We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Visits”
Review of Gamekeeper's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Threshfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gamekeeper's Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Threshfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We called in a couple of times over new year. Pub is lovely and warm and wet boot/soggy dog friendly. The food we had was very good as was the real ale which they serve several of. We also had a bottle of house wine which was very nice and at 13.50 we thought very reasonable. We also visited about 1 year ago and had the same experience. Staff also very nice and helpful with sorting out a meal for my partner as she has a food alergy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeessideJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Gamekeeper's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 267 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

It's twelve months since we last stayed at The Gamekeeper's, although we holiday at Long Ashes each summer and eat there every night. Once again, the accommodation was first class, and this time we stayed in the family suite (large sofa bed in one room for the kids, and lovely bedroom for us).
As ever, the welcome was warm and the food top notch. After filling up on a superb vegetarian main course (the warm goat's cheese salad with a side of chunky chips), my wife was desperate for the lemon posset with berries. However, she just couldn't find a corner for it, and jokingly asked if she could have it at breakfast - and to her delight, she did! It's the little personal touches that make this fantastic place a cut above the rest.
We've booked again for next year, and honestly can't wait!
Thanks again for a wonderful stay (and please keep the posset on the menu - even if it has to wait for breakfast!!)

Room Tip: Pick a room - any room - and you won't be disappointed!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Speccybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Regularly go to swimming pool but unfortunately it was closed for repairs so we decided to have lunch in the Gamekeeper's.Thoroughly enjoyed smoked salmon with creamed cheese on potato bread. The lounge was warm and welcoming and the staff and service were excellent.When will pool be closed again??????

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annetteyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We were staying on the Caravan Club site nearby and decided to go for a meal here as it was Monday and 'Steak night' . It wasn't busy but it was lovely......there were six of us and four had steaks which were beautifully cooked exactly as ordered.,,,,,,and at £9.95 , a bargain! I had a super burger and the steak and kidney pudding was delightful. The service was friendly and the house Chilean CyT Merlot was really nice and good value. There was a choice of four real ales hand pulled which went down a treat and none of us had room for puddings! We will certainly return to this lovely restaurant and pub.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just got back from our really relaxing stay at The Gamekeepers Inn on the offer of B&B with 2 course eve meal for £80 for 2 people which was really good value for money. We stayed in the The Linton Falls room at the front which was lovely,really warm and cosy.The meal in the restaurant was outstanding with huge portions! and also excellent service. All the staff were really friendly and helpful they could not do enough for you.
We used the spa facilities where again the staff were really friendly and helpful. The pool is quite large with sauna & steam room and also there is a gym to use if you feel energetic on your stay! We will be recommending this hidden gem of a place to all our friends to stay. We will be visiting again in the New Year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We recently spent a couple of nights in the area, and the Gamekeepers was the closest pub. We ate there twice ; Monday was steak night, all steaks off the menu a tenner. Quite possibly the best steak I have EVER had ; they were cooked to perfection and served with piping hot chips, delicious steak and very good portion size. The service was very good and the staff all very friendly.

We went back a couple of nights later for the quiz night and even though it was "pie night" we both ate from the main menu ; I had sea bass and had 2 full size fillets on stir fried veg (not the scruffy little square portion I have been served in other places), my hubby had chorizo stuffed chicken breast and it was again a really good sized portion and very tasty. The staff were different to the other night, but the service was just as good,

its a shame we had to leave when we did, as the food and service was brilliant and we would have gone back again
(the only recommendation I would make is Sky sports to watch the football on, but I understand how expensive it is and it may not be feasible for a small business)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanLovedSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed for a short break on the adjacent caravan club site a 5 minute walk away. Visited the Gamekeeper for a drink and meal, amazed at the fabulous selection on the menu and the quality superb. Returned the following evening, Friday, to sample their Fish night delights, beer battered fish and chips to die for awesome. Can not recommend highly enough fantastic food great range of real ales good wines and staff that are fabulous. Jenny & John Lincoln

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeniandjohn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Threshfield
3.1 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
810 reviews
0.9 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
134 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grassington Lodge
Grassington Lodge
#1 of 20 in Grassington
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamekeeper's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamekeeper's Inn

Address: Long Ashes Park | Nr Skipton, Threshfield, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Threshfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Threshfield
Price Range: $68 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gamekeeper's Inn has recently been fully refurbished from top to bottom and our friendly team are waiting to welcome you whether you are popping in for a beer or fancy staying for Bed and Breakfast or even one of our spa breaks! Room prices include a full Yorkshire breakfast using fresh local produce and hotel guests receive free use of our swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and gym. We serve freshly prepared homemade food using local ingredients daily 12 noon to 2pm and 6pm until 9pm. The bar is open daily 12 noon to 11pm. We serve a range of cask conditioned ales, a full range of wines and spirits and of course a cracking range of malt whiskey all for you to enjoy in the comfort of the bar, by the log burner or in our stunning conservatory dining room. We also host functions including weddings and birthdays for up to 200 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gamekeeper`s Hotel Threshfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing