab. Can't fault anything. 5* all round.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catwoman2Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Had a fantastic stay, the bedrooms are first class with my view over the farm fields which is part of the B&B and would fit any 5 star hotel, the place is spotless, breakfast all home grown food and enough to last me the day. Very friendly and ideal lacation. Will visit again.

Peter

Room Tip: I had the room facing the front but as all the rooms have views over farm fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razor26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at Mill Close Farm while touring Yorkshire and The Dales. The accommodation was on a par with a first class hotel and the quality of service top notch. This is far from being an average Bed and Breakfast establishment as it sets a standard to which others should aim to achieve.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed on 9th. June and had the same wonderful welcome as described by others, a beautiful room and the best breakfast we have ever had in any B&B. We intend to stay here again when the opportunity arises.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at Mill Close farm as a stop over while en route to a vintage car rally in the scottish borders. We arrived tired and somewhat weary after the long drive in our 80year old car. We were greeted by Patricia our host, who soon had us settled in to a very welcome tea and homemade cakes in her delightful farmhouse. We, were also given an upgrade to the Four poster bedroom. I echo the comments of the other reviewer, it was a beautiful room with an enormous four poster bed which was very comfortable. The room was tastefully decorated with lots of nice little touches such as the bowl of fresh fruit, homemade chocalates in the fridge which also had bottled water and the "real" milk for tea and coffee, the windows looked out onto fields with grazing highland cattle and sheep.The large bathroom had a corner spar bath which was complimented by high quality toiletries, very relaxing after our drive. Patricia really cares about hers quests and it shows not only in the quality and cleanliness of the rooms but also in the choice and quality of breakfast which was excellent. Choosing a good B&B can be a lottery, choose Mill Close farm and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms have their our characters and charm, try the 4 - poster room for that extra little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuckinghamshireWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at Mill Close in April this year. The property is in the most beautiful area, very peaceful and quiet. Patricia's attention to detail made for a wonderful stay for 3 weary travelers. Breakfast was just perfect, we didn't want for anything - and Patricia was a warm and friendly hostess. We would definitely recommend this B&B and only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bedale hotels
0 mi away
Hillside Bed and Breakfast
Hillside Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Carthorpe
18 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
134 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Three Coopers
The Three Coopers
#3 of 14 in Bedale
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Castle Arms Inn
The Castle Arms Inn
#1 of 14 in Bedale
335 reviews
1 mi away
Greyhound Inn
Greyhound Inn
#6 of 14 in Bedale
79 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#10 of 14 in Bedale
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Close Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Close Farm

Address: Patrick Brompton, Bedale DL8 1JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bedale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bedale
Price Range: $54 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mill Close Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Close Farm Bedale, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing