We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Head Hotel

Kings Head Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkbymoorside
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed for two nights mid October 2010 with friends for the Pickering War Weekend. This pub/hotel had a very tired appearance inside, this was not due to it being very old, but being quite tatty and shabby. Our room, no9, was twin bedded, quite large and clean. We had the exit door to the fire escape in our room, with a key to our room in a break glass container, outside the door, in case of fire, which we had never seen before and thought quite strange. Fortunately there wasn't a fire, so we didn't have guests exiting through our bedroom! This room was quite noisy due to it being over the smokers area, but not a major problem. Our friends had a tiny double room no2, which was extremely dark and had next to no storage. In thier room was a cupboard with only 3 hooks on the back wall and no rail to hang clothes, this was supposedly the wardrobe. We all thought it was really a single room, possibly used as a double for this extremely busy and popular 1940's weeekend at Pickering. When our friends complained to the manager that it was so badly lit they couldn't see to put on their make-up and get ready, they were told to go to our room as we had a bigger room! To be honest I think it was the manager's unhelpful attitude that was one of the main problems. We felt he didn't really want to be dealing with customers, which is a great draw back in this line of business! The other staff - bar and dining room seemed very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast on the first morning was a little delayed as unfortunately the manager was taken ill, but the other staff coped well and the breakfast was ok. The 2nd morning the manager was back and the breakfast wasn't as good - we joined our friends at a 4 seater table and no fresh tea or toast was offered, seemingly because there was both already on the table, but belonging to our friends and both cold as they were down quite a long time before us. We asked for fresh tea and toast which took a very long time to come. The sausage was obviously under cooked and not very hot. On paying the bill which was £75 per room per night, it was taken by the manager without any of the usual pleasantries of "I hope you enjoyed your stay" etc. All in all, we thought we had received very poor service for quite an expensive weekend and would not go back there again. In all honesty it seemed a popular local pub, not a well run hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzywizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
headsking22, Owner at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2010
The Kings Head Hotel is a Grade 2 Listed 16th century coaching inn. Over the years the building has been updated and adapted to cater for today's modern amenities. It is not possible to modify these sort of buildings in some areas due to the constraints of the planners and the preservation of this fabulous old building. To this end there are 2 rooms that need to be used if ever there is a fire etc as an actual escape route. Not really a lot I can do about this. Clearly a Hotel needs some sort of fire escape route, and I find this a strange comment to make on a website like this?
As for the "smoking area" I am unsure what the guest is refering to. We dont have a smoking area, we have an outside patio and walled garden.
Regarding the issue with breakfast. I suggest to the guest that any issues raised at the time would have been dealt with there and then.
I believe the Kings Head Hotel is well priced in the market and the guests knew the cost of the rooms when they booked. Once again the Hotel is a 16th century building with some quirky but comfortable rooms. I welcome these guests back to either of my Hotels at any time. Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    30
    16
    10
    4
See reviews for
25
66
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

The Kings Head seems to be a bit run down in its general appearance. The staff however are very attentive and approachable. We were offerred a smallish room where the floor sloped noticeably and the plumbing didn't work. Our complaint of lack of plumbing had us moved immediately to a charming room at the top of the stairs, surprisingly large with a huge bathroom. All rooms had little somethings - soap, shampoo, etc and tea/coffee, hairdryer etc. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. The bar was a nice place to meet the locals and wait for dinner. The chef serves delicious meals prices are reasonable and service is smooth and efficient. I must agree with the other reviewers about the owner spending some money on the furnishings and interiors although maybe then I wouldn't have been able to afford to stay there!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

Have to say that the place was okay and the location is great. Car park is really useful touch. Stayed in the deluxe suite which is a glorified extension tacked onto the outside drinking area. No privacy and noisey. Generally a little tired, that's the room and the hotel. Staff pleasant. Food plentiful and well priced - if you like everything deep fried.
Thought it was very expensive for what it was and felt exploited.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

A bit of a nuisance – you can’t book online, so it’s a ‘phone call.
First of all, the King’s Head is not a hotel as such; it is a pub/restaurant with rooms. It is a grade II listed building and has been such since 1985.
The fact that it is not a true hotel is readily apparent when you enter the building looking for reception and spot a sign saying ‘guests wishing to register please see a member of the bar staff’.
Having said that, we were soon greeted by a young man who was very helpful (and admitted he was new to the job), and within minutes we were settled in our room with the promise to ‘let me know if I can be of further assistance’. A good start, we thought. He even explained that he would be going off duty shortly and we wouldn’t be able to contact him personally.
Almost immediately we made for the bar for some liquid grape! We booked a table for dinner. The bar is a good place for some banter with the locals, a cheery, friendly lot!!
Atmospheric, yes (I mean it is a 400-year old coaching inn), but also a little shabby; now, I don’t mean this to be totally disrespectful, one would not expect it to be as pristine as a brand new five star, but the public areas weren’t quite as prim as I would have hoped; e.g. a half empty glass not cleared away, empty picture hooks on the wall (why?), ash trays in the outside seating area overflowing. To be fair, the place was busy, and the young lads running the bar, restaurant etc., were buzzing around like flies. And they were cheerful and smiling! All credit to them! They deserve our compliments! As does the chef.........
......let me tell you about the real plus point of this place...the evening dinners in the dining room. (You could also eat in the bar, the conservatory, or even outside). They were absolutely brilliant! The starters were fabulous (we had, during our stay) broccoli and stilton soup, pate, pork and pasta soup. Each starter commenced with a breadboard of a half loaf of warm wholemeal bread, with your own breadknife and pat of butter! And the dining room itself was well worthy of a four or five star establishment! The jewel in the crown! Our mains consisted variously of Barnsley Chop, Lamb Shanks and Vegetable Risotto. Each with numerous add-ons; so much so we were too full to sample the dessert menu! Each part of the meal was delicious and piping hot!
Our room (number 8) was adequate for two nights without being spectacular. There were plenty of ‘goodies’ in the way of tea tray (including biscuits!), soaps, shampoos etc etc. The bed was comfortable, and there were plenty of extra pillows etc readily available. On the down side; a little small. There was a shower instead of a bath, which took a moment or two to adjust (don’t they all?). It was a warm weekend, and the only way we could get the old sash window to stay open was to wedge it with an appropriate object! There was very little disturbance from the ‘locals’, even though our room fronted the main street. There were various menus in the bedroom (for lunch, breakfast, dinner), which differed (we later discovered) from the actual fayre on offer.
Breakfast: on the first morning, it was busy and all went well (I understand the hotel was full the previous night).
On the second morning (with, I believe, only one, maybe two, other occupants) it was a bit different! We arrived at the allotted time (8.30am) to be ushered to our table and our order for tea/coffee/cooked breakfast duly taken. We glanced at the table where the cereals/milk/orange-juice were the previous day, but, alas, it was bare! However, within seconds of bringing this to the notice of the staff this was rectified.....but there were no cereal bowls! After a few moments my wife ventured into the kitchen to enquire and sure enough they were produced. Only problem now, was that, because of the delay with cereals etc., our cooked breakfast was produced at the table before we had finished our muesli! And, incidentally, the bacon was, shall we say, ‘firm’ (what we designated as ‘second day bacon’!).
Oh, and just one other thing....it wasn’t until we were nearly finished our ‘cooked’ that we realised we hadn’t got any toast... yet another prompting and it duly arrived. I might add that we were the only couple in the dining room at this juncture.
So, in conclusion, you get what you pay for (we paid £75 per room, per night B & B); it’s a pub with rooms, so don’t expect hotel attentiveness! The dinner is fantastic...2 courses for less than £20 a head...the wine choice is varied and very reasonable (typically less than £15 a bottle), the young lads who run the front-of-house in the evenings are cheerful and dedicated.
Yes I think I would return, despite its little foibles...and one final thing. The King’s Head does have its own car park (takes about ten vehicles) but to get to it you have to go just past the Hotel, and take a left as if you are going into the municipal car park; go through the municipal car park and take a left again onto the one-way street; the Hotel car park is on the left! You then enter through the ‘back door’ of the Hotel (via the patio area and conservatory)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobbyWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

After reading the other reviews, I can't believe I have stayed at the same place. My partner and I came to stay for New Years Eve, and had the best New Year we have had in a very long time.

The staff were very friendly, the entertainment was fantastic. The locals are so friendly. I love this place so much, even so we have booked for New Year again, but will be having some more weekends away there, before then.

We stayed in the little apartment at the rear of the hotel, with our two dogs. It is very dog friendly. The apt was a little lived in, but hey it was warm and clean.

The food is excellent, and really well priced.

The manager told us of another premises he has in a neighbouring village, he arranged with staff there, for us to have a look at the rooms on our journey home. We did and the young lady took us around every room, and gave us some tips on where to walk the dogs.

Great time was had, and I can't wait to get back. Thanks to all the team.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebassets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

Family room???? Double bed and fold out sofa bed....No problem usually but when the fold out bed fills all the floor area, and gets in the way of getting out of the room, I feel that the description is a bit far-fetched.
Single glazed window painted up so won't open, but gaps in the frame leaving room cold, breezy, but not enough to ventilate room properly. Pub is situated in village centre, so the shouting of obscenities associated with a fight at closing time, made for an interesting first few hours in bed, only to be woken early with the village coming to life, and binmen!!
Food in the restaurant is excellent, and good value. Bar is well stocked and reasonably priced.
Would we go back.....never.
Can I recommend the hotel....no
but the restaurant is great

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exploddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

We stayed here for my birthday.
The location for exploring is perfect as is the near by Apple Tree Resturant. Thank goodness we were recommended it.
The hotel is ok for the time you need to spend in the room, they are little small, but clean
Could have done with curtains to keep out the light though.
The bar is not cosy, more down to the lighting being to bright, it could be made more intimate.
Staff lovely though.
Food, Forget it. Our eveing meal filled a hole, it was very overpriced for the quality,
Kippers at breakfast were good though.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmCatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkbymoorside
5.4 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
6.2 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Property: Kings Head Hotel
Address: 5 High Market Place, Kirkbymoorside YO62 6AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkbymoorside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkbymoorside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Hotel Kirkbymoorside, Yorkshire - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing