We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“highly recommended . everything first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elmfield House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elmfield House
Ranked #2 of 14 Bedale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“highly recommended . everything first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

we arrived on a beautifull evening to a very warm welcome from astra and ian, and some lovely cake and tea , which was a nice touch , we were shown to a lovely spotlessly clean bedroom . with super views of the countryside, the breakfast next morning was first class . a superb choice and lovely warm service , i stay in many hotels each month but none as welcoming with such great hosts , will reccommend to all my friends and definately stay again when next in the area,

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinat124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
96
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

Weather has been harsh in North Yorkshire over New Year so we were delighted to spend a couple of nights at Elmfield House at Arrowthorne near Bedale.
The owners Ian and Astra were lovely with a welcoming cup of tead and cake and advice on places to eat. Big rooms with all the facilities you would expect from a hotel, never mind a B&B.
For Elmfield the emphasis of B&B is on breakfast which offers the full Yorkshire fayre of sausage, bacon, egg, black puddinjg and everything in between...
Heading back asap

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianjgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

We arrived through blizzards to a scene reminiscent of a Christmas card, and quickly settled into our beautiful and comfortable bedroom thanks to the warm welcome provided by Ian and Astra, not forgetting Ozzie and Sam the dogs. Our room was lovely, with ample supplies of tea and coffee and the toiletries in the bathroom added that personal touch.

After a great nights sleep we enjoyed the best poached eggs on toast along with freshly brewed coffee and orange juice to round of our short stay on a high note. We will definitely be back to see Elmfield house when the fields are green again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoisLane41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2009

I stayed at Elmfield House in June 07 with my father - at the time we were aged respectively 21 and 48.

Had an absolutely lovely visit - I'd been struggling to find somewhere to stay that had even just basic wheelchair access in the area of Richmond, short of nasty roadside chains, and boy oh boy did Elmfield ever come up with the goods. Outstanding physical access made my stay blissfully easy as a wheelchair user with loads of space to move around and a properly kitted out wetroom with roll-in shower - perfect.

No cutting-edge style, just proper comfort, well-thought-out and attentive service, a comfortable room and a generous welcome from friendly staff and an absolutely wonderful resident dog alike - who, might I add, was also most respectful in staying well away until we made it clear we were 'doggy people' - dog-fearing visitors would have no problems here.

I hope I can make it back to stay there another time one day.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyingMeeces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Derbyshire
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

I arrived on a Sunday In November having booked by telephone. Arrived at 3:30pm only to be advised by an elderly resident that I could not check in until 4:30pm as Sunday was the only day the owners had off! The house looks nothing like the photo on the website. and I had to check I was at the right place. My room was plesant but very cold as the heating had not ybeen on. No food is available on Sunday evening which is something I had not hoisted in. I use hotels of some sort on average 3 days out of every week so do have high expectations which were certainly not met and I was very disappointed. I await breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PrincessSDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towning, Owner at Elmfield House, responded to this review, December 18, 2009
We are sorry this guest felt disappointed.
This appears to be caused mainly by an earlier than expected arrival and that they had booked a family run guest house rather than a hotel with the wider range of services required. We did assist by turning the heating early and providing an electric heater to help out until that had kicked in.

All our confirmations, both verbal and written, are clear that we are available for check in from 4.30pm unless special arrangements have been made. This ensures that we are ready to see guests in, the heating is on, kettle boiled and cake or biscuits are ready for guests on arrival. It also protects my elderly mother in law from having to see unexpected guests into the house as her health is frail.
The guest did receive our standard e mail confirmation.

At the present time, and in November 2009, evening meals are available by arrangement at the time of booking but Sunday night is excluded. The availability of evening meals is made clear to guests where they ask about them at booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2007

First class comfortable, relaxing hotel in quiet rural location at the end of a drive. An ideal base to explore the moors, dales and surrounding area. Excellent breakfast with local produce. Evening dinner menu by prior arrangement, otherwise a selection of pubs and restaurants are available in the surrounding villages.

Helpful?
3 Thank funkyanorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedale
5.1 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
8.2 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
6.4 mi away
The Castle Arms Inn
The Castle Arms Inn
#1 of 14 in Bedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmfield House

Property: Elmfield House
Address: Bedale DL8 1NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bedale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elmfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, family run, country guesthouse set in 24 peaceful acres offering generous Yorkshire bed and breakfast. Ideally located for the Yorkshire Dales and Moors and set well away from roads we enjoy a tranquil position, lovely views and safe parking. All rooms en-suite and one room on the ground floor. Comfortable beds for a good sleep followed by hearty, locally sourced Yorkshire breakfast. "Bring your own" wine encouraged. Good local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Elmfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmfield House Bedale, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing