We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Red Lion Hotel(Burnsall)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Black Horse Hotel(Grassington)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveler rating
324
162
69
20
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
324
162
69
20
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teabolton abbeysister hotelservice chargethe riverlovely hotelspa facilitieswedding venuetasting menustunning viewscourse dinnerexclusive useamazing weddingtop floordevonshire fellwedding breakfastno lift
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
550 - 555 of 581 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We got married at this hotel earlier this year, and had an amazing day. We went for exclusive use of the hotel which is a good idea as it is quite small. The wedding planner, manager and all of the staff made all of our guests feel very welcome, and were very helpful with dealing with special menu requests for the wedding breakfast. The food was delicious, all of the bedrooms were lovely, and the ceremony/wedding breakfast room was beautifully decorated.
The situation of the hotel is fantastic, with lovely views over the hills. I would certainly recommend it as a wedding venue or as a place to stay for a break in the Dales.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hd21uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We held our wedding ceremony and reception at the Devonshire Fell in Burnsall on 16 May 09. It was the most amazing day which was due in part to the fantastic service and amazing food we received from the Devonshire Fell.

Stephane is a fantastic host and has exactly the right attitude to ensure that everything is done appropriately and without fuss. His team is small but did an amazing job in serving our 80 guests in quite a cramped Dalzell Room.

The food was fantastic, 20 of us ate in the hotel the evening before the wedding and were delighted with the food we were served in the gorgeous conservatory which is a great place for a group dinner. We watched a fantastic thunderstorm over the village from our comfy seats at the table. We requested a bespoke dinner of beef wellington which was not a choice on the standard menu but was well worth the extra cost and we also had a friend liaise with the Celler Master at the Devonshire Arms to pair a different wine with each course of our wedding breakfast.

On the Sunday after the wedding we had another reception at the Fell with a Pimms reception and canapes which went down very well too. All topped off with yet another meal on Sunday night which, again, was thoroughly delicious.

The rooms in the hotel are great and I love the themes and colours, there are one or two areas that could do with a little bit of refurbishment and, having discussed it with Stephane, I think that he is also keen to make these changes.

We wanted a very personal wedding that reflected the things that we find important in a celebration - not too much fuss, great food, great wine and excellent company, and the Devonshire Fell definitely delivered on all of that.

Our photographs were taken by Olivia Brabbs who is based in Yorkshire and is fantastic - www.oliviabrabbs.co.uk and we had music from Emley Brass band and a Blues Brothers Tribute band and the staff at the hotel were all very accommodating to our entertainment, managing to fit in the 16 brass band members!!!

My sister was my florist and Stephane was happy to let her use the summer house in the garden to get everything ready.

It really was an amazing day and I am so pleased that we chose to hold our wedding there. Our friends have all commented how wonderful the wedding was and how lovely the food was. Many saying it was the best food they had ever had at a wedding.

Truly the best day of our lives.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

My daughters wedding on June 27th this year could not have been more perfect if we had tried !! The sun shone and the Devonshire Fell played the perfect host for our party of 90. Stephane the General Manager was that exact mix of quite confidence in his team who helped make our day so good and controlled but not too intrusive into the proceedings. The venue did itself proud, overlooking the river and Burnsall while drinking Pimms on an English Summers day felt us all feel as if we were starring in a Merchant Ivory Film. Friends have commented that it was the best wedding they have been to in a long time due to the Fell itself, the staff, Stephane, the service, the food - which was excellent and the 'Englishness' of the occasion. As we had 'exclusive' use of the Fell - this includes the bedrooms - great value for money in these troubled economic times, the whole day felt like a big house party, like i said - Perfect in every way.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DennisNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

food was well cooked and presented but dinner had very small portions and no extras, nothing like olives or nibbles, felt that it had been stretched too far. £32 poor value for a hotel.
breakfast had no continental buffet, no rolls or yoghurt etc, packets of cereals and juice, and cooked breakfast was the only choice.. We asked why and were told that when they are busy they have no time to put on choice of buffet.
No positive response from management about this or lack of evening water for shower ( not their fault) , nothing to make you feel better,

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pamleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

A bit disappointed with this hotel. Holes in curtains and some things looking a bit tired.The bar and bistro were very good for eveing meal but breakfast not very good at all.I emailed the hotel to point out how we felt about our stay but had no response.Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penny29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews