We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“And the view came free!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wharfe View

Wharfe View
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Burnsall
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
HULL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“And the view came free!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Recently stumbled across this little cafe on a trip to Burnsall. After studying the menu my husband opted for a ham sandwich, although I settled for a toasted teacake. To say he was very happy was an under statement and has already decided he will opt for the ham, egg and chips version on his next visit! We also ordered a pot of Yorkshire tea and were not disappointed.
It was so nice to be able to watch the world go by while enjoying what must be one of the best views in Yorkshire. There is no doubt that we will be returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHRISNKirkElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    24
    12
    7
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic tea room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wharfe View Tea Room is one of the best kept secrets in Wharfedale.

Run by two lovely ladies, Heather and Jennifer, it is a great English Tea Room.

Basic to look at but great food, the tea room is very popular with cyclists and check out how many GB Olympic medal winners frequent the place!

There is a brilliant cake trolley, good tea, great coffee and a limited but all the better for it menu.

In winter it can be very steamed up but that is all part of the fun.

It can be busy, but you rarely need to queue and the ladies, and their sons, run around and are very efficient and welcoming.

They are normally closed Thursdays and Fridays.

We love this place - the friendliness we found on our first visit was one of the reasons to decide to live in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Hebdenites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nostalgia!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Lovely location, good fresh sandwiches and filter coffee and a proper pot of tea! Still refer to 'High Tea' on menu, so nostalgic! A good range of food choice whatever time of day. A real, traditional Yorkshire cafe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pob-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
1 review
“Brilliant Staff, Great Food, And Very Popular. Practically Perfect In Every Way. Says It All Really!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've been coming to the Wharfe View Cafe for a fair few years, and have never been disappointed. You couldn't wish for more friendly people than Jenny (front of house) and Heather (chef extraordinaire) and their assistants. The food is brilliant, and the venue is very popular with motor-cyclists, cyclists, ramblers and those hardy types attempting the Dales Way (Ilkley to Bowness). So much so that sometimes you do have to wait to be served, especially at lunchtime. But that just tells you how good the place really is, and the wait is well worth it.

And you'll sometimes see an Olympic athlete, or two, if you keep your eyes open. Food hasn't done them any harm!!

My one disappointment is that it is closed on Thursday and Friday. So like Mary Poppins, only practically perfect.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilkleyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Great sunny position overlooking the river - average in every way really.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

A cafe is a cafe I guess, so don't expect restaurant standards. The staff were run off their feet and really couldn't keep up with the influx of customers. We regularly cycle here and see the same week in week out. An average cafe in a prime location. That sums it up really.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mi-MiMurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wharfe View also viewed

Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Wharfe View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing