We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Bettmerhof
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Slalom(Bettmeralp)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alpfrieden(Bettmeralp)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel La Cabane(Bettmeralp)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Waldhaus(Bettmeralp)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Aletsch(Bettmeralp)
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveler rating
160
24
0
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
24
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomjunior suitethe ownerhis teamthe half board optionaletsch glaciermade us feelenjoyed our staycar free villagestunning sceneryevery nighta great staythis lovely hotelfew yearsenjoy the viewsaladgreat view
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 186 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We went to Switzerland and Bettmeralp to hike. We wanted a good quality base, with good food and friendly staff. We chose the Bettemerhof and were not disappointed - it ticked every box. Every member of staff was keen to please. We can say that, having stayed in many an hotel for business and leisure, the staff are very special. The food was a particular highlight. We chose from the daily fixed menu and the food was, in our opinion, excellent. The room had a fantastic view towards the Matterhorn (albeit in the distance) and many other mountains. We also appreciated how everyone put up with our feeble grasp of the German language and made us feel comfortable. If we walk again in this region, we would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Go for south facing Matterhorn view rooms. Standard rooms do have balcony but are compact; superior rooms have more space
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

This is our second time there but with kids. They were wonderful from reservation through our stay! All of them very friendly, and especially kind to the kids (which is saying a lot in Europe!), the food was magnificent, we had Halbpension (so Breakfast and Dinner). Fantastic! The rooms were kept clean and warm with amazing views of the Matterhorn and right next to two great lifts to get you started in the morning. TV room has free WiFi or you can pay to use the internet. Sauna and steam room very cozy.
The mountains are amazing but more challenging than in the US for beginners, but the beginner slopes were perfect. It is wonderful that there are no cars allowed. Everyone is very friendly.

Room Tip: As for rooms facing Matterhorn!
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NTWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

I usually am afraid when a hotel gets only great reviews... but this place is really as good as the travelers said it was!
Nice rooms, great wellness center (with sauna and vapor bath, but open only until 7 pm), magnificent breakfast (great fresh breads, fruits and lots of hot dishes cooked upon request) and a general friendly and effective service make this place a perfect base to explore the nearby Aletsch Glacier, in a quiet town without car.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

My husband and I, and a group of 9 other friends spent a week at the Bettmerhof in early March. We meet annually for skiing in different resorts, and enjoyed being able to literally ski from the front door of the hotel to the lift, then ski to 2 neighboring villages and back to the front door. Our room was very small - have to admit it - and some of our friends, especially those with single rooms, did a bit of grumbling. However, the beds were comfortable, we managed to store our belongings adequately, and we liked having a balcony with spectacular views as far as the Matterhorn. The management and staff were very professional and friendly and the food was excellent, with plenty of choice, even though it was a meal plan. We enjoyed lunch in the downstairs pizza restaurant a couple of times. There was free WiFi in the living room, where I could sit with my laptop. The village is charming, accessible only by cable car, and is very family friendly. We enjoyed the walking trails as well as the extensive skiing.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We were given a ride from the lift as promised and check in was easy. Chris was very helpful in all areas with advice and courtesy. The breakfast was a super buffet, as good as we had in our other 3 stays in Switzerland, with free eggs made to order. We ate twice in the Italian restaurant, downstairs, it was very good and Chris always checked to see we were happy. We had a corner room facing the mountains, it was an outstanding view of the mountains. The room was very clean, understated, more like a log cabin, but just what we wanted. It was super quite at night, and the wire less Internet worked perfectly in the relaxation room that had tables to play cards, and games for the kids. We never used the spa, but it looked to be clean and worth visiting.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darewreckjeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews