We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant evening”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Threshfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Hall Inn & Cottages
Ranked #4 of 5 Threshfield B&B and Inns
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at Ling House B and B this week and walked over the Old Hall inn for our evening meal. With it being Monday evening we anticipated it being very quiet but we had a very pleasant surprise. Not only did we have a lovely meal but the pub was warm and lively with quite a few people eating and popping in for drinks. The fish and chips were superb as was the steak. The food was served promptly and was very hot and there was sooo much of it. The beer and wine was very good too......hence we had a bit too much but as we only had to stagger back to the b and b it didn't matter. Hope that we get chance to pop in again. If you find yourself driving in the area don't drive by but pop in for a meal and drink.....should not be missed. Cant imagine anyone having a bad experience in such a friendly place :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    48
    21
    16
    6
See reviews for
28
107
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Popped into The Old Hall in for lunch, they serve food all day which is a bonus as most places in this area stop serving at 2. Just ate a burger and a prawn sandwich which were both good. Bar served excellent beers from Theakstons (including OP) and Timothy Taylor's. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakespete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a short break here.
We arrived on Friday evening and left after breakfast on Sunday.
Pretty location.
Great staff, comfortable room, excellent food and wine.
Will be staying again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Food uncooked. Staff rude and unhelpful. Felt like it was a locals pub and all in our party where not welcome. The meat that wa
s served was uncooked and the staff where not bothered. Food was overpriced, we will never return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ozzwald123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

only live down twe road in Burnsall and not been for ages, we went early doors on a Sunday and I have gor to say the food is excellent we had fish and chips even better than the Magpie in Whitby fish beautiful not greasy lovely and fresh just very high standard and not usually a dish I would bother to rave over but on this occasion felt it deserved a review thats how impressed I was !!!!, will be returning

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkshirelass017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I (and our dog) stayed here in a very comfortable room for one night and enjoyed excellent food for both dinner and breakfast.

For dinner the starter of tempura battered monkfish was to die for - the chilli jam was superb. This was followed by mains of suckling pig (a massive portion - but no need for a doggy bag as our dog joined us in the bar for the evening) and snake and pigmy pie (with chips that were good - not frozen). The beer was good, and the wine reasonably priced for good quality.

Great B&B accommodation for the price - smallish room, but well decorated/equipped, and the bed was extremely comfortable. A dog friendly establishment with very friendly staff, and to be strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillF2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here. Have to point out how friendly and helpful the staff are here. They definitely need recognising for this. Cosy place with a great atmosphere. Have to agree with the other reviewers tho. You need to sort your chips out. Frozen is not good enough these days. It lets down your fantastic food you are producing

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Covar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Threshfield
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
763 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ashfield House
Ashfield House
#6 of 21 in Grassington
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Hall Inn
The Old Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Grassington
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Hall Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Hall Inn & Cottages

Property: Old Hall Inn & Cottages
Address: B6265, Threshfield, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Threshfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Threshfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Beautiful Country Pub in the Heart of the Yorkshire Dales. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing