We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly excellent - some faults”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Threshfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Hall Inn & Cottages
Ranked #4 of 5 Threshfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mostly excellent - some faults”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Great pub, obviously very popular as when we arrived at about 6.0pm on Saturday night it was buzzing!
The food was excellent - good value with a wide choice; presented with style and served by friendly staff who were helpful and professional. The Whafedale breakfast is excellent and again, the level of service matched the quality of the food. Nothing was too much trouble.
The position of the Inn is good and the 'ambience' of the whole place gives a great feeling of welcome.

Now the bad bits - unfortunately there were a few.
1) There was a ghastly, unhealthy looking slop bin, with evil-looking contents, fag ends, an upturned 5 litre container and brim-full with rain water, right by the gate from the car park to the garden; the main access for guests after parking. It may not be there all the time, but it looked rather established and really shouldn't be on display at any time, let alone in such a prominent position.
2) The lavatory in our room (room 2) just didn't fill the cistern and therefore wouldn't flush without using the shower head (which luckily reaches) to fill the water tank prior to flushing. The water flow is just a mere dribble and that, frankly cannot be something that has just happened. We never saw the manager again and so couldn't report it, but intend to email them about it.
3) The water is scolding hot; there's a warning sign to that effect over the wash basin. Now that's not a problem except that the plug by the side of the basin (unattached) doesn't fit the plug-hole, so a warm wash is totally impossible as there is no way of mixing cold water to moderate the nuclear hot stuff to a useable temperature.
Small details perhaps, but it shows a lack of care and attention that you would expect for the price.

Overall, the stay was a mix of two contrasts. Food, staff and service all excellent. Accomodation rather poor for the price of £90 - even taking the excellent breakfast into account.

Room Tip: Ask them if the room services all work and check before you unpack. Book a table for dinner ahead of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoverfly90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    50
    23
    16
    7
See reviews for
30
111
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arnside, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Atmospheric pub/hotel doing tender off-the-bone roast beef. Main room has a huge cast iron range that must be very comforting in winter. Prompt welcoming friendly service, real ale (quaffable Timothy Tailor's). Passion fruit mousse done by a chef who looks the thorough professional.
Definitely worth a day trip across the Pennines for. Well done all who work there - we'll be back !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiodeJaneiroWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Nice to have the village pub back up at the top with excellent food and quaint presentation with miniature pots, pans and baskets. Brilliant value and plenty of it. Very impressed

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights recently. Really good welcome from all staff and nothing too much of a problem. Room we had was in the cottage and I do have to say that it was small (with twin beds) at best. We had chosen this room as a standard double bed is too small as we are used to a super king. Beds were extremely comfortable but little room to move about. En suite good for purpose. Only 'blip' was that the room was not serviced on our last day, but all requirements ( towels etc.) supplied without delay, but towels were very worn through. Food, drink, breakfasts & staff for us were all superb which more than made up for the 'blip'. Rooms at £90 pn did seem a little too much, but with the offer of a free night (bringing it down to under £70 pn) made it good value for money. Great location for touring & walks. Thank you Andy & Caroline and all your staff for a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 424stevem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

After reading reviews about the Old Hall I was quite wary of visiting, especially as I am too Vegetarian but after a very very long up and down dale walk making us very hungy hungry indeed we ended up here. We were made to feel very welcome upon entering the pub we were greeted very warmly by a chap on the bar we later found out to be called Sam. Nothing seemed too much trouble and if like me you are a vegetarian who eats fish the choice was fabulous I opted for the Halibut steak with brown shrimps with chips of course which are done in oil rather than dripping and my partner had the Southern Fried Chicken Burger. Thankfully the dog came along too as he needed to help us out we were so full afterwards. A lovely lady on the table next to us had the giant prawn chow mein with crispy noodles and prawn crackers it looked divine we will definately be back. There were a choice of 3 starters I could of had on the menu. 2 choices on the specials board and no less than 6 items on the main menu were also suitable for vegetarians. We will be back to visit soon with Barney many thanks for your great food and hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loobylou82_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This was our first visit to the dales and we had a lovely stay! The staff were all very welcoming, friendly and helpful and the food was magnificent, from the hearty full english breakfast to the excellent evening meals! The rooms were comfortable without being luxurious but were clean and spacious! A nice location with some fantastic walks and views! Would happily recommend to anyone who wanted to explore this beautiful part of the country!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terryi43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I and 2 friends visited the Old Hall recently. Two ordered steak one with salad and one with veg, one ordered chicken and I ordered the warm salad with wild mushrooms and goats cheese. The salad didn't arrive with the steak so had to be brought later and was then charged extra for (but on mentioning this they did refund the cost of the salad) the vegetarian option was awful, the salad/mushrooms were very gritty and I could barely see any goats cheese, it was very disappointing and at a cost of £11.50 I was not happy. I never complain but I was so disappointed that when the waitress asked if everything had been ok at the end of the meal I told her I wasn't happy and why, she was very apologetic and said she would tell the chef, she came back and said the chef said he was 'very sorry'. I didn't eat all the meal so I went home and made a sandwich. We've been several times to the Old Hall and meals vary from very good to very disappointing but I think they really need to look at their vegetarian options and offer a good balanced meal not a token effort.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Threshfield
0.9 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
117 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old Hall Inn
The Old Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Grassington
26 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ashfield House
Ashfield House
#6 of 20 in Grassington
270 reviews
6.3 mi away
Devonshire Arms
Devonshire Arms
#1 of 1 in Cracoe
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Hall Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Hall Inn & Cottages

Property: Old Hall Inn & Cottages
Address: B6265, Threshfield, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Threshfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Threshfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Beautiful Country Pub in the Heart of the Yorkshire Dales. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing