We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service at this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Worsley Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hovingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

we were given this as a present for christmas from my mum as an amazon local deal and decided to use it for my husbands birthday this weekend so we could go shopping in york. it is about 30 mins from york. it is a very quiet place small village so very peaceful but york is near and castle howard. I am 38 weeks pregnant so the peace and quiet was lovely on an evening sitting next to the open fire having a relaxing time. When we checked in the receptionist showed us around and to our room which was across the road in the cottages. the room was perfectly adequate and clean and did the job I asked for a spare pillow and they had a box of dvd's and it was no trouble for them, the staff were very helpful. We ate in the hotel on Friday night. We sat next to the fire and had drinks and were bought the specials board and the menus to where we sitting and they took our order in advance and then when this was ready invited us to our table to be seated. the food was big portion sizes, my husband had smoked salmon and scrambled egg starter and then the burger for main and I had the fish cakes for starter and the beef with mash and kale for main. we enjoyed the food and were full after this. Fresh bread is also on the table as well as a jug of water. Only tiny comment on the food was the kale was very salty and the fish cakes could have been saltier but that is just personal preference. breakfast was tasty (especially the sausages) and again service was good, lots of people available to help. Overall we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 640 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one evening and we were pleasantly suprised. Our room was across the road from the main building in the cottages. The room was lovely, spacious and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. In the main hotel it feels very homely, open fires and comfortable sofas make it extremely cosy. We had a full english breakfast which was beautiful. We found the staff very helpful and friendly. I would definately recommend this hotel and I will certainly be booking again in the near future!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Britbird76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We both wanted a quiet,relaxin and much needed night away from reality and thats what we got at this wonderful hotel.all the staff were fantastic.the food at night was a high standard and breakfast too was very good.our room was small but cosy,the only down side off our trip as my wife pointed out to me on our return home was that we should of stayed 2 nights.thank you once again to the owner and staff.we will b back!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Abbholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Great hosts who made you feel very comfortable. We have stayed before and will come again, a great place to see the best of Yorkshire. The food was excellent, dinner and breakfast were beautifully cooked and every care was taken to make sure we had a good time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenaHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have just spent a relaxing couple of days in Hovingham. Friendly helpful staff who made us and our Labrador very welcome & the open fires in the bar and lounge added to the atmosphere.
The lovely proportioned rooms have pleasingly traditional decor & not all chrome and glass !
The evening meal we had was lovely and the breakfasts did not disappoint.We had chosen a ground floor room in one of the cottages over the road . Importantly it was clean & there was plenty of hot water but it was rather small and whilst parking at the cottage itself is on a 'first come first served' basis , there is on road parking very close by.For those who rely on a reliable mobile signal it is worth noting that we found it very patchy - more often than not there was no signal.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AFletcher7_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Thank you to all of the staff for an enjoyable stay. Our room was spacious, clean and well appointed. We ate dinner in the restaurant and both the food and drink were excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a completely relaxed break at the Worsley Arms and shall look to book a return visit in the future. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hcookexh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband had been ill over Christmas and the New Year and I was recovering from being involved in a car accident. We felt like we needed a pick me up to get the New Year off to a good start. The Worsley Arms in Hovingham did just that. From the moment we walked into the door until the moment we left the staff could not do enough for us to ensure we were enjoying our stay.
The 1st evening we ate in the hotel, the service was excellent and the food was heavenly. At breakfast there was a good choice of cereals. juices etc. to choose from followed by a good cooked breakfast of your choice.
The hotel had plenty comfortable sofas and chairs in their lounges in front of the log fires where you could get drinks and snacks at anytime.
When we arrived we were fed up and depressed with the poor start to the year , when we left we felt relaxed, refreshed and ready to start the new year afresh.
Thank you to all the staff at the Worsley Arms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catharine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hovingham
7.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
7.9 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
531 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
787 reviews
9.9 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
565 reviews
6.3 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Worsley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worsley Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Hovingham YO62 4LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hovingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hovingham
Price Range: $113 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Worsley Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Worsley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worsley Arms York
Hotel Worsley Arms
Worsley Arms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing