We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location in quiet village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Worsley Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hovingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed for just one night and it was Ok, nothing special. Not sure if we were put in one of the cottages over the main road because it was a free night we received from Comet after purchasing an item from them but the hotel would have received payment from Comet all the same .Would have expected something a bit nicer if we had paid the full price of 110.00 for an extra night, so we were glad it was only the one night. Hopefully the standard in the main hotel would have been a lot better than the room we were in. Can not comment on the food as we thought 15.00 per person was expensive for a breakfast as we have stayed in 4* hotels in London and never paid this amount for breakfast.The TV did not work but was replaced when we informed reception and the staff were freindly and helpfull.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VALC1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Val1050

Thank you for your review.
I am sorry if you were disapointed with you room in the cottages, as you point out it was a room as part of a promotion hence the additionall charge if taking breakfast, most of our quoted rates include a full breakfast.
Many of our returning guests request the cottage rooms whilst others prefer the main hotel, so it is a little misleading for you to suggest that guests should ask for rooms in the main building. we have 20 rooms in total all different shapes and sizes.

Thank you for your kind words regading the staff, it is appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hovingham, if you would prefer a larger room please let me know when you book and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Regards
Tony Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 646 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

My Partner and I stayed at the Worsley Arms for 2 nights before moving on into York for 2 nights. We found this hotel perfect for our needs. Very friendly welcome and staff. Easy to park at the rear of the hotel. Stunning setting in a charming beautiful Yorkshire village.

The room was very clean and well laid out. We eat in the restaurant on our first night - the food was very good and there was a good selection of drinks including a well appointed wine list!

For me the Breakfast was a really highlight! A very hearty English breakfast - perfect before a day exploring the Moors!

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again in the future.

William - Canterbury, Kent

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william-ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

A warm welcome, attentive and friendly staff, cosy bar and lounge.....real fires. Excellent breakfasts and great menu choices for dinner with a really good, superbly prepared, large portions. Despite trying hard we could not manage all three courses. The hotel is very well located with many interesting visits and fantastic scenery within easy reach.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank pat_geoffwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Went to a Bordeux wine tasting last night. The wines and the food were excellent. The starter was a plate with seared salmon with Thai spiced noodles, breast of duck with an orange citrus dressing and a walnut and celery bellini with blue stilton topping, just a small portion of each but then three sweet bordeux wines which went with the food perfectly. First time I have had sweet wine with a starter and it was really good. The main course was roasted rump of yorkshire lamb with shallots, french beans,air dried pancetta and mint beignet. The lamb was cooked to perfection (pink) and very tender and then we had three red bordeaux wines with it. To finish we had dark chocolate marquise with poached clementines and a shot of hot cappuccino with a premier cru Sauterne. What a banquet, can't wait until the next one!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inntheknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having had to alter arrangements for our weekend away we decided to do something anyway and found this wonderful hotel in the beautiful village of Hovingham, North Yorkshire. We had a three night stay which was pure relaxation. The staff were first class, meals were fantastic with choices for every palette, accomodation was comfortable and homely and catered for all our needs. The overall package was supreme and we will definitely revisit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelvinandviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorsleyArmsHotel, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear dncp
Thank you for your positive review!
I know you took advantage of an offer to come and stay with us, so please remember that we always have special deals available on our website aimed at enticing you back to Hovingham, though I can't guarantee the four poster every time!
As with all reviews we have passed on you r comments to the front and back of house teams.
We all look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Tony Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in late August 2012 when visiting the area for the North York Moors and its steam trains.

We booked one of the rooms in the cottages on the other side of the small village green. The hotel provided nice touches like umbrellas to make your way back to the room when it rains, which it did, a lot! The room was clean and comfortable.

We stayed at the Worsley Arms on a deal including dinner, and ate in the bar because a wedding was being held in the main restaurant. The food was superb. I had seabass on a crab and asparagus risotto which was sublime, my partner had duck with roasted plums, also good. We liked that a lot of the menu options were locally sourced, and although the menu can appear expensive the food was worth it. The breakfast was tasty, although a couple of options are a supplement (kippers etc). The staff were friendly and attentive throughout our stay.

Hovingham itself is a stunning village with all houses built in a local stone, everyone clearly looks after their gardens and the owners of Hovingham Hall obviously have a lot of say on what can and can't get built here so it retains that look of a village stuck in time.

If we got the same deal again we'd definitely go back, so much to see and do in the area. We crammed in the steam trains, Scarborough and Whitby (both lovely) and York on the way home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I booked this as a last minute surprise for our anniversary on a late deal after checking tripadvisor first. I am happy to report that I agreed wholeheartedly with the majority of the reviews, finding the hotel a gem of a retreat set in a lovely quiet village. Upon arrival, we found we had been upgraded to a beautiful room with four poster bed, furnished in a traditional style with a very nice en suite bathroom. All the staff along with the owners worked extremely hard to make our stay memorable and were always friendly and helpful. The piece de resistance was the excellent standard of food served in the intimate dining room which we were informed by other guests was the setting for James Herriotts proposal scene in the film, "All Creatures Great and Small". [ Just something for the film buffs among you out there! ] We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurhamEnglandFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hovingham
6.2 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,663 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
6.2 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
537 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
407 reviews
6.3 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Worsley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worsley Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Hovingham YO62 4LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hovingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hovingham
Price Range: $105 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Worsley Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Worsley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worsley Arms York
Hotel Worsley Arms
Worsley Arms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing