We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Worsley Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hovingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed there using a groupon voucher at May Day bank holiday. The village is very pretty, we were in a cottage across the green which was fine.
Great place to stay and visit Pickering/helmsley etc. Would definitely go back, the weather was fantastic so had a really relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minkybinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Minkydinks

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. You were definitely lucky with the weather the sunshine did not hang around for long once you had gone!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Tony Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 659 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

We spent two nights here and ate in the hotel. The meals were first class and reasonably priced and the service was second to none.

Our room was across the green in the cottage but this was no problem at all.

No mobile signal but that sometimes is a blessing.

A great place to tour the area

Will be back

Room Tip: Room 20 in the cottage was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Bryan G
Thank you for your positive review, the phone signal is beyond our control I am afraid but as you say sometimes no signal is a bonus!

I am sure you comments will be useful to others looking to discover the wonders of Ryedale.
Regards

Tony Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Celebrated another year. Once again we had a marvelous two day stay, and in room 21 again. Cannot say enough about the owners, Tony and Sally Finn, all of the staff and of course, the fabulous food. Thank you all for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Even with a small upgrade, room 21 is great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlindsay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear jlinsay16

Thank you for posting your review. It was a pleasure to welcome you back, you don't look another year older!'
It is always satisfying to welcome back familiar faces and It was great that this visit you were able to take advantage of the garden, maybe an example of the the 'sun shining on the righteous' or then again maybe not!
Sally and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hovingham soon.

Regards
Tony Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stopped at the worsley hotel through work old manor house ,room was very small (room 8) for 2 nights . Room was clean but bed was very uncomfortable .i had to travel for 15 mins in car to get a phone signal from hotel and internet in hotel was poor ,But on the plus side the owners were great good service and food excellent they couldnt do enough for you .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear IanG

Thank you for posting your comments and for your positive review of the food and the service you received.

I am sorry if you felt the bed uncomfortable, that is not a complaint that we are used to. Your room was booked by your company who requested a single room for you, had they booked a double room for single occupancy you would have been allocated a larger room, the room provided meets all the requirements at a three star level.
I can understand your frustration about the mobile phone signal we are in a village and the village is in a dip so depending on the network reception can be patchy, that I am afraid is out of our control but for guest convenience we do provide telephones in the rooms with outside lines which can save the time (and fuel) spent searching for a mobile signal.

We look forward to welcoming you back should you be working in the area again.

Regards
Tony Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights with a Deal Cloud deal in a room in the cottages across the road from the hotel. The room was a good size, warm and with a comfortable bed. The bathroom had a bath with a good shower overhead and heated towel rail. The freshly cooked breakfast was excellent and was in a very pleasant dining room. The public rooms in the hotel have character and are furnished with comfy chairs and sofas. The village of Hovingham is really pretty with a stream and ford plus Hovingham Hall open to the public from June. There is also a friendly pub and a shop. Hovingham is well placed for York and the beautiful surrounding countryside. When the lavender is out, the Lavender Farm is very close by and is well worth a visit. It has a beautiful garden in addition to the lavender plus animals for children and a very nice cafe. Castle Howard is very close, also North Yorks Railway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emberton75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Emberton

Thank you for your review, you saw Hovingham and Ryedale in all their splendor so go and spread the word!!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Tony Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed a night at this hotel in May on a Living Social deal which was good value for money. The staff are really friendly, but seem to pitch in and do everything from serving at the bar, checking in guests and serving at the tables - to that end sometimes leaving people waiting whilst trying to be all things to all people.
The room was clean and tidy - the general feel of the hotel is a little dated, but you could see that it has been a grand building in its time - it could do with some attention to bring it back to its former glory.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jubilee910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Victoria L

Thank you for your review, multitasking is the order of the day, we have a good team, flexible in attitude and in deed. If we appeared a little stretched on your visit then I apologise, but in the present market business levels can be very unpredictable.

I hope that it did not deter your enjoyment.

Regards
Tony Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was a KGB deal including dinner on first. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Josh who was very cheerful and clearly loves working at the hotel. Without exception the staff were friendly and helpful. The public areas are very comfortable with plenty of nice sofas to relax on if so desired. The building itself has plenty of character and although some of the decorations/carpets etc are shortly due for renewal this did not detract from the overall ambience of the hotel.
The food at dinner was of exceptional quality, there being a very generous allowance of £26 or so per head in the "inclusive" meal. We were therefore able to select anything from the normal menu.( a "specials" board was available so there was plenty of choice) We were too full to take sweets.The breakfasts were excellent with lots of choice and good service. We can recommend the poached eggs on locally cured ham.
The room was comortable, if a little tired, with wide beds and nice linen. The used soaps were renewed overnight.
It is worth taking a walk round this lovely village which has a nice pub (The Malt Shovel) if you want a change of scene.
Overall a very nice stay and excellent value for money.We would certainly come back again if in this part of Yorkshire.

Room Tip: We liked room 9 which faces towards the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank needreba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Needraba

Thank you for posting a positive review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hovingham.

Regards
Tony Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hovingham
7.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
7.9 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
554 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
9.6 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
702 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Worsley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worsley Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Hovingham YO62 4LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hovingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hovingham
Price Range: $89 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Worsley Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Worsley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worsley Arms York
Hotel Worsley Arms
Worsley Arms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing