We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lakefront hotel”
Review of Hotel du Glacier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Glacier
Ranked #5 of 10 Champex B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This a simple hotel with comfortable rooms and nice view. Breakfast buffet is rich and service very good. We can recommend the hotel restaurant as well. The SPA area is somewhat old and would require renovation. The location is excellent, close to the ski-lift and view on the lake.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123v_i_n_z321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 81 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2011

Nothing to complain about at all with this hotel. Clean, comfy beds and a nice location in Champex... with views out onto the lake and surrounding mountains. We stayed here for one night as part of our hiking of the Tour du Mont Blanc.

The restaurant at in the hotel has delicious pizzas. Even my Italian travel partner agreed they are some of the best she has ever had. Prices were quite reasonable for Champex too.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxiTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Very comfortale hotel with hosts that make you feel at home. A good size room for two, clean and with comfortable beds plus a nice varanda with an excellet view to the mountains. A restaurant serving very good food with good price for value. An excellent place to return when coming from a walk in the mountains.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pca70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Comfortable and clean room. Staff weren't particularly friendly. Good restaurant in the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We opted to stay at Hotel du Glacier while hiking the Haute Route in 2010. We found it to be a good price and a very comfortable room. Our room had a nice balcony overlooking the main street and a super comfortable bed! Breakfast was an extensive buffet. Additionally, the staff spoke perfect English which was helpful in booking our subsequent night lodging at a cabane!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian_Davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Have stayed in this hotel a couple of times now and have found it more that adequte. Prices for accomodation are reasonable for Switzerland and rooms are of a generous size. All rooms appear to have a balcony with a great view. Hotel is easy to find in the centre of the villiage and a warm welcome is always forthcoming from Yves the owner,

Have eaten in the restaurnt on both occasions and have found the food to be good quality if a little expensive. There is always a menu de jour available. Breakfast is adequte.

Will definately go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolvescyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Great room with friendly efficient staff
Restaurant in line with most things in Switzerland was a bit expensive for what it was
Breakfast was great
We had a good room with huge patio/balcony area overlooking village

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champex hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mont.Lac
Hotel Mont.Lac
#2 of 10 in Champex
41 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Splendide
Hotel Splendide
#3 of 10 in Champex
67 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alpina Champex
Alpina Champex
#1 of 10 in Champex
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Le Belvedere
Hotel Le Belvedere
#4 of 10 in Champex
54 reviews
0 mi away
Au Vieux Champex
Au Vieux Champex
#2 of 3 in Champex
35 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ptarmigan
Ptarmigan
#3 of 3 in Champex
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Glacier

Address: Route de Champex Lac, Champex 1938, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Champex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Champex
Price Range: $143 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing