We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A high quality hotel with reasonable prices”
Review of Hotel Bettmerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bettmerhof
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bettmeralp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Bettmerhof. Breakfasts were superb, with the usual good Swiss breads and cheese, meats, yogurt, cereals and jams, with extra fruit, and optional egg dishes prepared to order. Both their restaurants- the more formal dining room and the more relaxed wood-fired pizza place- serve great food. They have a little electric truck to get you to and from the cable car. My room was very comfortable with a good bed, a couch, a small desk- and plenty of light for reading. The shower was especially nice, and the balcony was a good vantage for checking weather and views of the mountains. There's a library/reading room on the first floor, and spa facilities I didn't check out. WiFi was stronger near the center of the hotel, but adequate in my room. The staff was both friendly and gracious. The hiking trails started right out back, and the bustle of the tiny town was a ways off. I can recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 180 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

Great weekend in the newly refurbished Bettmerhof Hotel, the bedrooms and bathrooms are lovely. Our first summer trip here and just as much to enjoy as winter time. Lots of lovely walking trails for summer and winter and proximity to the ski lifts is superb. We have already booked our next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatB2142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Our small ski group stayed at the Bettmerhof in March 2010. This year we returned for another week - the first time this group has returned to a hotel, which speaks to its excellence. The hotel is simple but has the necessary amenities, good food and excellent service. What is truly outstanding is its location: every day we exulted in skiing door to door, and the views over the Alps are extraordinary. The owner, Christian Eyholzer, is the epitome of the Swiss hotel host. He trains his team well and leads by example. The waitstaff was quick to learn names, room numbers and food and drink preferences. They were professional yet warm and friendly, and seemed to enjoy the joking and banter of a group that has traveled together for many years.
During the upcoming off season, Christian has plans for major renovations which will increase the size of the double rooms, a very good thing as it's true that most rooms are very small by today's standards. My husband and I had a Junior Suite, which was spacious, with double sinks in the bathroom and a half bath next to the sitting area.
The free Wifi usually worked well in the common living room but it would be wonderful if that could be extended to the bedrooms. Also, people should be aware that there is no lift, although there was help with the luggage.
The buffet breakfast is extensive and you can order a cooked breakfast as well. Dinners were very good, with three choices of main dish every night. The wine list has plenty of variety. We also ate lunch several times in the downstairs Picobello Pizzeria, very popular with skiers due to the location next to 2 chairlifts.
The Bettmerhof area is quite extensive, with mostly beginner and intermediate slopes, very family friendly, not glitzy. We also very much enjoy the car-free location. All in all, a very pleasing choice and we were delighted to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We spent lovely four days in Hotel Bettmerhof in August. The owner was very helpful and gave us good advice. I did not like the carpet floors, but i presume it is very common in that climate. The sauna and spa was nice. Only thing I found annoying was that wifi worked only in common livingroom, and the noise from adjacent childrens playroom was occasionally very loud. It would be very good idea to install a door in between Food was good and breakfast was tasty.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We just returned from our 5th stay at Hotel Bettmerhof and the service, food (both menu's and a la carte at Picobello Pizzeria and Alputreff) and ambiance were as good as ever ! Really a special place run by special people. The location is also excellent (right next to the slopes). We will be going back there, no doubt !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed two nights in a typical Swiss alpine room with a wonderful view of the Alps. Indeed the Matterhorn was visible in the distance! We were picked up by the hotel after a quick call to announce our arrival at the top. Very glad we did as it is a good climb up with cases etc. The owner was very helpful and patient at all times and had good English. I found the staff also to be very pleasant and helpful although my lack of German did lead to some amusing situations.
Breakfast here was the best of our 10 day stay as it included a freshly cooked hot meal if required. We were half board and the dinners were excellent with variety and well cooked. Walking from here is easy with access to the Gondola next door. We had the best of weather and would go back at any time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Old rooms unfortunatly, need desperatly refresher!No shampoo.But you sleep well.
Only one "living room" with wifi!
Nice playroom for kids with a lot of toys. Games available for adults too.
Everything very clean.
Great new and super clean spa!Breakfast fantastic.
Service super friendly, quick and very efficient by all members of staff.
The highlight is definitly the restaurant with a decorated Chef( who comes out to see the customers with a big smile: he loves what he s doing!)!Reservation required or you ll regret it.The food is incredible.If you don t stay at the hotel go eat there, and don t miss out on deserts,Whatever you ll eat : it s heavenly.
The owner oh the hotel is absolutly helpfull .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yasmina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bettmeralp
0.3 mi away
Hotel Slalom
Hotel Slalom
#2 of 7 in Bettmeralp
117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus
Hotel Waldhaus
#3 of 7 in Bettmeralp
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpfrieden
Hotel Alpfrieden
#6 of 7 in Bettmeralp
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose
Hotel Alpenrose
#4 of 8 in Riederalp
65 reviews
2.2 mi away
Berghaus Toni
Berghaus Toni
#1 of 8 in Riederalp
105 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel La Cabane
Hotel La Cabane
#4 of 7 in Bettmeralp
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bettmerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bettmerhof

Address: Postfach 33, Bettmeralp 3992, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Bettmeralp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bettmeralp
Price Range: $192 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bettmerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our TOP three-star superior Hotel. A harmonious atmosphere with a personal touch, peace and quiet, relaxation, friendly staff and genuine hospitality await you. Our motto - "It's our pleasure" – will be a recurring theme on your vacation. Whether you admire the views of the Matterhorn from our sun terrace or or enjoy the culinary delights in our restaurants "Bettmerhof" and "PiccoBello", friendliness and attentive service will make you feel at home. The house was voted among the 100 most friendly hotels in Switzerland in 2015 - in the category "Ferienhotels klein und fein" (4th place). You'll be able to relax and feel a sense of wellbeing in our in the standard rooms or junior suites in an Alpine Style. The rooms are equipped with the finest materials such as oak parquet floor, reclaimed wood, glass and natural stone. Or also in our wellness area with sauna, steam bath, Kneipp facility and relaxation room. Even small guests are welcome in the Bettmerhof. Special rates, children's menus, baby care room, family rooms and a fantastic children's playroom provide the ideal setting for a comfortable family vacation.. An ideal location – in quiet surroundings in the heart of the Swiss Alps' Jungfrau-Aletsch UNESCO World Heritage Site, right next to the ski runs. Vacation at last! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bettmerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing