We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food to die for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George & Dragon Hotel
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I only visited after the place was recommended for the food. I had home made Steak & Stilton pie with homemade chips & peas. The wife had pork loin on apple rosta. Both us thought it was top class with quality real ale. A perfect place to visit

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 297 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break stayed 18th 19th november From check in to check out efficient and friendly! The rooms very clean and warm with oceans of hot water! The food was outstanding for the price (I am a chef so know a little about food)
At all times the staff were brilliant and BREAKFAST TO DIE FOR!!
Can't understand bad reviews, will definately return fantastic base for exploring the moors and Whitby

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenc11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I can't comment on the hotel, as we only ate in the restaurant. Good value and good quality food for a carvery, with friendly service: felt like Sunday lunch at your mum's - assuming your mum's a good cook :0). Good selection on ales and a lovely fire, perfect on a cold day

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bass_Solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Having recently returned from a one night stay with a party of nine family and friends on one of our regular jaunts around the North Yorks Moors and coastal paths it is fair to say that we were all basically satisfied but left with the impression that small alterations could enhance the experience.
The public areas of the hotel are, to say the least, in a very jaded condition.Carpets are threadbare in some areas and the toilets near the bar area definitely need attention!Another criticism would be, that our room (number 7), despite being large and airy had a shower which had to be hand held with no shower curtain,guess the result!!As a person who only takes showers this was particularly irritating and can so easily be remedied!
The jewel in the crown of this hotel is the restaurant and the food.Despite being a little pricey there is plenty of choice and the quality and quantity is excellent.This is complimented by very attentive staff.These comments also apply to the breakfast menu and for these reasons takes my rating to above the average.
All in all a satisfactory visit but, could have been so much better with a little more attention to the points raised.

Room Tip: If you like a bath and not a shower try room seven!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRMAGPIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here as part of a group in September. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, and enjoyed our several evening meals and breakfasts here. The bedrooms were comfortable, clean and warm, although not of the most modern decor (the one we had could do with updating but that did not really impact on our stay). The main pub building and restaurant appear to have been refurbished and they were really pleasant. We paid for a slightly larger bedroom and it was a decent size. There are a large range of room types though, some in a modern annex, some in what used to be a separate house (connected via the hotel carpark and garden) and friends in each of the areas were happy with the accomodation. It was not the cheapest place I have ever stayed but I think it was reasonable value for money given the location and friendliness. My friends enjoyed it too.

Room Tip: I rang in advance for help to choose a room due to an injury, and the staff were very helpful in sug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We checked in for one night on Saturday 19th October. It was a base only to be able to visit a gig in Farndale. The room was in the annex and was adequate for one night. The bathroom was fine apart from the hand shower. The bedroom was OK but could have done with a lick of paint as could the whole of the annex which look a little uncared for with chipped paintwork and sad carpets.

We had a meal before we left which was fine but portions were US sized i.e. massive. Breakfast was OK but it would have been nice to have been asked whether we liked white or brown toast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick_G0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Checked in to hotel, declined dinner and was advised of possible late bar due to function. We left for the evening returning at 10:30 to be told the bar was about to shut and more annoyingly we could not have breakfast next morning.

The barman after some serious complaining contacted the management by phone who refused to do anything about breakfast. The problem being we should have told that they don't do early breakfast and if we wanted a continental breakfast" we should have ordered it when we checked in. Not only were we not asked the member of staff who was supposed to have asked lied about asking us.

OK so mistakes happen, but nobody was prepared to do a jot about about it.

No shower in our room!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fry-pinto5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonNicholas, Owner at George & Dragon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

I find it difficult to know how to respond, but feel I must. We are neither distant nor ineffective, if we were we simply would not be in business having survived the worst recession in the UK for decades and a traumatic one for our sector, hospitality! In response to your complaint about breakfast, no we do not serve breakfast at 6.30 a.m. we are a family owned small hotel and it is just not feasible. Neither is it feasible to request a breakfast tray at 10.30 at night when all the kitchen staff have gone home. As you say, if you had made known to us that you planned to leave so early and would not manage our breakfast times we would have offered a tray to be made up for you. This was simply not possible once you returned at that late hour. Other guests who were staying and attending the same event had, as you say, organised that, I'm sorry you didn't as then you would not have felt so aggrieved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkbymoorside
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
150 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
787 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
6.4 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Dragon Hotel

Address: 17 Market Place | near Helmsley, Kirkbymoorside YO62 6AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkbymoorside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkbymoorside
Price Range: $90 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — George & Dragon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your George & Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George And Dragon Hotel
George & Dragon Hotel Kirkbymoorside, Yorkshire - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing