We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wine”

The Worsley Arms Hotel
Reserve with OpenTable
The Worsley Arms Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Hovingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Worsley Arms is a privately operated restaurant with rooms set in the heart of the picturesque North Yorkshire village of Hovingham. Lunch is served daily in the Cricketer's Bar whilst for dinner you may choose between the bar and the slightly more formal atmosphere of the dining room. The comprehensive menu includes daily specials and a popular steak selection featuring cuts from selected breeds including Dexter, Long Horn and Aberdeen Angus. To accompany the fine fayre there is a an interesting wine list created by your host Master Sommelier Tony Finn who will be on hand to advise you on your selection. The Worsley Arms also hosts regular wine dinners so be sure to leave your details to be included on the mailing list for future events and offers.
halifax
Level Contributor
128 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wine”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely weekend staying at this hotel which we really enjoyed.
The beds are wonderful and comfy and the food and wine are delicious.
The full english breakfasts are a real treat starting with fruit juice and fresh fruit of your choice including prunes and apricots or cereal and followed by bacon,sausage, egg, mushrooms tomato and black pudding cooked to perfection.
You also have the choice of kippers,poached eggs with boiled ham or croissants.followed by tea and toast.
The evening meals are really nice and there is lots of choice including a specials board.
The wine is really something else as Tony's knowledge of good wine is excellent and we spent the very enjoyable evenings trying out different grapes which we have now been converted to.
The service was excellent and the staff were really helpful and friendly.
We were very fortunate also to meet some lovely people with a similar taste in wines and this made for some very enjoyable evenings.
We left with some really nice memories and hopefully will be back later in the year.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    34
    12
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, but a little tired....”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

spent a couple of days here - it was actually a Groupon offer which was really too good to miss. On arrival we checked in fine and the receptionist did offer to carry our bags upstairs for us, but we declined the offer... we were shown into Room 2 - quite a small room but with a huge and what turned out to be an extremely comfortable bed... we both slept very well indeed. The room is at the front of the hotel and directly behind the main hotel lights, but these go out about 11:30pm and the big heavy curtains meant that our sleep was not disturbed one bit. 2 comfortable tub chairs too and adequate tea/coffee/milk supplies. We ran out of milk and replacements were provided at a minutes notice. The decor of the room looked a bit faded and jaded and it was quite dusty. It certainly looked like it had not been dusted for some days.
The walls in the bathroom too were showing signs of an old building with lots of exposed pipes and old fittings, but the shower was good and maintained a constant heat - it was not an electric shower, and often this means the temperature fluctuates according to other water being used throughout the building..... The loo sat snuggly next to the door and had either of us been any bigger we would have burnt our knees on the towel radiator - which was always on and the towels were lovely and thick.
A lovely lounge with open fire ( which was always lit and roaring) was a real treat and a great place to pass an hour or so reading the newspaper or a good book.
Breakfast was all inclusive and a good choice available. It was served by polite and cheerful staff and always came hot and plenty of it. More toast/tea/coffee was always available. We didn't have an evening meal in, we chose to explore other local hostelries, but the menu looked quite good and not too expensive. The bar boasts a huge range of different whiskies - if you are a fan....
All in all not a bad hotel, service was very good but only given 3 star rating as it really does need some money spent on the interior decor....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank malrose39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST YORKS
Level Contributor
957 reviews
644 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Left in the dark !”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

It was three years since we last stopped here and nothing seems to have changed since we were last here in the main hotel.
It could do with something to lift the atmosphere and make it more welcoming.
Our receptionist was friendly and told us we were in the cottages opposite and we were shown across by another girl.
On getting into our room it was freezing cold as the heating had not being turned in advance and bearing in mind it was 6 pm in February it was a little fresh !
It did not take too long to get warm but the curtains were full length and blocked the radiator so we had to push them into the window sill and use towels to block any openings at the side.
We are out but came back about 9.30 for a drink. We walked to the Malt Shovel first to try this and left around 10.30 to have a drink in the hotel but the lights were turned out as we approached making the pavements dangerous so we decided to go straight back to the cottages.
During the night the heating went off and our room was very cold and I assume this was on a timer as it seemed to heat up again afer 7 but it made for an uncomfortable night!
It seemed strange but I suppose it reduces the electricity bill !
With the competition at Harome,Helmsley, Gilling and Malton I feel they need to make the place more welcoming !

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“never again”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The food was just terrible. My starter was promising but main was just a disaster - undercooked, presentation was bad, tasteless, fatty. I think the chef focuses on the presentation more (still - poor) than on the actual taste of the food - which is a shame.
The 'home made' soup tasted like a can soup (i'm pretty sure it was) Very expensive place to go for such a bad quality. I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyLebowski_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadcaster
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great sunday lunch”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

A mixture of traditional and innovative dishes, at £15 for 2 courses, £19 for 3. Missed out on the starters, simply because we know from previous experience that they do generous portions here. Roast beef was perfectly cooked, pink in the middle but melted in the mouth - excellent quality meat. Chocolate terrine pudding was very solid and tasty, but the one to go for is the fig and date sticky toffee pudding - to chef's secret recipe - we tried and failed to get it from him! Service was attentive throughout at this lovely country hotel - nice to see people with pride in their work.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Worsley Arms Hotel also viewed

Hovingham, North Yorkshire
Slingsby, North Yorkshire
 
Hovingham, North Yorkshire
Nunnington, North Yorkshire
 
Harome, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Worsley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing