We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY WARM WELCOME”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stay at Grassington every new year and every new years eve day walk to the red lion .The walk is lovely and well worth it when you arrive at the red lion with its lovely warm atmosphere and welcoming staff. The food is lovely and nicely presented. We recommend you try this place
a lovely place to stop off at when out walking.

Room Tip: Havent stayed here but would not rule it out very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ana211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 824 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed here countless times, never ceases to delight and amaze. The location is idylic, the hotel is rustic but quaint. Rooms in the pub are very cosy, beds soft and inviting. Breakfast is mountainous and the restaurant for dinner arouses the palette.The surrounding area is awe inspiring, the countryside, the views and the people make this an ideal location for rest and relaxation.

Room Tip: Stay in the pub not in the annex hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have stayed here many times and will continue to go back. It is run by several generations of the same family who are all very friendly. The rooms are very comfortable including their Manor House up the road, and the food superb...both dinner and breakfast - with vegetarian options. The location and views are unbeatable. Lovely walks along the river or perfect base for exploring The Dales.

Room Tip: Personally I prefer the rooms in their Manor House...up the street from the main building or a short...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I have just stayed here for one night and what a lovely place it is. Very warm and comfortable and the staff are very polite. We took our dogs and they loved it too. All in all we had the best time, the only complaint we had was that my husbands steak was cold. But saying that, he should have complained at the time. But, we will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel187046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Perfect spot for a Yorkshire Wedding. Our room was in the main part of the building and overlooked the river. Room was very comfortable and the bathroom modern and very clean. My daughter was having her wedding there and many guests travelled and stayed at the venue in all types of accommodation on offer. Staff where amazing and made sure her day went perfectly. The food and service could not be faulted, would stay again and again

Room Tip: Stayed in the main building but some people found a lot of steps in the Manor house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We were charged £138 for our one night b&b stay at the Red Lion and frankly it was a rip off. The room was very dated and tatty - think 1980's curtains, dated table cloths etc. A stained bed-head from where previous guests heads had rubbed on it, sunken mattress.... I could go on unfortunately. Upon checking out we were simply presented with the bill and no questions were asked about whether we enjoyed our stay - the staff seemed quite arrogant really. The Red Lion is set in a beautiful location but sadly it seems this is what they rely on and not their customer service skills or pride in their accommodation.
My advice for those thinking of staying at the Red Lion would be look for somewhere else in the Burnsall village or don't expect to get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveller-JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

yet another lovely visit to the Red Lion.
£40 for B&B in the Manor House, whilst the Red Lion in a little on the tired side, do not let this put you off staying. The food is excellent and the breakfast is lovely. I would agree with some of the other comments, but if you can manage a mid week break for such a low price what is there to complain about.
Thanks again for another lovely stay.
Looking forward to visiting in 2013

Room Tip: Ask for the offers when you book mid week. The Manor House rooms are small. Book the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewls123Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
364 reviews
20.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
428 reviews
22.9 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: Main Street | By the Bridge, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burnsall
Price Range: $91 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing