We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable, but at a price.”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Red Lion is a very friendly family-run pub/hotel based in Burnsall in the middle of Wharfedale. We stayed three days at the hotel in part as a means of re-connecting with a favourite area which we had not visited for many years and on the whole had a very pleasant stay. We occupied a number of rooms at the front of the pub and which looked out onto the green that runs by the river. Although quiet at the time of the year we were there, given that there are tables outside, I would imagine a warm summer’s evening would attract a lot more noise. The pub has a long narrow room with a bar serving a number of well-kept ales and also appears to have a good whisky offer. Unusually and probably due to the bar’s narrowness, seating at the bar is confined to long benches that run on the opposite wall, which means anyone coming into it, or going into other parts of the hotel, has to run the gauntlet of patrons and family in various of merriment. People can eat either at tables further into the bar, where is widens off, or in a separate room that represents the hotel’s fine dining offer.

The bar menu is relatively extensive and compares well in price terms with other pubs in the area – a good example being the Craven Arms two miles down the road in Appletreewick, which has a very comprehensive and interesting menu. Specials available in the pub form part of the fine dining menu. These are fancier and considerably more expensive averaging from £15 up to £20 for a steak. Food however is well-cooked and tasty. The wine list seems to be heavily weighted towards French wine, with a cursory sniff in the direction of other European and New World producers. Bottle prices start around the £15 mark for fairly ordinary fare and move quickly north for better stuff. Pricing on the whole reflects more London than Yorkshire.

The pricing of both the hotel and the fine-dining appears to be the result of two influences – the village, which is extremely picturesque and therefore a natural magnet for visitors and walkers; and the Devonshire Fell Hotel, which sits about 300 metres on the hill outside the village. This forms part of the Duchess of Devonshire’s hotel operation (the Devonshire Arms is nearby) and although more formal than the Red Lion offers larger rooms at similar prices. The food there is also within a similar bracket.

On the whole, we liked the Red Lion a lot. The food (especially the large breakfasts), the overall friendliness of the hotel and the fact they were willing to lend maps and walking guides all sit heavily in its favour. The rooms we occupied were comfortable and due to size – they’re not enormous – tended to be dominated by the bed, which gave us all a good night’s sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertyBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 840 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

Pleased to accept a 70th birthday gift voucher from family for what we imagined would be a delightful stay in the Red Lion at Burnsall in the Yorkshire Dales we phoned and sight unseen booked for a second night. I think the 'Livingsocial' voucher was probably the key to our disappointment when presented with a room in the Old Manor House part of this establishment. It was ground floor, miniscule,dismal, gloomy and next to the main road. After asking for a different room we were given a brighter room on the first floor, still small, overlooking the back yard but with the Dales view further in the background. We had been back to reception twice and after viewing better room over the pub were told that if we wanted to move into one of them we would have to pay the upgrade of £40. We decided to stay in the 1st floor Manor House and cancelled what would have been our second night. Staff were not impressed that we were not happy with the Manor room!
We were off to a bad start, we ate elsewhere that evening. Our accommodation was poor to say the least. The on-suite shower room was less than 3 feet wide with a damaged wc bowl that had been repaired with silicone and a health hazard, the wash bowl was tiny and had no hot water. Asingle net curtain was over the window with no blind or privacy at night, the kettle would not fit into the bowl to fill for water to boil for refreshments!. The TV control would not operate the 12 to 14 inch TV which was set up on the wall and was like looking up at a monitor in the airport. There was one chair in the room and no bed side cabinet or shelf on my side of the bed. the wardrobe was an open 30" alcove. There was no bottled water but this could be provided at £5 per bottle! Breakfast was squeezes between 8-30 to 9-30, check out by 10-30. You are requested in the hotel literature to complain immediately and not two weeks later as you may get a 'freebie' at check out. I have never heard anything so absurd as who wants to complain, all customers want is decent accommodation and a fair deal. If your bill was over £500 there is a 3% surcharge if paying by credit card?
On the good side the extrernal areas are well laid out with ample parking with the river running by and a views to admire by all. We had to walk from the Manor House in the drizzle to the main pub/hotel for a very well served and good breakfast.
I pointed out the problems with the room to the receptionist at check out and did state that th poor quality of the room had spoiled our gifted break. these points were noted and that the faults would be looked at. Our main problem was then with the lady manager who was rude, argumentative and not very nice at all after a most disagreeable stay in what appears to be a 'you get what you pay for' livingsocial deal!
Sorry but we will not be recommending this accommodation to anyone and as stated upon leaving, NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Silverlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Sir,
we always take all complaints seriously. We knew you would be posting your review on trip advisor as you told several staff you were doing so.
The voucher you received was a living social voucher which entitled you to a one night stay at The Manor House and not the Red Lion, this is clearly stated on your voucher. We sent you out an email confirming your booking that it was in The Manor House and it was a small double with compact shower room.
The first room you were booked into was indeed a ground floor room as the Manor House bedrooms are split over 3 floors. You state 'main road', The village has a population of about 70 persons and located in the heart of the Yorkshire dales. The only noise you could possibly encouter is the milk tanker!
We offered you several options of different rooms but we were limited due to being so busy, we were quite right in saying there was an upgrade charge of £40.00 if you wished to move into The Lion.
We dont have a back yard at The Manor House, just a small carpark and beautiful gardens.
The size of the bathrooms are indeed small but again this was clearly stated when you booked. The bedrooms are again small but beautifully decorated, very clean and provide everything for a short break.
You misunderstood re the water, we dont charge £5.00 for a bottle ! What it says in our welcome pack is if you wish to take a Red Lion glass souvenir bottle home they are available from reception for £5.00.
You have also misunderstood the breakfast times which are told to guests on check in and also are stated in your welcome pack that we serve from, 8:15am to 9:45 am or earlier or later on request!
Most hotels, travel agents and businesses make a surcharge of 3% on credit cards. Why you think we would be any different or that you need to comment on this we are not sure ?
We provide umbrellas by all our exit doors for guests to use as we are not in control of the weather.
We found your continual abruptness and continual rude comments very difficult to deal with.
Yours sincerely Sarah Stockdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at the Red Lion last night and really enjoyed it. We had a Groupon voucher but that didn't make our stay feel any less than had we paid full price. The room was small but more than adequate. Extremely clean and comfortable and full size mugs! Toiletries were provided in the bathroom along with lovely fluffy towels. We ate in the bar in the evening and the food was excellent...maybe a little on the expensive side but really nice never the less. Maybe some background music wouldn't go amiss. Breakfast was excellent too and plentiful and service was 1st class. The sausages were fab and we went to Pately Bridge to the butchers who supply the Red Lion to buy some to take home! Very enjoyable stay and we will go back again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed at the Red Lion 21st February for just one night. To be honest expectations weren;t great as booked through Groupon offer and assumed we'd get pokey room at the back. Checked in around midday, although room wasn't ready went for a terrific walk along the river to Grassington and back. Booked a table for the evening meal as the hotel was full and both restaurant and bar only had a few tables remaining. We stayed in room7 with great views up the river and across the dales. The room was very comfortable, usual tea/coffee facilities really nice towels and bed linen (not sure about the cuddly bear though) Molton Browne products in the en-suite. Evening meal again better than expected, simple menu not much choice for fussy veggie wife but in this part of Yorkshire what did we expect? Really good night sleep aided by several pints of Thatchers Gold followed by an excellent, hearty breakfast in the morning. Really liked this hotel and would definitely stay again, all the staff were courteous and good at what they did. The hotel is in a fantastic location and has very little immediate competion for accommadation or food (there is a mega expensive off shoot of the Devonshire up the road but not what we were looking for on this occassion) but the Red Lion is more than just a pretty face.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrahamSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My hubby and i and 8 friends went here to celebrate my hubby's 50th birthday. Gorgeous place, rooms lovely and warm and taste fully decorated, food excellent. All in all had a fantastic time and will be going back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Beautiful olde worlde hotel, very good quality food and drink. Comfy bedrooms and beautiful surroundings. Have revisited which I dont usually do, preferring to try new places.lovely to sit by the river on an evening enjoying a drink or two.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ruthiejenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Red Lion for one night on Wednesday 13th February (2013).
This was our second stay at the Hotel. Maybe because of the weather, snow and ice, there were not many people there.
The bar was empty for most of the evening with only a few locals venturing out for a drink.
We had booked a table in the resteraunt, which is a very pleasant place to have a meal, although we thought the sirloin steak at £20.75, was a little `steep`,. a bottle of Pinot Grigio £17.95 and most sweets were priced at £6.50 each.
The room we had (room 6) was far better than the one we had on our previous visit (room 15)
it looked out over the front of the Hotel and had great views of the village and beyond.
The staff are friendly and can not do enough for you.
The walking is good and a walk to Grassington and back is well within most peoples capabilities. Re: My ref to the price of the steak, the Devonshire Arms in Grassington was offering a choice of steak for 2 and a bottle of wine for £25.
On the whole a nice Hotel in a great position.
Will we be visiting them in the future, Yes!

Room Tip: Has stated, room 6 was nice, rooms 7 and 8 have the same front facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveHLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
17.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
383 reviews
2.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
154 reviews
8.3 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: Main Street | By the Bridge, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range: $98 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing