We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George & Dragon Hotel
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and the room very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and will not hesitate to come back again.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a shower only a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    106
    38
    38
    23
See reviews for
52
147
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My Family & I decided we would go for a meal on Sunday & as we had a dog with us we rang ahead to ask if we could bring the dog in, to which we were told "Yes in the back of the bar"

when we walked in later that evening we were greeted with awful stares from behind the bar and one member of staff sarcastically muttering "did they not see the massive sign on the door". Once we approached the bar a bartender who I presume was the landlord as he was not wearing a uniform, again sarcastically I said "is that a dog down there" we replied "yes we rang ahead and you said it was fine" to which he said "only down there!" and pointed towards the back door area which was a grotty part with a few small tables where a family with young kids had obviously been relegated because they probably didn't want children either in the bar area.

We reluctantly ordered our drinks trying to get on and enjoy our night and as it was a nice evening we decided we would sit outside. Upon reflecting and realising just how rudely we had been spoken to we decided that we could not stay and left to go for dinner at the pub in Sinnington which is only 5 minutes down the road and has a lovely bar area that more than welcomed us and the dog. The food was fantastic also.

Whilst we except that a lot places prefer not to except dogs, particularly where food is being served, we did ring ahead and it could of been dealt with in a much more courteous manner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jamtape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kirkbymoorside hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Looking for somewhere to eat as on holiday and didn't want to cook and found the George and Dragon. Very good food, wide and varied menu and value for money. Staff were very friendly, rare to find young waiting staff with such cheery disppositions (except the grumpy old barman) very impressed all round. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

it was my neices birthday on the 3rd march 9 of us went to eat there i ordered the steak and stilton pie was really looking forward to it they brought my pie with a mound of mash and a boat of gravy no veg had to ask for those whilst i was waiting for the veg tried to cut into my pie it was totally rock hard couldnt get the knife through it at all when the veg was brought out all in one bowl like a bowl of mush i told the waitress about the pie and she said she would change it when i got the 2nd piece the sides of the pie were covered in gravy the mound of mash had a small cherry tomato on it this time though not quite sure why but there you go and yet again the pie was inedible i think they thought if they covered it in gravy it would soften the gravy up complained again to the waitress where she went to get a young lad who promptly told me that they had to warm it up in the microwave there was nothing else they could do!!! was asked if i wanted anything else but by this time i was passed caring and certainly wasnt going to order anything else from there my daughter in law had same pie hers was hard but not as bad as mine she did leave most of the pastry tho wouldnt recommend it as if this is the quality of food you get for the prices they charge its not worth it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonNicholas, Owner at George & Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Our commitment to quality food & service remains consistently high & all reviews on Trip & other sites show this to be true. We are surprised & sorry when a complaint occurs but as our pie has been a best seller for almost 7 years we will continue to offer it on our menu.
Members of your family group have continued to dine with us since March 3rd so I am sad that you feel the need to write slanderous and untruthful comments about our restaurant. When you sent your first pie back chef prepared another piece of pie which you again returned both pieces were inspected by chef and we felt that you would not be satisfied with this dish so you were offered an alternative which you declined.
Comments about microwave food are totally fabricated and insulting to our level of chef expertise, as other reviews regarding our food quality indicate.
Finally, your type of comments leave me at a loss as to what could or can be done to redress the situation.You were impossible to please on March 3rd & I expect that no matter what is said you are still impossible to please; therefore I have nothing else to offer except my apologies that on this rare occasion we did not meet customer expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed at hotel with my husband, my son and his girlfriend. Rooms were good, staff friendly and helpful. Bar nice and warm, good range of beers, loved the restaurant, unique, food was delicious. Service good. Breakfast very good. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 16 and 18 right behind hotel, no noise from bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The George and dragon is situated in the market place,there is parking in front of the property.inside it is spacious with plenty of seating and very accommodating,the staff are very helpful and polite and nothing is too much trouble,it is well decorated and clean,the menu accommodates for most walks of life including vegetarians and is all reasonably priced,there is a carvery every Sunday which is exceptional and value for money,there is a good selection of sweets followed by tea or coffee if required,there are many different beers and lagers on sale along with plenty of soft drinks

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I were staying at a local B&B and we were recommended to eat here and we were not disappointed. We ordered our food whilst seated in the lounge area which made a nice change to the norm, however after we were seated a large group of loud women sat opposite us but thankfully our excellent waiter spotted this and moved us swiftly into the restaurant.
The food and service were fantastic and we would be happy to eat here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkbymoorside
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
140 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
711 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
376 reviews
5.5 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
2.3 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#1 of 2 in Gillamoor
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Dragon Hotel

Property: George & Dragon Hotel
Address: 17 Market Place | near Helmsley, Kirkbymoorside YO62 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkbymoorside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkbymoorside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — George & Dragon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your George & Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George And Dragon Hotel
George & Dragon Hotel Kirkbymoorside, Yorkshire - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing