We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brickfields Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brickfields Farm
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 7, 2009

Large and extremely comfortable rooms, very bright and airy, furnished in neutral colours. En-suite bathrooms have walk-in showers and are stocked with Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Huge breakfasts. This is 21st century British B&B. Convenient for Moors and Coast, not too far from Castle Howard either (obviously you'll need a car for all of these).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASubscriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
98
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Stayed in one of the barn rooms, the largest one; excellent room with everything you need including little touches such as yorkshire biscuits, sweets and fresh flowers. A lovely large wetroom with shower. Very comfortable large bed. Janet is an excellent hostess and really enjoys what she does. Look out for the extra special breakfast; just the job to set you up for a full days sightseeing. Don't be put off by the initial sighting of the farmhouse; it really is rather lovely when you get there! We would recommend eating out at The Fox and Hounds in Sinnington for an upmarket pub meal and The Blacksmith Arms at Lastington for a good down to earth pub meal (and interesting chats with the locals). The Appletree at Marton is up market, nice restaurant, everything nicely done, but restricted menu choice and a touch expensive.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThemAtCornaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2008

My wife and I stayed here early September for four nights. We have travelled the world and with one possible exception in New Zealand, Brickfields Farm is the best B&B we have stayed in, in fact far better than many hotel rooms. Well done Janet.

We stayed in one of the barn conversions, a big room with high quality furniture and a very comfortable bed and superb bed linen. It is her attention to detail that stood out e.g. bottled water and fresh milk every day in the fridge, plenty of coat hangers in the wardrobe, and in the en suite shower room quality shampoo and shower gel, and a very high standard of plumbing and sanitary ware. And those huge soft and fluffy towels…… we could go on and on.

Janet has made it very difficult for us to want to stay anywhere else, everything is so perfect. If only every B&B was up to this very high standard.

  • Liked — Absolutely everything.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Couple_from_Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Stayed at Brickfields Farm mid July. Met on arrival by Janet who runs the farm and she is absolutely lovely. When she showed us to our room couldn't believe it. We had booked a barn room and it was absolutely gorgeous, spacious and a massive bathroom with walk in shower. The room also had a small kitchen with fridge and cupboards and sink etc. Also had a patio with table and chairs whicih is just perfect for a summers evening! The patio adjoins the three other rooms with views onto field and beyond - sheep included! Breakfast was taken in the conservatory with the other guests and it was lovely, awaiting you was a lovely fruit bowl ie chopped strawberries, blueberries, melon etc, really lovely touch and then the full english was lovely. Would highly recommend a stay here, you are only about a mile from the little village of Kirkbymoorside with numerous pubs and restaurants for a lovely meal out, particularly the George & Dragon.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Kitty1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

An immaculate bed and breakfast in rooms converted from old barns. Spacious accommodation with excellent attention to detail in the furnishings and fittings. A door gives onto a small patio with table and chairs to enjoy the evening or morning sun with uninterupted views of the fields. A luxurious room with an excellent breakfast served in the conservatory overlooking grazing sheep. Beautiful linen, china and glassware adds to the pleasureable experience. Highly recommended establishment on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors.

  • Liked — The beautiful room
  • Disliked — Not within walking distance of a restaurant/pub
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalyfanYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

If you're visiting North Yorkshire this B&B is a must. We stayed in one of the farmhouse rooms (there are two farmhouse rooms, four rooms in the barn conversion). Big, well-furnished room, very comfortable beds, wet room with a really good shower, nice towels and robes. Breakfast was excellent - fresh fruit, cereal, toast, and full English with locally sourced produce. The owner, Janet Trousdale, is very welcoming and helpful. I'll certainly go again!

  • Liked — the host, the room and the views
  • Disliked — I have no criticism
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank leamlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

We found Brickfields Farm on the I Know Yorkshire website, its just off of the A170 between Kirbymoorside and Pickering and we found this a good base for visiting this area.
We stayed in one of the converted barn rooms, which was very spacious, comfortable and furnished to a high standard. The ensuite bathroom/wet room has everything provided including soaps, shampoo, fluffy towels and robes.
The breakfast was excellent - fruit, cereals, english breakfast and toast, this is served in the conservatory of the main house.
The quality of accommodation and special touches that Janet has made, makes this an exceptional B & B.

  • Liked — Quality of accommodation and breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wei-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkbymoorside
1.0 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
129 reviews
5.8 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
5.7 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,457 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cornmill
The Cornmill
#4 of 7 in Kirkbymoorside
67 reviews
0.9 mi away
George & Dragon Hotel
George & Dragon Hotel
#3 of 7 in Kirkbymoorside
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickfields Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickfields Farm

Property: Brickfields Farm
Address: Brickfields Farm Kirkby Mills, Kirkbymoorside YO62 6NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkbymoorside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkbymoorside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brickfields Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish, award-winning farmhouse B&B in rural North Yorkshire Four light & airy guest rooms in the recently renovated Barn, with quality beds, comfortable seating areas with large sofa, flat screen TV, DVD, Freeview, and well-stocked hospitality traysSpacious en-suite bathrooms feature walk-in “wet room” style showers, heated towel rails, and “soft close” loo seats. All rooms: ground floor, French doors opening to terrace, ample parking, easily accessible for the less able guest, wholesome Yorkshire breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brickfields Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickfields Farm Kirkbymoorside, Yorkshire - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing