We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was ok”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Threshfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Hall Inn & Cottages
Ranked #4 of 5 Threshfield B&B and Inns
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stopped here for dinner on a busy Sunday, it was ok but very over priced for what you got. I had a frozen lasagne that had been microwaved with cheese melted on top to make it look fresh, my husband had chicken which was ok. Not sure I would go back if ever in the area again. Found the staff a little rude.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    48
    21
    16
    6
See reviews for
28
107
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great location although sat nav struggled to find.
Fantastic bar with local ales and excellent meals with generous portions.
Attractive child friendly beer garden.
Some rooms just ok but try for one that's been refurbished.
Great local walks and scenery.
Recommended for a short break.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I have not stayed in many pubs or Inns in recent times so I was a little apprehensive given my wife and I were taking friends. Well no need to have worried. The Old Hall Inn is a delightful property set just back off the road in the pretty village of Threshfield. The Inn was dressed with lots of pretty hanging baskets which really set off it's stone walls. The staff were really nice and offered a warm welcome. My wife and I stayed in a ground floor cottage room which had a double and a single without making it look like a dormitory. The room was nice although the en suite was small and had an electric shower which I am not a fan of. The Inn is ideally located for walking with two walks available right outside. We took a circular walk past Linton Falls which was beautiful. It was a beautiful hot day so on our return we made use of the beer garden and sampled the real ale. We had dinner in the restaurant which again was lovely. The food was gastro pub but very good gastro pub and the wines were very reasonable and quite a good selection. Breakfast again was nice with a good selection of the usual English breakfast to smoked haddock and poached eggs, scrambled egg and smoked salmon etc. when scoring the Old Hall Inn, I am remembering that I am scoring an Inn and not a 5 star hotel. So on this basis full marks and a really pleasant stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ianoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were very good clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent,
Can recommend!
The area is delightful if you like the countryside, there are lots of special villages close by all worth a look at.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband & I have just returned from a four day break in our touring caravan. We stayed on the wharfdale caravab club site. On route to the site we passed the old hall inn & I was immediately attracted to it by the wonderful floral displays outside the inn. My husband found a footpath over the fields from the site to the inn. It was a lovely 20 minute stroll stroll which which we made 3 times during our stay. The inn is charming friendly & clean. We sat in the pretty secluded beer garden each time as the weather was beautiful all weekend. The food & service was fantastic. There is plenty of choice on the menu & all locally sourced produce is used. There is accommodation available which was advertised & looked lovely. If you are in this area do call in you won't be disappointed. Can't wait for our our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have stopped here a few times for dinner but decided to stay for a couple of nights whilst doing the 3 Peaks Challenge (rather than the nearby Premier Inn which was actually more expenisve). The room was fine with a comfy bed, the food was of consistenly high quality and the staff were friendly and attentive. We will definitely stay here again and clealry would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed at the Old Hall Inn cottage this weekend with some friends whilst completing the coast to coast cycle ride and so pleased we did. The food, both in the evening and at breakfast was excellent, as was the beer in the bar. Also the cottage has been refurbished to a high standard and has incredibly comfy beds!

Have no hesitation in recommending the Old Hall Inn as the perfect place to stay after a day in the dales.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Threshfield
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Old Hall Inn
The Old Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Grassington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Hall Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Hall Inn & Cottages

Property: Old Hall Inn & Cottages
Address: B6265, Threshfield, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Threshfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Threshfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Beautiful Country Pub in the Heart of the Yorkshire Dales. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing