We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique, breathtaking, unforgettable experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Valldal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Juvet Landskapshotell
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Valldal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2011

If you are a fan of modern architecture, and love being out in nature, this is a one of a kind experience. We stayed here for three nights on our honeymoon in Norway, and only wish we could have stayed there longer. You can read about the architecture (Jensen & Skodvin) on other websites. Each room is a one-room cabin with a slightly different floor plan, situated on the site among rocks and trees. Our room was literally hanging over the river, with an unobstructed view of the rushing rapids, waterfalls, mountains and valleys beyond. When else in your life are you going to gaze upon a waterfall directly from your bed when you wake up in the morning? The rooms are sparsely and cleverly furnished; the focus here is on the view. We only felt bad that our suitcases and stuff messed up the harmony of the place! My favorite details are the little windows next to the bed for ventilation that allow you to listen to the sound of the river as you sleep, and the bathroom which is painted floor to ceiling in bright yellow, and magically glows in the morning sun. The owner Knut, is friendly and helpful, and gave great recommendations for day hikes. The food is a little hit or miss (and weirdly one night we were shuttled down the road to a restaurant), but mostly very good, eaten communally, and sourced from local farms and local boutique breweries, etc. We can't wait to return here for our anniversary. I don't know if I will ever have a travel experience that surpasses this. Unforgettable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank jooleea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 96 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2011

Juvet Landscape Hotel is a place I've known about a few years but while I was doing trip research at the beginning of this year, I was amazed to see it had never been mentioned here on TripAdvisor before, so I asked for the listing to be added a few months ago before my stay and now that I've actually done the stay, here are the highlights and some FYI's (things to note). I see somebody else has also done a review in the meantime so please don't take my word as "gospel" (I'm just a fellow traveler like you) and instead aggregate what all the other visitors say are their impressions and hopefully you'll have a realistic picture of how Juvet really is.

The hotel consists of maybe 12 or so small buildings (or cabins, or "lean to's" -- which is how the owner Knut described them) all very tastefully integrated into the surrounding environment. Each cabin has roughly the same size and exactly the same (minimal) amenities (no suites or upgrades or anything like that for anyone who is into that kind of socio-economic class envy or whatever).

Our cabin, number 4, was perched directly on the edge of the surging river. So close to the river that there is a slot next to the bed that can be opened to let in a cool breeze and, more importantly, the sound of the rushing waters below. The color schemes of the wood & carpeted floor in the room is very dark, allowing the panoramic window (which takes up an entire side of the building) to be the center of attention. After the sun goes down, there's minimal lights inside the room (a floor lamp that adjusts brightness from dim to slightly less dim; a light attached to a work table; a couple tiny lights over the bed). Not all cabins have the same raging river view. Some will view the lush forest landscape, or the immense mountain directly across the valley from where Juvet sits, or some combination of river/forest/mountain views.

The w.c. (or "bathroom", as Americans call it) is the only space of the cabin with it's own door. Painted bright yellow, the shower in that room is of the "entire floor gets soaked" variety. There's a bottle of hair & body shampoo in the room, but no separate bar soaps or little bottles of this or that (keeping in tune with the Juvet's overall environmental impact philosophy).

Apparently 2011 was the first season where Juvet was offering dinner to guests and we enjoyed dinner with the other guests on one night out of our three night stay. The overall theme from what I could tell would be traditional Norwegian cuisines. Our dinner experience consisted of three courses… the first course was a combination of a piece of various sliced fruits & melons and four different slices of different dried & smoked meats (including moose, deer, lamb and whale -- which Knut apologized for, apparently well aware that some Americans have an aversion to). The second course was a Baccalo stew, also referred to as a Klipper fish. It was incredibly salted and all the guests drank copious amounts of water in addition to the free flowing wines (i.e. dinner was all inclusive -- 500 NOK per person). The dessert course was a chocolate brownie with ice cream. The first night's main courses (which we didn't RSVP'ing in time to do) was reindeer stew. The third night wasn't an official dinner (apparently not enough guests RSVP'd) but the chef (* -- who I believe is Knut's multi-talented daughter Christina) did prepare some cauliflower soup which I thought was a perfect light snack at dinner time.

There's a beautiful underground spa building which has a sauna and steam room inside (along with massage rooms; Knut can arrange for treatments) and a hot tub on the deck outside, facing the river.

A couple things to note here (and some suggestions for future seasons, if Knut is reading this):

1) WiFi is free and available but only in the main farm building. There is no WiFi access out in the actual cabins. With the little work desks in each of the cabins, it seems like it would be a natural thing to have a Ethernet Ports in each cabin or a couple WiFi routers out covering all the cabins with a signal.

2) Breakfast is served from 9 a.m. until 10 a.m. (or "whenever", as Knut put it).

3) The windows from the cabins to the beautiful surroundings are amazing, but there are no curtains. Knut will offer face masks for those folks who are very light sensitive when they sleep (especially during those months of midnight sun), but I really think there's an opportunity for some kind of very cool Scandinavian light control solution (whether traditional curtains from the sides or something that pulls down from the ceiling over the entire wall of windows or just a curtain that closes around the bed or maybe even something really cool like LCD windows like one can find in the new Airbus planes).

4) If and when it's dark outside, there is absolutely no light on the paths to get to your cabins. Bring a flashlight (or a torch, as one would say in the U.K.). It would be a really wise idea if solar powered LED lights could be installed on the path to help light the way for a few hours after dark.

5) There's no actual cleanup or traditional maid service like you'd get in typical hotels. Somebody does come by every afternoon to refresh (replace) the towels, but aside from that … the garbage isn't emptied, the beds aren't made and the carpets aren't vacuumed (so pebbles and leaves that one might accidentally bring in stay with you for the entire stay).

6) The beds in our cabin were camper style cots (just two metal twin-bed sized platforms next to each other to make a "queen" size sleeping space) with two twin size duvets and exactly one pillow for each sleeper. The view from the beds is so spectacular but the quality of the sleep isn't as good as one could hope for.

In terms of where Juvet is located, it's about 30 - 45 minutes from Aandalesnes via the amazing Trollstingen mountain drive, and about 2 - 2.5 hours from Alesund. When driving to the hotel, look for the signs marked "Gudbrands-juvet"… which is a spectacular series of waterfalls and "kettle holes" which I didn't see listed in Lonely Planet or any of the other Norway guide books I had brought with me. There's also a cafe there at the waterfalls on the other side of the main road that looks like it was done by the same super-modern architects who designed the cabins of Juvet. There are a couple other restaurants nearby (both in the nearby city of Valldal and one strawberry-themed cafe named Jordbaerstova which is 8 KM away from Juvet along the road to Valldal).

Was Juvet worth the 8500 NOK bottom line bill I paid (2500 NOK per night + dinner for two + drinks on different days)? The scenery is gorgeous and Knut & his daughter definitely make the stay memorable, but issues 5 & 6 (especially when contrasted with the room rates they are charging) really bummed me out and made me rate this place as 3 stars.

Hopefully this information helps you out. And if you did find useful information in my review, please let me know by clicking the "Helpful" link down below. Have a great stay!

Room Tip: if not fully booked, ask to see a number of different cabins to see the different possible views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
44  Thank MichaelInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

As close to nature as you can find. Inspirational architecture, lie in bed and watch the mountain and huge strong river rush by, pure nourishment for the sole. Sauna, steam room hot tub nestled in nature spectacularly designed.
Warm generous and personal hospitality by Knute and his fantastically multi talented daughter. Delicious meals, brilliant company,excellent advice on local activities. Could not have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beejrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: ALLE små hytter er bra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marit E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Glenn-Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stiganundsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank liljapus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valldal
18.3 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
596 reviews
17.6 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
363 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hotel Aak
Hotel Aak
#1 of 2 in Andalsnes
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#2 of 2 in Andalsnes
160 reviews
9.3 mi away
Petrines Guesthouse
Petrines Guesthouse
#2 of 2 in Norddal Municipality
38 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juvet Landskapshotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juvet Landskapshotell

Address: Alstad, Valldal, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Norddal Municipality > Valldal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Valldal
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Juvet Landskapshotell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing