We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend”
Review of Kings Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkbymoorside
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful weekend with friends the Hotel accommodation, service, , food,, bedroom,bar facilities were first class. We were looked after by Steve and Maria who made our stay very special, The location of the Hotel is ideal foe explorihg the beautiful Yorkshire county Look forward to our next stay Rodney Sandra Northwich,

Room Tip: Street facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra20212012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    37
    17
    11
    4
See reviews for
28
73
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night having had a day out in the area. We hadn't book just called in after seeing vacancy sign. Maria very helpful showing me a couple of rooms and a cottage. We choose room 4, lovely clean room, very comfy bed and a large bathroom, great shower. Had the hair dryer issue that happens in a lot of hotels. No plug near the mirror and short lead on hair dryer. Can be easily sorted. Ate in the restaurant great meal local caught pheasant and lamb very tasty nothing frozen but my husband could have done with a larger portion of veg. Good night in the bar with Steve and the locals. Great breakfast next morning set us up for the day. Great location, lots of local shops. Ideally placed for exploring North Yorkshire . We are happy to have found somewhere we will return to.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GorgeousGwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Visited Kings Head Fri at 5:45 pm.

One other couple were in who asked twice when their food would be served. It was served some five mins later. They had a taste, grumbled, and simply walked out leaving the majority. I thought this was a bit much but they were clearly peeved at the long wait.

Our steak pie and chips arrived after a 30 mins wait. It was flavourful, but we we were dismayed when we realised that a Yorkshire Pub type restaurant had interpreted a pub staple in the style of nouvell cuisine with a small portion of faffy veg and a finger bowl full of freezer chips. There was definitely a hint of meat in the pie but it was mainly thin gravy but with a decent shortcrust top.

The staff were fine, but beware if you are hungry as we were after a long journey, Steak Pie at this hostelry will not fill the gap. The good news is that there are two chippies down the hill one of which we visited to top up. Cost was nearly thirty pounds, for the Knightsbridge version of Steak pie and chips.

One humorous moment however, when asked by the waitress if things were ok, I replied (not wanting a row, and hoping my hint would be taken) "that I could have eaten more". I was too cryptic by far however and she simply said "Oh thanks" believing that I was complimenting them on the food.

We are reasonably local to the area, and would recommend the Downe Arms at Wykeham for this type of food where one has to stagger to the car after proper Steak Pie and Chips.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kepwick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We did not stay at the Kings Head but ate there a couple of times. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and were very happy to accommodate our large dog too. The menu was fairly basic but to be honest, had most of our pub favorites. The food was good and the Jennings ale excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

A newly refurbished hotel and bedrooms offering a comfortable, welcoming stay. My husband and I stayed for one night and had a relaxing stay with a good meal in the restaurant and good quality breakfast. The new Tenants deserve a lot of success with this venture as they certainly are hard working, and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Would definitely recommend to friends and stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed the weekend in this newly re -furbished pub, the bedroom we stopped was very tastefully decorated. The food was excellent in great surroundings. They had five real ale beers on sampled them all , nothing seemed to much trouble for the couple who are running it definitely come back when we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HalifaxShayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night. The hotel and bar are being completely renovated and are very tasteful with a modern twist on a lovely old hotel.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and we had a relaxing lunch in the garden and an excellent meal in the evening in the bar area. Nothing was too much trouble and as this was their first night doing food we both thought it was very well done indeed. There were 5 real ales on that evening, and as my husband and I are real ale drinkers this was a wonderful treat.

The bedroom was clean and well presented and very quiet.

We will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkbymoorside
5.4 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 5 in Helmsley
734 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 5 in Helmsley
1,595 reviews
5.5 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
669 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 5 in Helmsley
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Property: Kings Head Hotel
Address: 5 High Market Place, Kirkbymoorside YO62 6AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkbymoorside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkbymoorside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Hotel Kirkbymoorside, Yorkshire - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing