We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding. A Day to Remember.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wedding. A Day to Remember.”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have visited The Devonshire Fell about 5 times and apart from the magnificent views it feels like home. With the stylish and comfortable rooms, the bistro and relaxed conservatory overlooking the fabulous Wharfedale.
I have found the staff to be hardworking and approachable, not stuffy or "gastro".
In particular the welcoming attitude towards guests with dogs and all the above factors lead to it being my choice of wedding venue.
As with any bride there are particular wants or fancies and these were all catered for and supported. I look forward to my next visit, and some of the dinner, B and B offers are excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    151
    64
    16
    4
See reviews for
87
332
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were sneaking a brief night away from the kids. It was just what we needed. Great room over looking the river. The food was fantastic, with a lovely bottle of Malbec (or 2) to help wash away the cheeseboard (you just have to try the special biscuits - yum). We were that impressed we decided it had to be our wedding venue.

We had a small wedding of just close family and hired it exclusively. The night before we had the conservatory at the front for our evening meal. Set up perfectly with our needs in mind. Kids table separate to the adults as requested. Great for us unwinding especially for those that had travelled a long way.

The day ran like clock work. The food and drink were spot on and the kids had the run of the place on the day. Perfect.
Anything we asked for - it wasn't a problem.

Definitely going back to stay but would also recommend for just a meal too. Spot on.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cezza_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Since our last stay 18 months ago this hotel has gone down in our estimation. Breakfast was one (if not the worst) we have ever had while in a hotel and our dinner was not of good quality. The key word here is QUALITY - not good at all. To me it seemed that the cheapest of ingredients were being used and the food not cooked properly. The hotel seems to be running itself down. I feel sorry for the hotel really, there is something not quite right. We will not stay again which is a shame. Perhaps the problem here is that they are trying to do a break too cheaply? I would rather pay a little more and have good quality. We have found somewhere far superior closer to home which we are thrilled to bits with.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 747MrsH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed on 1st April. Lovely setting in rolling, though snow covered, fells within easy reach of some great walking an shopping in skipton.
Fantastic food and really nice service...a highly recommended venue

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nige2760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

So much about this lovely Hotel is very well done. A great location, stunning views, log fires, big rooms and usually helpful staff.
However the breakfast is very poorly thought out. There is a very short menu, with very little choice. There are absolutely no other options other than those listed. No cereal, no yogurt, no fruit, no bread, I needn’t go on.
We politely requested a small piece of any fruit for a young child we were advised no fruit was available at breakfast.
Whilst the evening meals were on the small side (with no vegetables) this is annoying but to be expected with this type of gastro Hotel. However staying for two days without the option of a decent vegetable or piece of fruit to eat was undesirably unhealthy.
The "Full English Breakfast" was bordering on a trade descriptions issue, this however is not nearly as disappointing as the vegetarian breakfast option which arrived on a large round plate..... Half a mushroom, half a cooked tomato and an egg, nothing else at all on the plate! None of our party could believe this absurd excuse for a meal. Requests for additional items were denied, with more than a little annoyance from the member of staff.

We really enjoyed our stay but going out to have to buy your own fruit, vegetables and breakfast is really not acceptable for a hotel of this standard.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the front of the hotel, they over look the river, bridge and the rest of the valley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GP745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We have been three times now, and each time we wonder why we don't go more often. It's pitched at just the right level - nicely informal, but everything is really good quality, and properly done. The staff have been excellent each time, the rooms comfortable and the surrounding countryside is beautiful. Really good food too. Looking forward to our next visit!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank CCP1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We returned as promised & brought our friends along! The 4 of us had an excellent 3 night stay at a very good offer rate. Although the weather was somewhat 'challenging', we nevertheless ventured forth after an excellent breakfast with a friendly & attentive waitress.
Our problem was that our bedrooms were so comfortable & warm we really didn,t want to venture out...very tempted to stay in bed!!!
Food was fabulous as usual....eggs benedict was always perfect. Good service...what more can I say?.......only that we will return...again!

Room Tip: As there is no lift...then rooms on the 1st floor are favourable to those on the 2nd. Rather have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lytton_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
5.4 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
20.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
397 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
18.5 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
525 reviews
21.5 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Fell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Fell Hotel

Property: The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Address: Burnsall Village | Skipton, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Fell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the pretty village of Burnsall, The Devonshire Fell Hotel lies in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, nestled among rolling hills, country lanes and dry stone walls. The property has free WiFi and there is free parking. There are 16 bedrooms at the Devonshire Fell, each boasting their own individual character, with many affording breathtaking views of Yorkshire countryside. The reception area and bar is vibrant and cosy, with colourful armchairs where guests can unwind with a drink. Guests can relax in the 1 AA Rosette restaurant and soak up the striking views as they dine on mouth-watering dishes made using locally sourced produce. The local area is a paradise for walkers and their dogs, which are equally welcomed and stay for free. Many ancient castles, country houses and UNESCO World Heritage Sites are within a 30-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Devonshire Fell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Fell Hotel
The Devonshire Fell Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing