We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in the Alps”
Review of Hotel Alpfrieden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alpfrieden
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bettmeralp
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I stayed in the annexe which is just next to the hotel and has shared bathrooms. My room had twin beds, a small table and chairs and a balcony that had a fantastic view to the mountains and I could even see the Matterhorn. As I travelled at the end of the summer season the hotel was very quiet but they still did a wonderful job.
The staff in the restaurant and breakfast room were wonderful and the meals were delicious and very well priced. As a guest they have a set dinner of 5 courses for 35swiss francs which was a bargain and I couldn't eat it all. The breakfast was also great with a good selection of meats, cheese(the best cheese board I have seen), cereals, fruit, yoghurt, breads and crossiants.
The room and bathroom was clean and I had no issues with noise from other guests as I think there were only one or two others staying in the annexe.
I would definitely stay here again and this hotel and place was one of the highlights of my trip.

Room Tip: If you are going to be out most of the day, consider a room in the annexe. Same views and brilliant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunTan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 52 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

We spent two nights. We were lucky to see Matterhorn from the balcony just before checking out.
The food was excellent and the staff was very friendly. Rich breakfast with a variety of local cheese and Schinken.
Hope to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kunibert_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

My wife and I spent a week at the Alpfrieden, and were completely happy with it in every respect. Our room was a premium one on the side facing the mountains, with a small sitting area that made staying in a hotel room for a week less claustrophobic than might otherwise have been the case. The difference in cost between this and an ordinary double was not that great, and in my opinion well worth it.
Service was fine. The restaurant is quite good -- much better than those in the other hotels we tried (in particular MUCH better than the restaurant in the Bettmerhof). Location is convenient for excursions.
It's also about the only place in town with free internet.
The hotel is some distance from where you arrive in town, and it's worth noting that they will come and pick you up at the station. We didn't notice this, and schlepped our bags all the way up ... there is a tourist phone at the station from which you can call them.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yalinguist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for a long weekend. The hotel is located around 10 minutes walking from the Bettmeralp cable car station. Location is good, beautiful view, only 5 minutes walking to the gondola station to Bettmerhorn. The room is rather small, but quite normal for mountain hotel room. The hotel has a very good restaurant with a very good service. Breakfast is good, continental, with coffee/tea, bread, croissant, cheese, egg, jams, nutella, muesli and fruits. Will stay there again next time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nasikuning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
Thank fabriziov176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Christiane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bettmeralp
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bettmerhof
Hotel Bettmerhof
#1 of 7 in Bettmeralp
180 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Aletsch
Hotel Aletsch
#5 of 7 in Bettmeralp
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Slalom
Hotel Slalom
#2 of 7 in Bettmeralp
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus
Hotel Waldhaus
#3 of 7 in Bettmeralp
122 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel La Cabane
Hotel La Cabane
#4 of 7 in Bettmeralp
68 reviews
2.1 mi away
Golfhotel Riederhof
Golfhotel Riederhof
#2 of 8 in Riederalp
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpfrieden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpfrieden

Address: Bettmeralp 3992, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Bettmeralp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bettmeralp
Price Range: $224 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpfrieden 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alpfrieden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing