We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ling House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ling House B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Threshfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

A big thank you to Jayne for making our stay so comfortable. We stayed for one night in November in the back room. We were welcomed with a pot of coffee and some delicious home made scones. Our room was comfortable, cosy and had the most amazing down duvet which we had to complement first thing in the morning. We had a gorgeous view out of our window and the bathroom was immaculate and fitted out very well. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Ling House was the best B&B I've stayed in, and certainly the most welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky_c_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
62
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We only stayed for one night, but we will definitely be coming back. The owners, Charlie and Jayne, are so friendly and greeted us like long lost friends. The breakfast and our room were excellent, and we would not change anything about our stay. Thank you for making your home, as if it were ours too.
We hope you all have a wonderful Christmas and New Year and look forward to returning to stay with you in the Spring.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aitchlancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We booked Ling House on the strength of the Trip Advisor reviews as we were visiting for the Dickensian Christmas Festival & we were not disappointed! Jayne & Charlie could not have made us more welcome, the home made cake was superb & the breakfast does indeed set you up for the day as it is huge & very well cooked, just make sure you are hungry! Our room was on the front & was nice & cosy with an enormous comfy bed & lovely en-suite bathroom with Jacuzzi bath, very tastefully decorated as is the whole house! We wish we could have stayed longer this time but are hoping to stay again next year for the Grassington Festival in June 14. We would not hesitate to recommend this fantastic traditional B&B, thanks to Jayne & Charlie for being such great hosts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoncasterAshley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Everything about Ling House makes it a really excellent place to stay. The whole house is full of character and the owners are very welcoming. The en suite room was furnished and decorated to a high standard perfectly in keeping with the age and style of the house. Every taste was catered for at breakfast. Another bonus is it is only five minutes walk from the Old Hall inn offering an excellent choice of dishes with service to match and real ales.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HullVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights to spend some time walking in the Dales. Ling House is a lovely cottage and has everything I think a fab B&B should have - cosy fire, super-comfy rooms, delicious breakfasts and great proximity to pubs with excellent food (The Fountaine was a fave - just take a torch and mind the sheep)! But what takes Ling House to the next level is its genuinely warm hosts. We felt welcomed by Jayne and Charlie as if we were family. From the homemade cake and tea on arrival to giving us a lift to and from Grassington for dinner so we could both have a drink, it was these touches that made us feel so looked after. And Jayne's scones will stay in my memory for a long time - best I have ever tried!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ar_sleeperclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I booked Ling House over the internet and within half an hour Jayne called me to say that she had our booking and looked forward to seeing us. This was a nice personal touch and set the scene for our short stay. We arrived in the dark and received a very warm and friendly welcome from Jayne which meant that we felt at home straight away!! Jayne put the drier up infront of the fire for our wet clothes and brought us home made cake to have with our tea!! The bedroom was lovely and cozy and the comfortable - the shower room excellent and nothing could be faulted! We went over to the pub in the evening where the food and drink was excellent too. Great not having to use the car. In the morning we had a lovely relaxed breakfast with so much to choose from. It was served fresh and hot and a great start to the day. We loved chatting to Jayne and learning about the history of her home and family. On leaving we felt like we had known each other for ages!! We were just sorry that we could not stay longer - and hope to return soon. We would not hesitate to recommend staying at Ling House - just don't bother looking for anywhere else if you are in the area!! Thank you for making us feel so welcome and hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

this b&b was lovely, my fella and I had three nights here whilst we explored the Yorkshire Dales.

It's a great location in a lovely little hamlet with an all important pub just a minutes walk away. We also easily walked into Grassington in an evening, it's a miles walk mainly flat and has pavements all the way.

Jayne made us feel super welcome and fed us well with home made cake on arrival, baked biscuits each afternoon and a top notch breakfast.

Great value, lovely room and a very big comfy bed!

highly recommended (o:

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greenzoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Threshfield
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.9 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bridge House Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Grassington Lodge
Grassington Lodge
#1 of 21 in Grassington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ling House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ling House B&B

Property: Ling House B&B
Address: Threshfield, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Threshfield
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Threshfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ling House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing