We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience - such a friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Herangtunet Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Heggenes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have stayed at a lot of hotels and this is one of the few that will stay in the memory for a long time and I even may make a return visit. The rooms are all beautifully themed with the decor throughout the hotel being exceptionally tasteful. It is not the rooms that make the stay so pleasurable though it is the generally relaxing friendly atmosphere. The family that run the hotel are so friendly and the food served is wonderful and up to a good quality restaurant standard.
We stayed here as a family of four and everyone of us was enjoying it so much we did not want to leave. If you are looking for something quiet and a change from your usual chain hotel this place is a must.

Room Tip: Choose your room from the web site and make sure you stay in for at least one dinner the food is lov...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chesterdoggerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Herangtunet Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 114 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent a night here with son and daughter in law. It is surrounded by forest, filled in early August with ripe edible berries of all sorts. Our meal (fixed menu) was absolutely scrumptious. The soup was especially good - zucchini (lactose free milk base) with a little piece of smoked salmon in the middle. Our host, the owner, was most accommodating. We had to leave early in the morning before breakfast, so his wife, the chef, prepared a take away breakfast for us.
Lovely and uniquely furnished rooms. Lots of trails in the woods for hiking in summer and sking in the winter.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank QR8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This little gem is a excellent choice for a overnight stay. The rooms are very decorative. I stayed in "Hollandske rom". Very nice. "Det norske rommet" is nice, but bathroom and shower in the hall. The dinner and breakfast was outstandig. Restaurant area is very cosy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KingfisherOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Fantastic combination of the rustic Norwegian tradition (physical) and cosmopolitan experience (interior, comfort and food) set in a unique “tun”! I love that someone (the Dutch owners) have taken a chance, gone out on a limb with a unique concept, succeeded in their vision and then gotten others to fall in love with the place. If you want an experience with an excellent twist, try this for comfort, sincerity and excellent food (wife’s recipes). It has nothing to do with Norway (except the buildings), but it is truly a boutique experience .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EKnive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco R, Owner at Herangtunet Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Hei!

Thank you so much for your review on Tripadvisor, we appreciate it. Hope to see you again when you are in Norway!

M.v.H. M. Robeerst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We loved our experience in this wonderful little hotel in the woods. We stayed in the Rome suite , which was lovely and had a fantasic bathroom overlooking the forest. Every detail of this hotel is tasteful and given great care and thought. In fact what makes this little gem so special is the obvious love and pride that Marco, the Dutch owner, puts in the running of it. The atmosphere is that of a cosy, family-run hotel while being very professional at the same time. The dinner was delicious and we got to taste several traditional specialties. Would love to go back in winter!

Room Tip: Look at all the rooms on their website before choosing as they are very different from one another
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank remopigl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in the Aspen suite for 3 nights and wished we were staying for longer. The atmosphere was warm and friendly, service great, and each dinner was an amazing experience. Each room is themed differently, and ours was full of charm with many original touches. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyJennyFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel was one of the highlights of our nearly three week trip to Scandinavia. Not for its opulence or luxury, but because of the hospitality, comfort, personality, and location near several of the nearby hikes into and near Jotunheim National Park. We stayed in the Icelandic Room, which was perfect for two people in love, with a comfortable double bed, private woodland view, and the bathroom had both a tub and a shower and plenty of hot water to fuel both after a long day's hike. The people who own the hotel are Marco and Maria, and they are so warm and wonderful it felt like home. And, they make food that nothing short of outstanding. We ate dinner with them one night..and a welcome one it was after our hike. Warm carrot soup with coconut milk, basil and cumin, followed by fileted trout and vegetables. Dessert was a scrumptious bowl of vanilla ice cream served over forest fruits and berries drizzled with warm honey. Breakfast was delightful as well, with Marco using his shiny industrial slicer to shave fresh Norwegian ham (yum!) to accompany all the muesli, yogurts, cheeses, wholesome breads and fruits you could want to fuel up for the day.

This is a green hotel, and we appreciated their efforts to blend in with the environment while offering all the best a boutique hotel can offer.

Room Tip: If room size is a factor, you may want to scale up from the Icelandic Room. We found it to be fine...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SantaFeJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco R, Owner at Herangtunet Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Hello Joanne,

Thanks you so much for your lovely review. It is nice to hear from our guests that they enjoyed their staying. Hope to see each other the next time you are in Norway :-) Bring our greetings to Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heggenes
11.3 mi away
Scandic Valdres
Scandic Valdres
#1 of 3 in Fagernes
101 reviews
10.0 mi away
Bergo Hotel
Bergo Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beitostolen
84 reviews
10.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Beitostolen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Hanseatic Hotel
The Hanseatic Hotel
#9 of 49 in Bergen
609 reviews
6.7 mi away
Furulund Pensjonat
11.1 mi away
Gronolen Fjellgard
Gronolen Fjellgard
#1 of 13 in Oystre Slidre Municipality
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herangtunet Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herangtunet Boutique Hotel

Address: Voelbusvegen 17, Heggenes 2940, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Oystre Slidre Municipality > Heggenes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Heggenes
Price Range: $174 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Herangtunet Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run design / boutique hotel is 30 minutes' drive from Jotunheimen National Park. It offers a personal touch, hearty food and themed rooms in a traditional, Norwegian timber house. Herangtunet Hotel is surrounded by picturesque forests and lakes, close to the shores of the Heggefjord. Guests can relax peacefully in the garden or on the terrace. Herangtunet’s rooms are full of character. Their unique style and décor is inspired by various cities and countries from around the world. All rooms include slippers for comfort and a tea/coffee maker for convenience. The popular and cosy hotel restaurant has a wood-burning stove and serves typical Norwegian dishes. Relaxation options include a sauna and a jacuzzi. More active guests can try fishing, hiking or canoeing. Beitostølen Ski Resort is 18 km from Hotel Herangtunet. The town of Heggenes is 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Herangtunet Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing