We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay for the Dales Way”
Review of The Manor House

The Manor House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burnsall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Manor House
Ranked #3 of 4 Burnsall B&B and Inns
Rye
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great place to stay for the Dales Way”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This pub is right on the Dales Way and in a superb location. The room was very comfortable especially the bed which was just heavenly. The ensuite bathroom was spacious and clean. There were two armchairs in the room and a great view. There was bottled water with the tea/coffee tray. This tray included fresh coffee with a cafetiere, a good selection of teas and fresh biscuits. Staff throughout were attentive, cheerful, friendly and very helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiezx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I wanted a night away from everything and couldn't have chosen a better place than the Red Lion. We stayed in room 9 in the Red Lion and although the room was a little on the small side it was very quaint and individual. On arrival the staff were very welcoming showing us to our room with a smile. It was great being able to drop out bags freshen up and spending the afternoon by the river at the rear of the pub enjoying our drinks. We opted for our evening meal in the bar with a 7.30 reservation the food did not disappoint! The pork platter is a meaty must! Breakfast the next morning was as equally as tasty and of the same high standard. Overall the staff were fantastic, location amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were booked for only 1 night at the Inn, but after our first night we knew we would not be ready to leave that soon. We were in England for 15 days and The Red Lion inn was by far our favorite place. The rooms were roomy and very comfortable and the food was excellent. Service was superb. Each morning we could head right from the front door and walk in so many different directions for hours. We were even supplied maps from the staff. We would then return to the Inn for such wonderful meals. All of the staff was most accommodating and we were treated with such respect and kindness. We will be returning to England next year and have already decided we will be staying

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sincere3201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Great food, great beer,
Fantastic service
Great wedding
And what a view from our window
Very relaxing
Attention to detail that made it the best place to get married
Thank you very much
Even the receptionist smiled!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duckegg20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A very busy place and this might be the problem. We waited some 90 minutes between ordering our dinner and actually being served. We discovered the next day that others in our position had been given complimentary coffee but no such offer was made to us. A locally-based friend told us such delays are not unusual.

Room Tip: Make sure you book well in advance for this place - and be ready for dinner as early as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSRMair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Booked a one night stay via living social. Never been before but was pleasantly surprised. Amazing location stunning views. Allocated room was the smallest in the manor house however room decor was bright and modern with lovely en suite facilities and linen and toiletries. Food was excellent and staff were very helpful and friendly. Cannot fault the lion or the manor house. So much so that we have just booked again for two weeks time with all extended family. :)))

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzyneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Well where do i start???? Arrived at the hotel and just couldnt believe we were going to be staying here....... It was just beautiful!!!!! Reception staff were lovly. Rooms were small but had alot of character, loved the teddy bear on the bed and the molton brown in the bathroom. We ate in the restaurant on the 1st night and the food was out of this world i could not fault it!!!!!! We booked this wen we booked the hotel as we were advised too, bt i advise if you wish to eat in the bar you book that too as we struggled to get a table on the 2nd night!!!!! The hotel is surrounded in beautiful scenery just what we needed a peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmat198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
0.0 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House

Property: The Manor House
Address: By The Bridge at Burnsall, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Burnsall
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
The Manor House Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing