We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Worsley Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Worsley Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hovingham
Certificate of Excellence
Tollerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have stayed at The Worsley on several occasions including the last two Bank Holiday weekends and were delighted on both visits. Hovingham is a beautiful little village. You'll need to drive to get to places, but there's lots to see and do within a short distance (if you can drag yourself away).
The first thing to mention is the staff, and how friendly, polite and helpful they are. The rooms are always clean and well appointed, with comfy beds (especially the 4-poster room!). Yes, in places it could be argued that the decor is getting a little tired, but this doesn't detract from the ambiance of the place.
The food and wine is always excellent, and very good value for what you get. Pace yourself, it's worth sampling 3 courses! Tony (the owner) has excellent knowledge of wines, and I would always recommend selecting your meal then asking him to bring what he things would complement it best - it will always be excellent, and the most appropriate, not the most expensive! Also the breakfasts are superb, using locally sourced produce.
The garden is beautiful on a summer day, and a perfect place to enjoy the sun and chat for hours with a cooling drink (or three).
As always on this site there are a couple of bad reviews. To be honest I find some of them hard to believe, and as for lack of mobile phone reception - hardly a reason to mark the place down - there's wifi available if you ask.
All in all, we can't wait to go back and would recommend strongly to others.

Room Tip: Superior are slightly better, and the 4 poster is great for a romantic trip (and very reasonable).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    197
    52
    28
    12
See reviews for
68
410
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
153 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here when we were attending a wedding at a friends home nearby for two nights.

The staff were excellent the food was on the first evening was OK but good wine selection.

Breakfast was very good. We were in a cottage over the road from the main Hotel which was quiet and a good size but a little dated.

Overall it was a good break.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PWF1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here a short while ago, and we really enjoyed it.
peaceful all around .hotel was nice, lovely bathroom, roll top bath, breakfast was really nice & plenty.
nice 'easy' evening in the lounge / bar.
Will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

When we complained that we had no hot water or heating we were told it was our fault for not contacting them sooner,&No help given & only £5 rebate for the WORST hotel I have EVER stayed at. The sheets were grubby with blood on them(spots not floods..)The room was musty,stale smelling & cold we were rushing of to the wedding so weren't able or happy to kick up a storm as it was my nieces wedding..

Room Tip: go for the main hotel building;they seemed fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear DaveB

Thank you for your review. I am sorry about the problem with the overflow as I explained it is being dealt so should not cause problems in the future, thank you for your patience.
I have considered your comments about the size of the menu and I agree a choice is important, we offer a minimum choice of eight starters and eight main courses from our dinner menu and special board which is refreshed for most evening services by keeping the menu concise we can offer fresh ingredients in prime condition. The average length of stay for our for our leisure guests is 2.5 nights those staying for three nights will eat dinner with us twice and use the other evening to explore other options. We will take you comments on board.

It was a pleasure to have you with us, your positive comments about the team have been circulated and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Hovingham.

Regards
Tony Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We went for the first time in May with a kgb deal and it was absolutely delightful - daffodils everywhere and lovely weather. The hotel was welcoming, the staff wonderful and our room lovely. We took our little Sheltie dog and it turned out to be her last holiday as she died soon after returning home but we have happy memories. We wanted to visit Hovingham Hall and as it only opens to the public in June, we just had to go back. It didn't disappoint - and we had another wonderful stay with wonderful food and hospitality - again. There are so many lovely places to see without going far - Nunnington Hall, just down the road is an example. The miniatures of the Carlisle Collection on the top floor are stunning. Helmsley is so pretty and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

From the moment we arrived and were welcomed by Amanda we felt we had made the right choice. We were shown the hotel facilities and taken to our room (not left to find it ourselves) we stayed in one of the cottages across the green from the main hotel and it was a nice comfortable and clean room. Food and service was excellent, as is the wine list. Lovely garden to relax in with a nice glass of vino. Lovely village very convenient for touring the dales and visiting main attractions in the area. a really enjoyable visit, we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda_lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed there using a groupon voucher at May Day bank holiday. The village is very pretty, we were in a cottage across the green which was fine.
Great place to stay and visit Pickering/helmsley etc. Would definitely go back, the weather was fantastic so had a really relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minkybinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Minkydinks

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. You were definitely lucky with the weather the sunshine did not hang around for long once you had gone!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Tony Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hovingham
7.9 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
9.9 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
9.6 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
6.3 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Worsley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worsley Arms Hotel

Property: The Worsley Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Hovingham YO62 4LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hovingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hovingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Worsley Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your The Worsley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worsley Arms York
Hotel Worsley Arms
Worsley Arms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing