We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location and views”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and views”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend to celebrate our son's wedding at the hotel. Although we were only holding the ceremony and a toast after the wedding and not the reception itself at the hotel, (our son and his fiancee hired the village hall for the whole weekend for the reception) the staff could not have been more friendly, welcoming or helpful. They even advised us as to the correct way to fix the men's buttonholes!
We stayed in one of the cottages belonging to the hotel which are located right on the river, with wonderful views of the bridge and the surrounding hills. The cottages have two bedrooms and upstairs sitting rooms to take advantage of the views. The toast after the wedding took place on a riverside terrace, reserved for our private use, which was a great start to the celebrations. The night before, we had hosted a dinner for relatives and friends in the hotel dining room - the food was delicious and the service impeccable. All in all, it was a memorable weekend and a fantastic wedding venue.

Room Tip: Choose a room or cottage with a river view, which is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. You are absolutely right we are in the most
wonderful part of the country, the views and location are fabulous ! how lucky are we !
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that your son and daughter in-law had a fab time, it was a pleasure to look after you all !
Hope to be able to welcome you all back in the not too distant future
kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    210
    98
    56
    48
See reviews for
111
483
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here as a well earned treat. We were not disappointed. Stopped in room 9 in the main part. Room on the small side but very comfortable. Had a lovely view of the river and village. We had a meal in the pub. The food and service couldn't be faulted. Some reviews have said that food on the pricey side. I didn't think this was the case as it is much better than your average pub food. A big thank you to the red lion and we will be back in the near future.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much, we always endeavour to please !
Hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future
kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Very warm welcome, obliging, knowledgeable, and friendly staff. BUT reception is difficult to locate some people may call it quaint but I call it downright tatty. I know we are in Yorkshire but it could do with painting and refurbishing. Breakfast was very toothsome and evening meal very acceptable and service spot on. BUT the dining room is drab and in need of updating and decorating. I have absolutely no objection to old furniture but the room is so dull. We were given a room located on the ground floor at the side of the hotel. It was of ample size, clean and quiet with a functional bathroom and ample seating. BUT the bed was very uncomfortable, the shower try had horrible mould around the base and the sink was cracked. BUT the dominant colour scheme was beige and brown and more drab 1950s than modern. Of course old hotel rooms can be delightful this was just depressing. Situation is splendid. If I say four stars that is very generous and reflects the very pleasant staff. We had a midweek package price. If I had been paying full price I would have no hesitation in rating it three star and saying it was overpriced for quality.

Room Tip: Ask to look at room before you book. May be rooms in main hotel better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidMcNBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us, sorry you had difficulty in locating the reception, we are not like a big hotel with a large reception desk, the reception is also a working office and is on the main corridor when you enter through the front door. Really pleased you had a great welcome and liked our staff, service and food. However with regards to your comments on our decor, we have just decorated the restaurant and am unsure why you would think it bland,it has a beautiful oak floor, roma fabric blinds in red and cream, the walls are matt gold red and cream, pictures can be seen on our website for anybody reading this to make their own decision. I think you had room 3 which again can be seen on our website, it is a beautiful large wooden floored room with a walk in shower and bath at the other end, we have taken your comments on board about the marking on the sealant and it will be replaced. the decor we will have to differ on!
Kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Booked Sunday lunch for 2. Fantastic. Great service, brilliant location and one of the best Sunday lunches I've ever had. Would definitely recommend; sizeable portions and all freshly cooked a real jem.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us, so pleased you had a great meal, we hope to see you again soon!
Sarah, Vicky, Eleanor and Katy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

First stopover on the dalesway .Arrived wet and found out we had been upgraded to a cottage due to a cancellation.
Couldnt fault it 2 large bedrooms with comfortable beds and pillows. with lovely full bath and large living room.
Had a lovely meal and full english breakfast in the pub next door.
Packed lunches can be provided.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us, so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we do have alot of dales way walkers as we are right on the route, hope to see you again.
Regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Walking the Dales Way and after reading some reviews I was almost put off from staying here......how pleased I wasn't.

Really nice place with very friendly staff, good food and great selection of local beers.
I had room 7 which overlooked the green and the river. Nice clean room with lovely outlook.
Would recommend the hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Many thanks for your review, we always try to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible and ask on checkout if everything has been ok, unfortunately some of our guests insist on saying nothing and then complaining through tripadvisor, Just goes to show don't always believe everything you read!
Hope to see you in the ffuture
Kind regards
Sarah, Victoria, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed here one night in March, voucher deal through living social, our stay was very enjoyable and we will definitely return, we stayed in the manor house, the room was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed, we went to the bar in the evening and sat in the residents lounge, this had a very nice log burning fire, it had lovely old furniture very comfortable and relaxing. We ordered some food and sat in the front room area, at first we thought the food was a bit pricey but when it arrived it was value for money, the service was very good and the food was outstanding, breakfast could not be faulted, plenty of everything, Highly recommended, well done Red Lion, we will be back....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tosh0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Many thanks for the time you took to review us, so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we do try to make all our guests stays as enjoyable as possible.
Hope to see you soon
regards
Sarah, Victoria, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
17.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
397 reviews
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
202 reviews
7.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: Main Street | By the Bridge, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing