We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George & Dragon Hotel
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed for one night to go to a wedding at Helmsley. The hotel was fully booked and we needed room for one more, which they were very helpful about and moved things around. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, lovely garden area, the pub itself was very nice, food very good and the staff very pleasant, all in all an excellent night. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne230658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 300 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

The food was fine, the staff pleasant but the room we had was very very dated and not comfy at all. Wished we stayed somewhere else! Not worth the money we paid. Have spent less on much better rooms

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissie21Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

keep it brief,great location,outdoor gardens lovely,good pub,staff and breakfast....room shocking.paid £130 for a family room everything bar the sheets and towels was at least 25yrs old,walls flaking,chipped paint,dripping taps creaky wardrobes,buzzing floor lamp,etc we knicknamed the room the rigsby suite and the grey walled bathroom the norman stanley fletcher suite (ie cell in porridge)i,m a old punk rocking biker who,s slept in some places in my time (few like this in the 80s) but this is terrible....ps green chili restaurant down street great...got pics but you get the picture..

Room Tip: avoid room 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boothfenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Myself and a number of friends stayed in The George and Dragon at the beginning of June for a friend's wedding. When we arrived, the manager was rude and abrupt (after our 5 hour drive!) and asked inane questions. When it came to our bookings, they had made a mistake with the number of rooms and though it was rectified, they seemed to blame us for their mistake. Finally, just as we were about to leave for the wedding we received a phone call in rooms demanding immediate payment, though we had already agreed to pay on departure. They made us feel like they did not want our custom. The rooms were fine, dated but adequate. If you can stay somewhere else, I would!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adonkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed for one night and while the room was not spectacular it was satisfactory. However the food was excellent, the waitress recommended the duck and it was superb, as was all of dinner and the waiter was very attentive and entertaining as well. Shame not more people were in the restaurant they missed a treat! Next morning the breakfast was very good and excellent value. We would definitely stay again, hopefully on a sunny day to enable us to make use of the garden.

Room Tip: We had room 7 on the first floor which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callybal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Booked a room end of February received confirmation shortly after room number 3 twin beds. Rang hotel day before to confirm booking and arrived Saturday 15.30. The hotel is a pub with an annex of rooms across a courtyard and beyond the annex the car park up into another large house with rooms. Received key for room 20 which was in the house on the top floor entered the room with a double bed! Back to reception said it would be sorted. Went for a drink and then back to the room camp bed placed beside the small double. The room was clean and the breakfast was good but for £90 poor value having stayed in Hotels with all facilities pool etc for less. Complained got an apology and that was it! As I am 60 years old a camp bed is not what I expected. Kirkbymoorside is a small town with 3 pubs and take aways with an Indian restaurant. Good base for Whitby Scarborough and the Pickering steam railway.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnB051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Debbie, Chris, Jim and Paul the Chef along with the other staff make this the friendliest place we have stayed in some years. Good value for money, great food. We stayed for 5 days and had we had the time we would have stayed longer. The room was clean when we got there and cleaned properly everyday, the room we had could have done with a lick of paint as could the corridors but this did not detract from a great stay

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkbymoorside
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
155 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
833 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
411 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#1 of 2 in Gillamoor
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brickfields Farm
Brickfields Farm
#2 of 8 in Kirkbymoorside
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Dragon Hotel

Address: 17 Market Place | near Helmsley, Kirkbymoorside YO62 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkbymoorside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkbymoorside
Price Range: $65 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — George & Dragon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your George & Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George And Dragon Hotel
George & Dragon Hotel Kirkbymoorside, Yorkshire - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing