We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alpina -Grimentz
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Grimentz
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great stay!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel was better than I expected. I guess part of reason I had good experience with Alpina because I went there at a low season. There's a supermarket (COOP) nearby, which works well for a budget hiker like myself. The staffs were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and newly renovated. The Internet was a quite weak in the room especially if you use a smart phone, so i had to go to lounge area in order to go online. Breakfast was good but not great compared to other hotels in Switzerland. The construction in front of the hotel entrance was eye sore, so try to get a room on the other side (facing mountain).

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room facing mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverstar2163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    25
    11
    9
    7
See reviews for
20
24
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We booked last minute for a 2 night ski touring weekend in April. I own a place in Grimentz but it was rented out. The Alpina has had some mixed reviews and is not exactly buzzing (partly because the restaurant is shut this season and partly because of the new ski lift being built diagonally opposite) but we found Frederic, the manager to be extremely friendly and professional, the breakfast good and the rooms (recently refurbished and with high quality bathrooms) to be very good.

I would like to have 2 pillows on the bed but otherwise have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byrneJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Our room had been quite recently renovated, although the standard was only average. The bathroom renovation was more successful than the bedroom. We had a lovely view but the balcony window boxes were bare when they should have been full of geraniums (they maintain the window boxes at the front of the hotel but not the rear). There were some noisy people in the corridor late at night and the sound could easily be heard in the room, disturbing our sleep. Dinner, included in our Groupon deal, was OK but not remarkable. Breakfast was also ordinary. But it's probably as good as the alterntive hotels and Grimentz is definitely worth a visit, both for the very pretty old part of the village (no cars) and the wonderful mountain walks (or skiing in winter) above.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We planned 2 days skiing in Grimentz and wanted to be as close as possible to the ski lift. The Alpina Hotel is just across the street. This 3 star hotel is quite average in its function and service, but location is excellent. The rooms have a small balcony for use in summer or on sunny days in late winter. The internet is free of charge but a bit unstable in use.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ester G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We had to take a small suite with two rooms attached as that was all that was available. Expensive and average quality. Difficult to pass comment beyond that, hotel was OK but a little "tired"

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaPoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2009

We stayed in this hotel and were pleasantly surprised after having read some very bad reviews here just prior to our trip, on the rooms and the service.
In favour of this hotel, I would like to say that the rooms were bright and recently refurbished, the beds were of good quality, and the bathroom was clean and sufficiently big. This was the case for the highest category of rooms. The other rooms were good but their bathrooms were very poky. Also to be noted, there is no decoration in the rooms, which as a result appear bare.
The half board was of good quality. At breakfast there were no hot dishes: eggs were only available as hard/par boiled, but it was unlimited and the bread and viennoiseries was very fresh. Dinner was also available in large quantities. There was a salad and cheese bar and the main course consisted of well prepared meat dishes and fresh vegetables. The restaurant service is friendly and attentive.
For those who do not like very warm rooms, they might find the bedrooms a little too warm to sleep in but it was lovely being able to walk about barefoot and lightly clothed indoors, while there was snow outside.
The hotel was well situated just at the foot of the telecabins that took you up to the ski slopes and ideal for first time skiers who have to get used to all the heavy equipment. On the downside, the view from the rooms on the front of the hotel was ugly because they overlooked a small parking lot and the entrance to the telecabins. The rooms on the back of the hotel have a better view.
All the rooms have a balcony with a plastic deck chair for those who wish to bask in the sun or for those who smoke.

I would recommend this hotel for avid skiiers, as there's not much else to do in Grimentz, and for families, as the town is very safe and small. For those looking for some entertainment, there is one night club, which is quite nice and one bar in the village, at walking distance from the hotel.

For those that need medical supplies, beware, the town doesn't have a single pharmacy and you will need to drive or take the bus down to Vissoie, which is 20 minutes away, for the nearest pharmacy or doctor.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brusselsmichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

This hotel blends in sympathetically with the picturesque village that it borders, so that although the exterior style mimics the historic village buildings, inside it is very modern.
The recent renovation meant that our room was equipped with flat-screen tv and compact but very well appointed shower room.
Dinner (on half board) was very good, and if the set menu was not to your choice there was the option of an allowance towards an a-la-carte meal.
The hotel bar has a popular terrace, ideal for a sundowner.

  • Liked — Good shower (just right after a long walk)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pangalactic_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grimentz
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cristal
Hotel Cristal
#1 of 6 in Grimentz
69 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#1 of 2 in Zinal
44 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel de la Sage
Hotel de la Sage
#1 of 1 in La Sage
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
La Pointe de Zinal
La Pointe de Zinal
#2 of 2 in Zinal
17 reviews
3.3 mi away
Gd Hotel Bella Tola & St-Luc
3.3 mi away
Hotel Le Beausite
Hotel Le Beausite
#2 of 3 in Saint-Luc
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpina -Grimentz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina -Grimentz

Property: Hotel Alpina -Grimentz
Address: route de Roua 14, Grimentz 3961, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Grimentz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Grimentz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpina -Grimentz 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alpina -Grimentz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alpina Grimentz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing