We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere with wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant Panorama
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bettmeralp
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Only had a few drinks and something to eat at this hotel, but I must say the staff made it a very memorable experience. Baby friendly with great fresh seafood on offer too. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Less than 5 mins walk from the cable car.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank suvodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 38 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

We arrived late morning and our room was already prepared, which was very much appreciated. We had reserved only one night to visit the glacier for the weekend. After a full afternoon out visiting the glacier, we had a meal in the hotel restaurant. The restaurant menu is varied, however we choose to stick to some traditional Swiss moutain cuisine, which was very tasty. No regrets! The service of Christian was also very pleasant. We had a family room (number 35) under the roof, which had two bedrooms. The beds were extremely comfy and excellent duvets contributing to a great sleep, despite the thunderstorms! Breakfast was included and was good (typical Swiss breakfast nothing exceptional).
Tip: This hotel is very close to the arrival of the cable car, practical for luggage. Apparently you can contact the hotel in advance for help with luggage on your arrival however as only for one night we did not need this service. Note taxis are expensive in Bettmeralp so we were told by the locals!

Room Tip: The second bedroom roof was very steep, ok for smaller children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prilly1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed here for four nights in August and had a great time. I'll definitely try to stay in the Panorama again when returning to Bettmeralp. This was our second time to this charming swiss village up in the mountains. Previously we'd stayed in a different hotel, and my review there said I'd look for somewhere different the next time. So I did!

Hotel Panorama is in a great location within Bettmeralp; just a few minutes' walk from the cable car station (they'll pick you up in an electric buggy if you phone ahead). The view from our balcony was simply astounding, as the hotel is right opposite the charming 400-year-old church, with the breath-taking views of the snow-capped mountains just beyond. The location is also good for the various hiking trails, with plenty of the helpful yellow trail signs to get you started.

Our room was on the first floor, with access to the hotel section of the building either through the restaurant, or through dedicated doors on either side of the building. These stayed open until pretty late, and after that there's a PIN entry system (which we didn't need to use). Decor in the room was perhaps slightly dated, but not yet enough for it to be described as charming or historic. Still, everything was clean and in good order. One touch I liked were the wooden "old-style" swinging shutters, which ensured we got some great sleep. The bathroom was a little on the small side, but again it worked fine. Although there wasn't a bath, there was an extremely powerful shower which made up for it.

All the staff in the hotel were really friendly. Of particular mention should be the kind blonde waitress who set us our own breakfast table outside each morning. That's the sort of touch I really like. Evening meals were of a very good quality, and you can tell from the place settings that it's going to be something special. We ate in the hotel for two evenings, and elsewhere (the pizza restaurant up the road, when we wanted something simpler) for another two nights. Having such easy access to a great evening meal is definitely one of the draws of staying here.

Some modern touches that mightn't be immediately obvious are the free WiFi and the hi-tech safe in the room. Finally, the town's tourist office is only 30s further up the street, so I definitely recommend popping in and seeing what takes your fancy. We really enjoyed our glacier walking tour which was organised by them.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our second trip to Bettmeralp, and staying in the Panorama hotel too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcnally64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The hotel is located at no more than 5 minutes (downhill) walk from the lift. When returning in the village after a day of skiing, you can go right through the main street without taking your ski's off. Perfect location with a great view. I would defintely advise to reserve half board, because you will get the same meals as served from the a la carte menu. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandra68_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alkor66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank casagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Chroesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bettmeralp
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bettmerhof
Hotel Bettmerhof
#1 of 7 in Bettmeralp
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus
Hotel Waldhaus
#4 of 7 in Bettmeralp
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpfrieden
Hotel Alpfrieden
#7 of 7 in Bettmeralp
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Slalom
Hotel Slalom
#2 of 7 in Bettmeralp
119 reviews
2.1 mi away
Spa Hotel Salina Maris - Wellness & Vintage
0 mi away
Hotel Aletsch
Hotel Aletsch
#5 of 7 in Bettmeralp
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Panorama

Address: Postfach 42, Bettmeralp 3992, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Bettmeralp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bettmeralp
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Panorama 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing