We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Worsley Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hovingham
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just love this hotel! It's an old fashioned cosy place, excellent service and a lovely atmosphere. Our bedroom, in the cottage opposite the hotel, was big and very comfortable and had everything we needed. We were chilly the first night but an extra heater was supplied and solved the problem. Our dog was welcome, for a reasonable extra charge. We find the food rather expensive but there's an excellent pub in the village that serves wonderful meals. Our only suggestion to make this place even better would be to replace the rather shabby and grubby carpet in the hallway at the cottage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Kate_G11

It was a pleasure to welcome you back to Hovingham. Dogs are always welcome and the cottage rooms are ideal as you can get from car to room with the minimum amount of fuss, hence the state of the carpet which you mentioned, I think I would describe it as well used rather that scruffy it does take a lot of hammer and in hind sight we would not choose that colour again!

I am sorry that you did eat with us, we are currently offereing main courses on the special board from £10 to £12.00 and for freshly prepared food with decent service and linen napkins I think that represents good value theese days, I am not sure what format the menu was in on your previous visit but we do try to offer a wide range of dishes.

Thank you for your feed back, I look forward to welcoming you back to Hovingham soon.
Regards
Tony Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    201
    53
    29
    14
See reviews for
71
418
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

rooms were clean and large, staff very friendly nothing to much trouble. food was excellent breakfasts excellent large choice with cereals, fruit, toast cooked breakfasts, poached, scrambled eggs etc.
bar area really nice with coal fires burning in all the seating areas.
stayed in the cottages across the green from the hotel. we will be returning to this little gem, can recommend for a nice cosy stay in Yorkshire. beds so comfy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear SamanthaR
Thank you for posting your review, Those coal fires! they have been so popular and rasied so many comments this winter that I think we will keep them burning all year!

I notice that you are a Senior Contributer so you obviously travel a lot, so such feedback is praise indeed. Thank you I will circulate to the team (as we do with all reviews)

Regards

Tony Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here back in the summer. The room was beautiful, with everything we could wish for. The room was in the annex to the hotel, just a short walk from the main building. Dinner in the evening was wonderful with lots of choices, all using local produce. Breakfast was extensive. The staff where attentive, and very helpful. Would recommed again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Marbees

I was delighted that enjoyed your stay with us last August. The cottage rooms are popular with many of our guests so I am glad that you felt comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hovingham soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Exceptionally friendly place , with fantastic food Although it's set on a main road it wasn't intrusive at all. The whole hotel was immaculate and there were quite a few snugs where you could eat or drink peacefully. We loved it

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear JanG

Thank you for your comments.
We have a small team who work very hard, both the ones who the guests meet and the ones they don't, but we are lucky that courtesy comes naturally to them and they enjoy looking after our guests, even the odd one who sometimes do not deserve their patience! We are lucky that the vast majority of our guests are returning ones who enjoy what we do and the way we do it. I hope that we can add you to the list and that you can return to your "Little Gem"! .
Thank you again for taking the time to record your thoughts.

Regards

Tony Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just stayed for one night with my husband whilst passing through in this lovely quaint hotel in the pretty little village of Hovingham. Management and staff were friendly and welcoming, great service, room and bathroom were really nice and the bed was really comfy. The weather was freezing outside but heating was fine inside the hotel and there was a lovely real fire in the bar area. The food was delicious and there was a great selection of rooms. Couldn't praise it enough and we will definately stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiP32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear NikkiP

Thank you for your review, we circulate all comments to the team and it is good to know that they are appreciated! We are only a small business but place a lot of emphasis on customer care and old fashioned courtesy. February was one of the coldest on record and we are aware of the efforts that people went to come and visit us.
May be next time you visit the weather will be warmer, Ryedale has so much to offer in spring and summer, check out our special offers page on our website there are always some good deals to be had if you are flexible over dates.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave your thoughts.

Regards
Tony Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here last weekend and had a really lovely time. Warm and friendly welcome and shown to our room which was across the road in their cottages. Nice room and good size with big bed and bath. All staff were very friendly and made us very relaxed. Loved afternoon drinks in front of the fire in the bar area. Ate in the hotel on both evenings, in the restaurant one night and the bar the other. Excellent food, couldn't fault it. Lots to do in the area, walking and touristy stuff. Unfortunately with us going out of season alot of the touristy stuff was closed. Would definitely return, great couple of days away

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear ClareMatt
Thank you for posting a review. "A lovely little hotel" what a nice way to sum us up! Winter as you discovered finds a lot of the local attractions closed, but there are still things to do as you found out, coming in the summer months offers a wider variety of activities but you have to share them with the holiday crowds! Hovingham though remains a quiet oasis for you to return to in the evenings and drinks can be taken in the garden rather than infront of the fire. I look forward to welcoming you back when the sun is shining!
Regards
Tony Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malpas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I love North Yorkshire, so when KGB offered a two night stay at The Worsley Arms in Hovingham, I was quick to respond. We arrived on a cold grey afternoon at the beginning of February and were delighted to see welcoming open fires as we settled in. The hotel is owned by the Worsley family and managed by Tony Finn and his staff, who are an excellent team. There was a pleasing buzz in the Cricketers' Bar, where we chose to eat, and a warm fire in both lounging and dining areas. Breakfast was served in the light, airy and elegant dining room. All the food was delicious and beautifully served. We had thought we might eat out on the second night but the lure of the cosy bar was irresistible. Our room (we upgraded to have a super- king size bed) was plain but nicely decorated, and a decent size. We had a large modern bathroom with a good independent shower over the huge bath and plenty of hot water and generously-sized towels. I would strongly recommend the hotel to any one who appreciates a touch of individuality when they go away. Hovingham is a picture postcard estate village, totally unspoiled, and the ambience of hotel fits wonderfully with its environs.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 at the back which was quiet but with an outlook over the carpark. It would be mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear KateH
Thank you for your review. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you on your return. It has been a very cold start to the year so we are very lucky to be able to offer real fires as part of our welcome. Roll on the summer!

Thank you again

Tony Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hovingham
7.9 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
6.2 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
6.3 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Worsley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worsley Arms Hotel

Property: The Worsley Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Hovingham YO62 4LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hovingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hovingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Worsley Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Worsley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worsley Arms York
Hotel Worsley Arms
Worsley Arms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing