We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always satisfied”

Restaurant-Bistrot des Bains
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Saillon
Price range: $10 - $43
Cuisines: Swiss, Fast Food, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Six restaurants à thèmes avec terrasse sont là pour satisfaire toutes vos attentes : le Restaurant des Baigneurs, la Brasserie, le Carnotzet, la Piazza Grande, la Treille, l'Espace Gourmand et la salle Pierre Avoi. Venez-découvrir nos délicieux mets !
Valais
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always satisfied”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We are a little surprised at some of the negative reviews for this restaurant. We live nearby and go to the pools often, and have eaten here quite often too. It is very busy so perhaps the service is a bit slow. But you don't go to a spa for a quick meal! We also agree that the staff could be more smiley :-) but they are quite efficient. The prices are correct - after all, this is Switzerland ... no bargains here. As for the food, we have NEVER been disappointed, it is always fresh and tasty, and always delicious. We are not big eaters so the size of the meals is just right for us. We even had a big family lunch there when our daughter got married and everyone appreciated it and loved the food. They also loved the baths!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TOOTLE46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    30
    24
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, Sloooow service”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We ate lunch there straight after having a wonderful time in the baths. The food was served very promptly, maybe because 5 out of 9 orders on our table were from the 'Menu du jour', and another 3 were from children's menu. The food was excellent and everyone commented on how tasty it was.
However, after everyone had finished, it took 3 attempts at catching our waiter's eye and 35 minutes before our empty plates were cleared. It then took another 25 minutes to get our deserts (nothing fancy, just ice creams!) and then another 20 minutes or so after that for coffees and the bill.
We wanted it to be a leisurely lunch, but we felt completely abandonned by the staff and furthermore aggravated by the uncomfortably high heat in the room.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Expensive and average food”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Ate here before going to the baths. The baths are excellent but the restaurant is poor. It is expensive, the choice is limited and too gourmet if you are eating before or after going swimming. The service is also a bit slow. To our children's great excitement we also saw a mouse run across the restaurant floor !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calder C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève, Suisse
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“disappointment”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hamburger's meat... we asked for well done, they came still
red inside.... taste was really not exiting for the price...
French fries were good.
Salad was ok
Open red wine, not good...
We are sorry to say that we were disappointed...
we ate better in the Old Bourg of Saillon in the Rest. du Veux-Bourg.... cheaper and better...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Blumenpfeffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant-Bistrot des Bains also viewed

Saillon, Canton of Valais
Saillon, Canton of Valais
 
Saillon, Canton of Valais
 
Saillon, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Restaurant-Bistrot des Bains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing