We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell Hotel Bistro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
ilkley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fell Hotel Bistro”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

It is well worth while making the extra trip up Wharfedale past The Fell's parent establishment at Bolton Bridge (The Devonshire Arms Bistro). As well as the drive past Bolton Abbey, The Strid and Barden Tower, the Fell's location above Burnsall is lovely. Lunch, if you can, in the Conservatory which must be the most attractive dining space in the valley, high up above the river, with views over towards Appletreewick. The menu is small and deceptively simple, even 'Fish and Chips'- but has the quality you would expect from an offshoot of the Devonshire. Very good wines and the Bread Pudding delicious. Courteous and friendly service too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    147
    63
    16
    4
See reviews for
86
324
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Perched high above a river, with a view across the dales to the rolling green hills beyond, is the beautiful Devonshire Fell Hotel. A stately old building, with plenty of charm, it is in a quiet village (that also has a great pub) in the dales. Although we arrived late, the night porter poured us some local beers and entertained us with stories of his adventures in the region. We immediately felt welcomed, as if we were in a friend's home, and our room was amazing. On the top floor (room 11) it offered uninterrupted views, a massive bed, two huge rooms and all tastefully decorated. We had the best sleep in ages, as it was country quiet, a reprieve from London, and were awoken to swallows at the window. Breakfast was delicious and locally sourced, in a room with huge windows to drink in the view and colourful gardens. We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Rooms at teh front have the views, our stay in Room 11 was on the top floor and was palacial!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We have just enjoyed an overnight stay at a bargain price of £99 for dinner, bed and breakfast. Upon arrival we were met by the extremely friendly staff and given the key to our bedroom. We had room 10 The Malham, which has to have the best view ever. Everything was spotlessly clean with big white fluffy towels in the shower room. Tea & coffee making facilities and complimentary water. The bed was so comfortable. Our evening meal was superb as was the service. Breakfast excellent with a good choice. We especially enjoyed the fresh fruit salad. Looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_benson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Fantastic location, Relaxed atmosphere, Kind caring and considerate Staff, excellent rooms and lovely food, a place full of character and memories to last..we married here on the 28th of may and would do it again tommorrow, such an enjoyable, memorable stay thanks to Cara the Wedding organiser and the rest of the staff there.

Room Tip: no 5, best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for a friends wedding and it was the perfect venue. As the wedding party had taken over the whole hotel it felt very exclusive and special. The view is amazing and was the back drop for the ceremony, which took place in front of the huge picture windows. We had great service and a lovely room with two bathrooms, a huge comfortable bed and a sofa bed so the family all fitted in easily! It is decorated in an eclectic fashion - lots of art and bright colours. We had eaten here on a previous occasion and were not disappointed by the catering at the wedding meal - they can obviously keep up the standard when catering for large numbers at a time! All in all a fantastic stay - brilliant wedding, great service, wonderful surroundings and even glorious weather!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drighlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

What can I say about the unique little hotel and its staff? Wow! Stephane and his team made our wedding the perfect day. The staff couldn't do enough to help to ensure we had what we and our guests needed. The food and service was fabulous - individual beef wellingtons to die for washed down with an excellent bottle of St. Emilion. We will be booking for our first anniversary at the hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jlucas090866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The view from the front of the hotel is something else. Absolutely brilliant couldn't be better.

Stayed over for a friends wedding, meal on Friday was poor value to say the least. Raw burger with about 6 chips and a couple of onion rings.

Breakfast was too 'arty' - full English 'Nouvelle cuisine style' almost - looked pretty, but didn't work.

Wedding meal was truly wonderful though and was part of an amazing day. It's perfect for a reception and evening do.

Wouldn't go and stay again outside a wedding - it's just not a high enough standard for the price

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
5.4 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
787 reviews
20.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
575 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
9.2 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Fell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Fell Hotel

Property: The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Address: Burnsall Village | Skipton, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Fell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the pretty village of Burnsall, The Devonshire Fell Hotel lies in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, nestled among rolling hills, country lanes and dry stone walls. The property has free WiFi and there is free parking. There are 16 bedrooms at the Devonshire Fell, each boasting their own individual character, with many affording breathtaking views of Yorkshire countryside. The reception area and bar is vibrant and cosy, with colourful armchairs where guests can unwind with a drink. Guests can relax in the 1 AA Rosette restaurant and soak up the striking views as they dine on mouth-watering dishes made using locally sourced produce. The local area is a paradise for walkers and their dogs, which are equally welcomed and stay for free. Many ancient castles, country houses and UNESCO World Heritage Sites are within a 30-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Devonshire Fell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Fell Hotel
The Devonshire Fell Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing