We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a perfect yorkshire getaway”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a perfect yorkshire getaway”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had booked in at the hotel for a one night stay for a special occasion. the staff were really helpful at the time of the booking, clarifying details about the rooms. Upon our arrival we were allocated room 17 in the main house which was lovely. Being on the top floor there was very little noise and although it was located at the back we had a partial view over the rear garden terrace and river. The room was above the kitchen so on the morning we had a lovely smell of cooked bacon rising up. Despite the rain when we arrived and again in the morning, the setting is very idyllic by the river. Mobile phone signal inside is very poor so you need to stand in the middle of the bridge to get a signal-for T-Mobile at least!. We enjoyed a pint (or 2!) of real ale to unwind and found the separate guests lounge most relaxing. Free Wi-Fi was also available.
In the room, there was a selection of complimentary teas and coffees. If you want fresh milk, this is available from the bar - better than the sachets! The bed was very comfortable and with complimentary 'Molten and Brown' toiletries and plenty of hot water, it made for a luxurious soak in the bath before going down for dinner in the restaurant.
The menu choice in the restaurant was good and a nice selection of wines were on offer. We couldn't fault the food and the service was also good. This continued in the morning when we had a very hearty English breakfast. There was a large selection of juices, cereals and fruit on offer as well as a choice of full English or any combination of cooked foods.
When checking out we also received a discount voucher for future stays. It was a most enjoyable couple of days, thank you to everyone at the Red Lion for making it so.

Room Tip: there are 4 rooms on the second floor, if you want it quieter, ask for one of these. if you want a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfgal41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we are very lucky to be able to share such a lovely part of Yorkshire with others. All your lovely comments have been passed on to all our staff !
Thank you for taking the time to review us
kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    209
    97
    56
    47
See reviews for
110
480
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
leeds,UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed a couple of weekends ago on a Sunday evening with Living Social deal for which we paid £40 for bed and breakfast for 2. The setting is beautiful,right alongside the river and looking over onto the green. Staff were really friendly and accommodating,and it felt like a really professional outfit. Our room was small with a tiny shower room,with Molton Brown toiletries and ground coffee and chocolate available. The room was in The Manor House,which is accessed via the garden of the pub which was overflowing with a proliferation of cottage garden flowers,really beautiful. There is ample riverside seating from which to enjoy the view over a drink and something to eat. Food was excellent,gastro pub type food,all with locally sourced ingredients. We ate in the bar,but there is a very pretty,shabby chic,more formal dining room and a lovely country house style residents lounge to relax in after dinner. Breakfast was really good too,and again,all local ingredients. All in all,a lovely place to stay for a bit of peace and quiet. We will be back.

Room Tip: You will be allocated a small room in the manor house if you book with a living social deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gladysleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Many thanks for such a lovely review, we always pass on customers comments to all staff involved, good or bad ! Its great to know we are doing a good job !
Hope to be able to look after you again in the not too distant future
kind regards
Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent just one night on 9th July a the Red Lion, stayed in the Manor House and ate a fantastic meal in e restaurant. For fans of real ale, I can recommend the Wainright. An excellent stay in an idyllic location, we can recommend it fully and we'll be back later in the year.

Room Tip: The Manor House worked for us....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Many thanks for such positive feedback. Its great to be able to share Burnsall with others, its such a wonderful location !
Glad you enjoyed your meal and a real ale pint ! We change our beers on a regular basis to keep things interesting and also always have a range of locally produced beers.
Hope to be able to look after you some time soon
kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Yet another lousy review title from me, but the hotel is far from poor.

The room we were given (6, I think) was just above the front door and was delightful. Cosy, comfortable and well maintained, with a lovely big comfy bed and a beautiful wood-panelled bathroom. The view from our room was glorious too.

Our breakfast was plentiful and excellent quality, with local produce all detailed in the menu, which was a nice touch.

I must add that the staff we spoke to during our stay were a credit to the business, and made us feel very welcome indeed. I only wish we had stayed longer, but we will be back. Can we have sunshine next time, please?

Room Tip: Room 6 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_V_Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback. Such lovely comments, so glad you enjoyed your stay, we always aim to please ! The views from the front facing bedrooms are spectacular !
Unfortunately being in Yorkshire we can never guarantee the weather, always travel with a rain mac when you visit Burnsall !
looking forward to welcoming you back to The Lion in the not too distant future
kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my boyfriend in July. We had a meal in the restaurant in the evening which was nice.,.. Good food and good service. I upgraded to a cottage but I was disappointed....although it was clean, it really needed updating. Lovely breakfast and lovely location just not much to do in the village.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPNUTS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback. The reason we charge an upgrade charge into the cottage is to do with the size and cleaning of it, in comparison to a bedroom you get 2 bedrooms, bathroom, lounge and kitchen diner ! We are committed to always trying to upgrade and redecoracte all our rooms and take your feedback on board.
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner.
Re things to do, due to us being in the Yorkshire Dales National park nothing can be built or altered, our village and area are protected by the YDNP, so the options of things to do are based on outdoor activities such as walking, cycling etc.
Kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Took advantage of a Groupon offer and stayed one night. We were in the main hotel on the road side. No real road noise until morning. Room was a little cramped but OK. Staff were very good and made sure all was OK. The breakfast had the best marmalade I've ever had, but why French black pudding?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewmarketShergar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback. We have a wide range of bedroom sizes and do our best to allocate the biggest to our groupon customers but this is not always possible. The front facing rooms have fantastic views but there is sometimes noise from tractors / quad bikes / bread and veg delivery etc first thing in the morning. Unfortunatley there is little we can do about this ! If you wish to come back then you can always request a room on the back of the hotel away from the road.
Glad you enjoyed the marmalade, its delicious ! People do question why we use French black pudding, it is the only French item on our breakfast menu ( and its an extensive menu) but the reason we have it is because its the best ! we have been here 22 years and have tried black pudding from all over Yorkshire but nothing beats the French stuff !
Hope we can welcome you back to The Lion
kind regards
Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here a few times and it is a very special location.
Rebooked for a short break and paid in full but beware.... if you need to postpone your trip you are offered a carry forward booking 12 months, but you must book within six weeks or everything is lost. How many people can book their diary 10 months ahead?
Might try another hotel next time. Loyalty is a two-way street. Not feeling the love.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dubai_tyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you feel we have not been loyal to you. All hotels have cancellation policies and many take the full amount up front when it is a special deal. Most deals or offers which you pay up front are non refundable or transferable which entitles you to a greatly discounted deal. These types of deals across the hotel industry are normally non transferable and you would have lost your money. But we feel we have offered you great customer service by offering you to transfer your date to another time within a year convienient to yourselves. Our cancellation policy is stated on your confirmation letter and on the deal T&C's - not small print.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
20.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
392 reviews
7.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: Main Street | By the Bridge, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing