We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Lion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Devonshire Fell Hotel(Burnsall)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Raikes Acre(Burnsall)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Black Horse Hotel(Grassington)
$134
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tennant Arms Hotel(Kilnsey)(Great Value!)
$89
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Skipton(Skipton)(Great Value!)
$52
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$114
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (862)
Filter reviews
862 results
Traveler rating
416
233
105
57
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
416
233
105
57
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanor housered lionthe pubthe riverresidents loungemolton brown toiletriesthe cottagesthe main hotelteddy bearevening mealbar areacar parkkippersblack puddingexcellent foodvillage greenspecials board
Filter
Updating list...
542 - 547 of 862 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had booked in at the hotel for a one night stay for a special occasion. the staff were really helpful at the time of the booking, clarifying details about the rooms. Upon our arrival we were allocated room 17 in the main house which was lovely. Being on the top floor there was very little noise and although it was located at the back we had a partial view over the rear garden terrace and river. The room was above the kitchen so on the morning we had a lovely smell of cooked bacon rising up. Despite the rain when we arrived and again in the morning, the setting is very idyllic by the river. Mobile phone signal inside is very poor so you need to stand in the middle of the bridge to get a signal-for T-Mobile at least!. We enjoyed a pint (or 2!) of real ale to unwind and found the separate guests lounge most relaxing. Free Wi-Fi was also available.
In the room, there was a selection of complimentary teas and coffees. If you want fresh milk, this is available from the bar - better than the sachets! The bed was very comfortable and with complimentary 'Molten and Brown' toiletries and plenty of hot water, it made for a luxurious soak in the bath before going down for dinner in the restaurant.
The menu choice in the restaurant was good and a nice selection of wines were on offer. We couldn't fault the food and the service was also good. This continued in the morning when we had a very hearty English breakfast. There was a large selection of juices, cereals and fruit on offer as well as a choice of full English or any combination of cooked foods.
When checking out we also received a discount voucher for future stays. It was a most enjoyable couple of days, thank you to everyone at the Red Lion for making it so.

Room Tip: there are 4 rooms on the second floor, if you want it quieter, ask for one of these. if you want a view of the river, ask for a room at the front. there is an annexe building which is a short walk from the main pub, we understood this is mainly used by walkers so if you are wanting a romantic break, it would be better to stay in the main pub. there is one room if you are wanting to take a dog.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfgal41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we are very lucky to be able to share such a lovely part of Yorkshire with others. All your lovely comments have been passed on to all our staff !
Thank you for taking the time to review us
kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed a couple of weekends ago on a Sunday evening with Living Social deal for which we paid £40 for bed and breakfast for 2. The setting is beautiful,right alongside the river and looking over onto the green. Staff were really friendly and accommodating,and it felt like a really professional outfit. Our room was small with a tiny shower room,with Molton Brown toiletries and ground coffee and chocolate available. The room was in The Manor House,which is accessed via the garden of the pub which was overflowing with a proliferation of cottage garden flowers,really beautiful. There is ample riverside seating from which to enjoy the view over a drink and something to eat. Food was excellent,gastro pub type food,all with locally sourced ingredients. We ate in the bar,but there is a very pretty,shabby chic,more formal dining room and a lovely country house style residents lounge to relax in after dinner. Breakfast was really good too,and again,all local ingredients. All in all,a lovely place to stay for a bit of peace and quiet. We will be back.

Room Tip: You will be allocated a small room in the manor house if you book with a living social deal.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gladysleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Many thanks for such a lovely review, we always pass on customers comments to all staff involved, good or bad ! Its great to know we are doing a good job !
Hope to be able to look after you again in the not too distant future
kind regards
Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent just one night on 9th July a the Red Lion, stayed in the Manor House and ate a fantastic meal in e restaurant. For fans of real ale, I can recommend the Wainright. An excellent stay in an idyllic location, we can recommend it fully and we'll be back later in the year.

Room Tip: The Manor House worked for us....
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Many thanks for such positive feedback. Its great to be able to share Burnsall with others, its such a wonderful location !
Glad you enjoyed your meal and a real ale pint ! We change our beers on a regular basis to keep things interesting and also always have a range of locally produced beers.
Hope to be able to look after you some time soon
kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Yet another lousy review title from me, but the hotel is far from poor.

The room we were given (6, I think) was just above the front door and was delightful. Cosy, comfortable and well maintained, with a lovely big comfy bed and a beautiful wood-panelled bathroom. The view from our room was glorious too.

Our breakfast was plentiful and excellent quality, with local produce all detailed in the menu, which was a nice touch.

I must add that the staff we spoke to during our stay were a credit to the business, and made us feel very welcome indeed. I only wish we had stayed longer, but we will be back. Can we have sunshine next time, please?

Room Tip: Room 6 has a great view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red_V_Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback. Such lovely comments, so glad you enjoyed your stay, we always aim to please ! The views from the front facing bedrooms are spectacular !
Unfortunately being in Yorkshire we can never guarantee the weather, always travel with a rain mac when you visit Burnsall !
looking forward to welcoming you back to The Lion in the not too distant future
kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my boyfriend in July. We had a meal in the restaurant in the evening which was nice.,.. Good food and good service. I upgraded to a cottage but I was disappointed....although it was clean, it really needed updating. Lovely breakfast and lovely location just not much to do in the village.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KPNUTS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback. The reason we charge an upgrade charge into the cottage is to do with the size and cleaning of it, in comparison to a bedroom you get 2 bedrooms, bathroom, lounge and kitchen diner ! We are committed to always trying to upgrade and redecoracte all our rooms and take your feedback on board.
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner.
Re things to do, due to us being in the Yorkshire Dales National park nothing can be built or altered, our village and area are protected by the YDNP, so the options of things to do are based on outdoor activities such as walking, cycling etc.
Kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews