We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Beautiful olde worlde hotel, very good quality food and drink. Comfy bedrooms and beautiful surroundings. Have revisited which I dont usually do, preferring to try new places.lovely to sit by the river on an evening enjoying a drink or two.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ruthiejenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 828 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Red Lion for one night on Wednesday 13th February (2013).
This was our second stay at the Hotel. Maybe because of the weather, snow and ice, there were not many people there.
The bar was empty for most of the evening with only a few locals venturing out for a drink.
We had booked a table in the resteraunt, which is a very pleasant place to have a meal, although we thought the sirloin steak at £20.75, was a little `steep`,. a bottle of Pinot Grigio £17.95 and most sweets were priced at £6.50 each.
The room we had (room 6) was far better than the one we had on our previous visit (room 15)
it looked out over the front of the Hotel and had great views of the village and beyond.
The staff are friendly and can not do enough for you.
The walking is good and a walk to Grassington and back is well within most peoples capabilities. Re: My ref to the price of the steak, the Devonshire Arms in Grassington was offering a choice of steak for 2 and a bottle of wine for £25.
On the whole a nice Hotel in a great position.
Will we be visiting them in the future, Yes!

Room Tip: Has stated, room 6 was nice, rooms 7 and 8 have the same front facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveHLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

my wife and I are just back from a quick break up at the Red Lion without our two children. Everything was first class. Good friendly staff, great ale and food and service like it should be.... attentive but relaxed.

We will certainly be back one day soon and we can't recommend this great 'home from home' enough.

We stayed in The Manor House wing... our room was clean, warm and cosy with lots of hot water and... a great big bed which was sooooo comfortable.
The breakfast was pretty good too!
Lovely walks to and from Burnsall, we did the river walk to Grassington twice. Bliss.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NICK G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were disappointed following our stay here after reading previous reviews. Waiting at the bar in order to check in was chaotic with waiters pushing past and initially not very friendly patrons (until they realised that we were staying). We had room 32 in the Manor House. The rooms are decorated nicely and there are added bonuses of Molton Brown toiletries and Taylor's of Harrogate teas and coffees etc. However, the room failed on two fundamental points. The bed was old and sagging in the middle, before we lay down. I couldn't sleep thought the night as the bed was so uncomfortable. The second point was the shower. Very weak and took ages to heat up - not great in the Dales in February!

On the plus point the breakfast was lovely and the views on the river bank in the morning were stunning.

If we had not paid full price and had stayed under a Groupon voucher deal it may not have been so disappointing, but at the price we paid the hotel fell short of the mark.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zooter79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We recently stayed in this lovely Hotel on a Voucher deal ,The room was lovely ,Food was excellent,both the evening meal & the breakfast ,We hope to return soon to this hidden gem.Wharfedale was covered in snow when we where there ,I would like to see it when the sun shines ,I am sure it will be as beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last night, 12th Feb. We had a Groupon voucher but it made no difference to the room we were allocated, service or fantastic way we were treated....excellent breakfast too! My husband & I will definitely be going back!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renidrag71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

booked with groupon great price were lucky to stay in room 1 open fire four poster bed and nice feel to room with all the trimmings breakfast the best all food very good very nice pub with great views of the dales would book again

Room Tip: room1if you want an open fire
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MESHALOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
13.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
140 reviews
8.3 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,040 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: Main Street | By the Bridge, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range: $93 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing