We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Head Hotel

Kings Head Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkbymoorside
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

After reading the other reviews, I can't believe I have stayed at the same place. My partner and I came to stay for New Years Eve, and had the best New Year we have had in a very long time.

The staff were very friendly, the entertainment was fantastic. The locals are so friendly. I love this place so much, even so we have booked for New Year again, but will be having some more weekends away there, before then.

We stayed in the little apartment at the rear of the hotel, with our two dogs. It is very dog friendly. The apt was a little lived in, but hey it was warm and clean.

The food is excellent, and really well priced.

The manager told us of another premises he has in a neighbouring village, he arranged with staff there, for us to have a look at the rooms on our journey home. We did and the young lady took us around every room, and gave us some tips on where to walk the dogs.

Great time was had, and I can't wait to get back. Thanks to all the team.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebassets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    30
    16
    10
    4
See reviews for
25
66
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

Family room???? Double bed and fold out sofa bed....No problem usually but when the fold out bed fills all the floor area, and gets in the way of getting out of the room, I feel that the description is a bit far-fetched.
Single glazed window painted up so won't open, but gaps in the frame leaving room cold, breezy, but not enough to ventilate room properly. Pub is situated in village centre, so the shouting of obscenities associated with a fight at closing time, made for an interesting first few hours in bed, only to be woken early with the village coming to life, and binmen!!
Food in the restaurant is excellent, and good value. Bar is well stocked and reasonably priced.
Would we go back.....never.
Can I recommend the hotel....no
but the restaurant is great

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exploddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

We stayed here for my birthday.
The location for exploring is perfect as is the near by Apple Tree Resturant. Thank goodness we were recommended it.
The hotel is ok for the time you need to spend in the room, they are little small, but clean
Could have done with curtains to keep out the light though.
The bar is not cosy, more down to the lighting being to bright, it could be made more intimate.
Staff lovely though.
Food, Forget it. Our eveing meal filled a hole, it was very overpriced for the quality,
Kippers at breakfast were good though.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmCatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

We have an annual get together of old school pals and have used the Kings Head for several years, usually with 2/3 couples staying overnight. The food is always excellent and we are well looked after. This is not just because we are a regular group as my wife and I have enjoyed the same quality of food and service when we have booked individually.

  • Liked — Comfortable rooms and excellent food at good value
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Headboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2008

This hotel was just lovely. We had a suite opening off the courtyard at the back of the hotel. It had a lounge room with a small kitchenette and a separate main bedroom and bathroom - just fantastic with young children. It easily accommodated our family of five (2 adults and 3 children aged 4, 6 and 7). My only concern would be if the courtyard was busy this suite may be too noisy. We were there midweek and it was raining so there was no-one in the courtyard. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was delicious and served by very friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant was very child friendly (no-one minded when our youngest fell asleep at the table!). Breakfast was great also. This hotel was good value - quite reasonably priced given how great the rooms and restaurant were.

  • Liked — Great rooms and great restaurant
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingMum17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2008

Stayed here over the Easter Bank Holiday and had a wonderful time. Staff were friendly, and although the first bedroom we were in had a terrible bed, we were moved to a much more comfortable room the next day when I complained. We broke down and arrived at the hotel late and they put aside some lovely warm sandwiches and soup for us which was a very nice touch. The food was AMAZING and, best thing for us, the place was very dog friendly (we have a small cavalier king charles spaniel). Breakfast was a typical full English fryup which the other half loved, but there were a good selection of cereals for me. Only thing I would have liked was fruit to be available at breakfast.

We very much enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.

  • Liked — The food and dog friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jaspas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2007

Four of us stayed at The Kings Head Hotel in Kirkbymoorside we had a twin and a double room, the twin room was larger than the double with a very big bathroom with bath and shower {over bath} the rooms were clean and warm the only thing was there was no heating in our bathroom {room 8} it was ok but not sure what it whould be like in the middle of winter. The owener, staff and locals were all very friendly, seemed plenty of staff on when we were there, I do agree the menu is a bit limited and not cheap but we all enjoyed the evening meal. The breakfast was the normal fruit juice, cereal, toast, marmalade, jam, plus a full english. 2 bacon, 1 sausage, fried egg, mushrooms, fried potatos could have done with another sausage and maybe some fried bread to set you up for the day, but it was ok. We paid £75 per room which is not cheap, see the pub down the road was £60 so might be worth looking round before you book, sorry I can't remember its name. There is almost as many pubs as shops in the village and Wednesday is market day, not many stalls but passes a bit of time before you set off.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and owner
  • Disliked — no heater in bathroom
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melblackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkbymoorside
5.4 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
6.2 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Property: Kings Head Hotel
Address: 5 High Market Place, Kirkbymoorside YO62 6AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkbymoorside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkbymoorside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Hotel Kirkbymoorside, Yorkshire - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing