We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple but clean!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Restaurant Bivouac Napoleon

Hotel Restaurant Bivouac Napoleon
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant Bivouac Napoleon
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simple but clean!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here over the new year break. You will enjoy this place if your expectations are not a 5 star hotel - but a bed and breakfast.

The hotel and rooms are "old-fashioned" and could do with some upgrade work - its like going back to the late 80's in a time machine :-) - that said, the rooms were clean (including the bathroom with nice and hot water after a day's skiing) and they were very quiet at night. The staff were very friendly and helpful. If you’re looking for a simple, relatively inexpensive place to stay and explore the area – then this place is OK.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the lift. It can be a little noisy during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    2
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
219 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Well, it was nice and clean, which is good. Wasn't a great bargain or anything, and everything just felt painfully old and dreary. It had a rotary dial phone in the room!!! (part of the old and dreary theme). That said, they had a very clean bathtub, and I'd been walking all day along the Via Francigena, so that tub was my salvation. Perfectly fine overnight accommodations, perfectly clean, they were very nice as well, and food at restaurant was fine enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bourg Saint Pierre hotels

Vitznau
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

hiking on the via francigena, my husband and I stayed here and enjoyed a comfortable clean room. the kind staff seeing we were pilgrims even upgraded us. the dinner was fine and breakfast generous. I would stay here again if i ever travel this way again on foot...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
257 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Only ate at the restaurant so I don't know about the hotel. Food without care and expensive. Staff was ok, but not exactly welcoming, just doing their job and dishing out some grub. If you are travelling up or down the St. Bernard there are better places a little further down the Swiss side. And a lot better places in Aosta.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

For business reasons I had to stay one night at this place. Hotel and Restaurant are run by separate operators. The Hotel reception was friendly. The rooms are minimum adequate but not at all inviting, either overheated or too cold. Lights in the room are inadequate and cold. One lamp did not work.. The bathroom drainage pipes of two upper-floors flush down 1 m from your head during the whole night!!! Corridors are NOT lit at night and light switches noit illuminated and difficult to find; the whole is a fire trap. The place needs urgent renovation, it’s probably 40 or 50 years old. A place like this is a shame for the normally high standing Swiss Hotel industry.

The restaurant is worse. Unfriendly and incompetent service and cooking. The food seems to come straight out of cans and the freezer. If you don't have to stay there - then don't. There are much better Hotels and food in Martigny, Orsières or Aosta.

Room Tip: The room we had was not good, I don't know of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

No froozen but deliscious food was surved to our group! Staff in the hotel aswell as in the restaurant is exceptionally friendly, flexible and helpfull! Hotel can provide discounts on various tickets for skiing and for the tunnel to go to Italy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Hotel was ok. Restaurant was spectacularly bad. Food was still frozen. But the waiters are unique. This must be the breeding ground of the rudest waiters in western Europe.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rurik2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourg Saint Pierre
5.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant du Cret
Hotel Restaurant du Cret
#1 of 2 in Bourg Saint Pierre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.1 mi away
Auberge de l’Hospice
Auberge de l’Hospice
#1 of 1 in Grand Saint Bernard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge au Petit Velan
Auberge au Petit Velan
#2 of 6 in Bourg Saint Pierre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
No photo provided
Apartment Chez Vero et Bernard
#1 of 6 in Bourg Saint Pierre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Bivouac Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Bivouac Napoleon

Property: Hotel Restaurant Bivouac Napoleon
Address: Route du Grand-St-Bernard, Bourg Saint Pierre 1946, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Bourg Saint Pierre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bourg Saint Pierre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Bivouac Napoleon 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Bivouac Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing