We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some reservations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Threshfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Hall Inn & Cottages
Ranked #4 of 5 Threshfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Some reservations”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Called in today for what we hoped would be a welcome Sunday lunch to brighten up a miserably cold wet and windy day in the dales. The non-too-welcoming (and overflowing from Saturday night revellers) cigarette/litter bin on the entrance step would have put many off if it weren't for the disparate need to get out of the foul weather and into the welcoming warmth of a dales pub. Warmth however was the one item missing from today's menu. Having ordered drinks we were offered tables away from the one open fire in the bar area as those adjacent to the hot coals were reserved. We ordered the fish and chips which were excellent, arriving only after we had mistakenly been presented with the meals for the couple on our next table. As other diners gradually arrived they too were shown to our end of the pub. A further seating area was then opened up with the words 'it's a little cool in here but we have just put some heating on' subsequently creating a further draught for those already starved of the open fire which was proving popular with the locals and bar staff stood around that end of the bar. We chose not to have a sweet, paid and couldn't help noticing the still unoccupied reserved seats as we closed the door carefully avoiding the tab end tub. Overall impression, food choice and quality : very good, first impressions and atmosphere : could do a lot better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    50
    23
    16
    8
See reviews for
30
111
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I have to write my review now as I can't see anything else wrong with the place after my first day.

Firstly, we were a little early but no problem. Shown to the cottage which was super warm and left to our own devices. I have no problem with that but others might as you may need to know how to turn the heating down or how to operate the shower etc if you aren't that way inclined. But that doesn't matter.

The place is super cozy and open. You'll be blown away with the quaintness and how much bigger it looks on the inside. There is a great little side room for left over luggage and bric a brac behind the kitchen area. Which also contains the central heating boiler.

The kitchen is very well equipped with fridge and freezer and the normal amenities. We had lots of home cooked dinners as well as local nights out at the pubs. Hot water on tap just like that.

The bathroom has an electric shower with multi spray head and bath too. We used them all. Plenty of room in there for all your bits. Great soft water area if you want a bubbly bath. There's a shaver socket in the bathroom mirror light and a fan heater.

The bedroom is as the pictures. Simple and cozy too but........if you like your windows open upstairs then there aren't any that open. There is only one. Which I imagine could be from the listed building status. But if you have the heating on all day then you'll find it stuffy during the night (autumn/winter) That is the only thing that I would find a problem.

The living room has a super soft and cozy L shaped sofa to snuggle into. Fell asleep a few times after a long days exploring or eating out. The TV is great for the basic channels for a bit of evening viewing if you're in. The wood burner is great to with logs prepared to set fire too. And a honesty box for the extra wood that you can use.

Basically the cottage was awesome. No complaints at all.

The area around Threshfield is far to massive to explain. But if you're a walker then I don't need to tell you anything. Grassington is a fabulous place to visit to. No need for the car to get about as you can walk every where. If you here to go clubbing forget it. It's an area for exploring and relaxing. The Inn is fab and friendly. There are a few villages all with a pub or two to visit and eat at. Prices vary but that isn't a problem. You just have to discover it yourself.

It's a spectacular place to visit and stay

And of course dogs are welcome everywhere and so are muddy boots.

Hope all this helps

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_Wainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked 5 days over the New Year in Monks cottage after seeing Old Hall Inn on "Four In a Bed" . We absolutely loved loved loved it ! Andy the owner and his staff prepared a massive banquet for New Years Eve. It was like something that you would imagine on Henry 8ths table. It was the most amazing feast ever! We ate in the restaurant most nights and the food was truely amazing. The best we have ever eaten. (thank you Dan for my huge fillet steak cooked to perfection) The welcome was the best you could imagine. Roaring fire, warm friendly pub , staff couldnt do enough for us. Andy the owner is an amazing chef and puts his heart and soul into everything he cooks. It was a long drive from our home in Devon but we definitely intend returning and would recommend it. Grassington viillage is just amazing, like something out of Dickens , cobbled streets and pretty shops. Rosies is the best Indian restaurant ever, tiny , only has 15 covers but also does take away.

Room Tip: Self contained Monks Cottage, is quiet, lovely good quality bed, open fire, central heating and ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marretta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Called in this really nice pub for some food. They weren't serving for about an hour when we got there but we decided to wait till they were. So glad we did. Before our meal came one of the chefs brought out a large pork pie for some local gents having a drink together at the bar, and they very kindly offered us a chunk which my husband readily accepted and said it was excellent (how kind was that). Then our meal came, I had roasted pork chop on apple cider mash, it was absolutely beautiful cooked to perfection and the accompanying veg were terrific my husband had the gammon which he also said was excellent. We were around for a few days and re-visited the old hall inn several times but not unfortunately for more food but we will definitely be going back. The staff were all very friendly too it was lovely.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Centralg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Restaurant was recommended by some friends so we booked a table for 4 in between Christmas and new year. On arrival the pub has a nice feel to it with an open fire in the bar area. We were then led to our table in the extension...it was freezing cold with no form of heating that we could see. The starters were very nice and the service was good but the main course(duo of lamb and beef) was very fatty but did come with a mixed selection of veg which was ok but the roasties were a big dodgy(deep fried?). By this time we were absolutely frozen so I asked if we could have a fan heater or something but the waitress said they did not have one and said we could move to the other side of the room but we declined because it was the same room.. cold. Dessert came and the sticky toffee pudding was rock hard due to being microwaved to death ..we complained and this was taken from our billl...all in all could do better as this is not a cheap place to eat.. total bill with drinks(6 beers 5 large wines) £147...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shedstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Second time we have stayed in The Old Hall Inn at Threshfield, just a few minutes walk from Grassington & Wharfedale.
The Old Hall has friendly locals & staff, comfortable rooms, a good selection of real ales & exellent food with typical Yorkshire sized poritons, all this from a Lancastrian must be one of the ems of the Dales.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear are quieter but to be honest there is very little trafiic in the evening anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We arrived for a meal on a very wet and windy Saturday, we had walked from Grassington and we were soaked! The blazing open fire was a very pleasing sight! We decided to eat next to the fire and dry out, the food was lovely, after a couple more beers, we were just about to set off walking back to Wharfedale caravan club site when the very kind young man behind the bar offered us a lift! Which far exceeded any customer service we've experienced before. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoylek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Threshfield
0.9 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
129 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
7.2 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Old Hall Inn
The Old Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Grassington
27 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ashfield House
Ashfield House
#6 of 20 in Grassington
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Hall Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Hall Inn & Cottages

Property: Old Hall Inn & Cottages
Address: B6265, Threshfield, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Threshfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Threshfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Beautiful Country Pub in the Heart of the Yorkshire Dales. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing