We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Lion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Devonshire Fell Hotel(Burnsall)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Black Horse Hotel(Grassington)
Free cancellation until 05/26
$135
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 05/26
Book now, pay at stay
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tennant Arms Hotel(Kilnsey)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 06/02
$90
$87
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Skipton(Skipton)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
$53
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $65/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 05/31
Book now, pay at stay
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 06/02
$104
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 05/30
Book now, pay at stay
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (862)
Filter reviews
862 results
Traveler rating
416
233
105
57
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
416
233
105
57
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanor housered lionthe pubthe riverresidents loungemolton brown toiletriesthe cottagesthe main hotelteddy bearevening mealbar areacar parkkippersblack puddingexcellent foodvillage greenspecials board
Filter
Updating list...
544 - 549 of 862 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent just one night on 9th July a the Red Lion, stayed in the Manor House and ate a fantastic meal in e restaurant. For fans of real ale, I can recommend the Wainright. An excellent stay in an idyllic location, we can recommend it fully and we'll be back later in the year.

Room Tip: The Manor House worked for us....
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Many thanks for such positive feedback. Its great to be able to share Burnsall with others, its such a wonderful location !
Glad you enjoyed your meal and a real ale pint ! We change our beers on a regular basis to keep things interesting and also always have a range of locally produced beers.
Hope to be able to look after you some time soon
kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Yet another lousy review title from me, but the hotel is far from poor.

The room we were given (6, I think) was just above the front door and was delightful. Cosy, comfortable and well maintained, with a lovely big comfy bed and a beautiful wood-panelled bathroom. The view from our room was glorious too.

Our breakfast was plentiful and excellent quality, with local produce all detailed in the menu, which was a nice touch.

I must add that the staff we spoke to during our stay were a credit to the business, and made us feel very welcome indeed. I only wish we had stayed longer, but we will be back. Can we have sunshine next time, please?

Room Tip: Room 6 has a great view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red_V_Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback. Such lovely comments, so glad you enjoyed your stay, we always aim to please ! The views from the front facing bedrooms are spectacular !
Unfortunately being in Yorkshire we can never guarantee the weather, always travel with a rain mac when you visit Burnsall !
looking forward to welcoming you back to The Lion in the not too distant future
kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my boyfriend in July. We had a meal in the restaurant in the evening which was nice.,.. Good food and good service. I upgraded to a cottage but I was disappointed....although it was clean, it really needed updating. Lovely breakfast and lovely location just not much to do in the village.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KPNUTS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback. The reason we charge an upgrade charge into the cottage is to do with the size and cleaning of it, in comparison to a bedroom you get 2 bedrooms, bathroom, lounge and kitchen diner ! We are committed to always trying to upgrade and redecoracte all our rooms and take your feedback on board.
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner.
Re things to do, due to us being in the Yorkshire Dales National park nothing can be built or altered, our village and area are protected by the YDNP, so the options of things to do are based on outdoor activities such as walking, cycling etc.
Kind regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Took advantage of a Groupon offer and stayed one night. We were in the main hotel on the road side. No real road noise until morning. Room was a little cramped but OK. Staff were very good and made sure all was OK. The breakfast had the best marmalade I've ever had, but why French black pudding?

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewmarketShergar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback. We have a wide range of bedroom sizes and do our best to allocate the biggest to our groupon customers but this is not always possible. The front facing rooms have fantastic views but there is sometimes noise from tractors / quad bikes / bread and veg delivery etc first thing in the morning. Unfortunatley there is little we can do about this ! If you wish to come back then you can always request a room on the back of the hotel away from the road.
Glad you enjoyed the marmalade, its delicious ! People do question why we use French black pudding, it is the only French item on our breakfast menu ( and its an extensive menu) but the reason we have it is because its the best ! we have been here 22 years and have tried black pudding from all over Yorkshire but nothing beats the French stuff !
Hope we can welcome you back to The Lion
kind regards
Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here a few times and it is a very special location.
Rebooked for a short break and paid in full but beware.... if you need to postpone your trip you are offered a carry forward booking 12 months, but you must book within six weeks or everything is lost. How many people can book their diary 10 months ahead?
Might try another hotel next time. Loyalty is a two-way street. Not feeling the love.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

We are sorry to hear that you feel we have not been loyal to you. All hotels have cancellation policies and many take the full amount up front when it is a special deal. Most deals or offers which you pay up front are non refundable or transferable which entitles you to a greatly discounted deal. These types of deals across the hotel industry are normally non transferable and you would have lost your money. But we feel we have offered you great customer service by offering you to transfer your date to another time within a year convienient to yourselves. Our cancellation policy is stated on your confirmation letter and on the deal T&C's - not small print.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews